We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Should do better”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip Farah Rabat
Ranked #22 of 42 Hotels in Rabat
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Should do better”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed here one night expecting Western standards given the overall impression. Room needed redecorating and one of the lights didn't work. The person who let us in discovered this but nothing was ever done. We had to ask 3 times for a second set of towels as there was only one hand towel and one bath towel provided for 2 people. The third time was 3 hours after my first request! Breakfast OK but nothing better than that. Comfortable bed and reasonably quiet despite central location on main road. When we checked out, the manager demanded payment. They argued with us when I told them our travel company had paid. Eventually, I had to ring at my expense on my mobile so that the organisation could sort it out with the hotel. Finally, the manager emerged from the office, saying (and I quote) "OK madam, you can go". I would have expected an apology for delaying us and acknowledgement of their mistake rather than being told we "can go" as if we were prisoners on our release date.

Room Tip: ask for a room on another side from the main road
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19SeasonedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

557 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    150
    170
    105
    88
See reviews for
71
123
38
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

We recently stayed at the Golden Tulip as part of a tour. I suppose the location is fine, near the mausoleum, but when we went to go for a walk after dinner, we found the area a bit unnerving and quite dimly lit. The rooms were not great, they had a bad odor, musty, and even cranking the window open for a few hours don't help. It was bad enough we did even get under the covers to sleep. We lay in top of the beds and used the bath robes as blankets. The buffet dinner was okay, but there was no butter for the buns and no sugar for the coffee, even after asking a few times. I did have Mohammed's revenge the next day, don't know for sure, just sayin. The only refuge was the rooftop bar. Definitely did not stand up to the rest of the hotels we stayed at in morocco.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McPage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rabat hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2012

Agree with previous reviews, this hotel, although centrally located, is in need of a facelift. Neither dinner nor breakfast were inspiring. But the beds were comfortable. For a one night stay, it was perfectly adequate.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruthie91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2012

This hotel has nothing to show for. It's breakfast is poor, its restaurant staff disorganised and un cordial. Food @ buffet is bad and outrageously expensive. Wifi coverage inside the room is bad. Noise and pollution is constant on floor 2. Overall, a bad experience ... I will not book here again.

Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank AlFulani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
196 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

Stayed here 2 nights as part of a group tour.
Good location and ground floor but our room very tired and in need of revamp.
Buffet dinner very ordinary , breakfasts better.
5th floor pool and terrace with views, food here was better.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffordM8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

This hotel clearly had his best days in the past. Although the location is marvelous both the service level and the state of the hotel reminds of better days in the past. The staff is very typical Moroccan style, not really organised but can fix anything. Even my 'confirmed' reservation was not confirmed to them, but no worries, they will find me a room. A clear and strong hotel manager is needed to turn around the place. The rooms and accomodation leaves me to conclude that the maintenance of the hotel is not well done. Not clean everywhere, paint with clear stains, etc.
Next I choose somewhere else.

Room Tip: take another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dpieters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2012

A colleague told me that the Golden Tulip had once been among the best hotels in town. Well, that's the past.

Positive of course is the location close to the medina of Rabat and Place Hassan II.
Not so good is the quality of the rooms. The first room I was given had a wet carpet in the entrance area, torn curtains, an extremely musty smell, and everything was damp. At breakfast chaos reigns, you have to hunt for spoons, napkins, coffee....
In fairness I must say that after the first night I was offered a different, much better room, the musty smell however remained.
Maybe Golden Tulip should invest a bit in honor of its 50th anniversary?

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soupmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.6 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#8 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 58 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel la Tour Hassan
Hotel la Tour Hassan
#7 of 42 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
2.8 mi away
Soundouss Hotel
Soundouss Hotel
#14 of 42 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Rabat Sheherazade
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip Farah Rabat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip Farah Rabat

Property: Golden Tulip Farah Rabat
Address: Makhlouf 10, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#11 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#15 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Golden Tulip Farah Rabat 5*
Number of rooms: 193
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Golden Tulip Farah Rabat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip Farah Rabat Hotel Rabat
Rabat Golden Tulip
Golden Tulip Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing