We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located option in Rabat” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Hotel Rabat

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Royal Hotel Rabat to your Saves list
Royal Hotel Rabat
1 Rue Amman bp 175, Rabat 10000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Rabat
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Centrally located option in Rabat”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I stayed here for a night in October 2011. While my room was clean and the hotel centrally located, I found it overpriced in comparison to other options in the area. I paid about 550 dirhams for a en suite single for one night. To be fair I should point out that the room had a tv and air conditioning both of which I did not use - I suppose if you watch tv and come in the summer these amenities might make this hostel a good choice.

My room had an en suite bathroom, a small desk, a double bed, a small refrigerator, a small tv, and some doors/large shutters that opened onto a street. Traffic wasn't too loud on the street, but the call to prayer from the nearby mosque was too loud to sleep through - it woke me up at 5am. The hotel has a restaurant (breakfast was included in my room price) and a nice seating area with tv and free wifi (no wifi in my room). It's about a 5-8 minute walk to the Rabat Ville train station and just a few blocks from the medina. Lots of shops, cafes, and restaurants are in the immediate vicinity of the hotel. Staff were very friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask to stay in a room that does not open to the nearby mosque - you'll sleep better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeMizoSoup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    14
    22
    12
    6
See reviews for
5
15
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Stayed here in December 11. I arrived late in the evening and just looked for any hotels I could find. This was one of several hotels I looked at. Great central location. Only a 5-8 min walk from train station and same distance to medina area. Room cost around 480 MD/£37 for a double room (off the rack price). Nothing fancy about the hotel but perfectly fine for a good nights sleep. Bed was comfortable with clean white sheets, bed throw was clean, though covering blanket had seen better days. My room overlooked a side street and had a balcony. I didn't find the room noisy. Bathroom was clean but a bit small and I would agree with other posts about the shower area, which is 'walk in' and part of the rest of the bathroom divided by a shower curtain with a slightly lowered floor. Breakfast staff were very friendly, helpful and were happy to cook a hot breakfast accompanied with tea, juice, pastries and a bottle of water. They may have offered yogurts and fresh fruit but i didn't ask. The hotel also offers free wi free. Wi fi all worked fine, including in my room. Check out is around mid day. Overall - only half a notch - below any of the budget chain hotels - but for the location and cost, a decent enough hotel.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you agree to stay. If you're staying several days or longer, book by...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank s h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
139 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

My wife and I arrived in Rabat (our first stop in Morocco) in the last afternoon. We had flown into Casablanca from Madrid, and taken two trains from the airport to Rabat station. We arrived with no reservations and the intention of staying at the Hotel Splendid on advice from the Lonely Planet and Trip Advisor. Unfortunately, the Splendid would have been just fine for me when I traveled as a backpacker, but those days are past.

We ended up staying at the Royal because we really needed a comfortable room after our long day of travel. Our initial impression was that the hotel was very nice. We had a small balcony that looked out on a quiet side street and across at the nearby mosque. At the time we thought little of the annoying fact that we needed to move the rug at the foot of the bed in order to open the doors to the balcony. However, it soon became apparent that our small room had other quirks. The small refrigerator that was recently added (and the person who showed me the room proudly pointed out) fit poorly under the dressing table. Its presence meant that it was impossible to pull the chair out from under the table. Moreover, there was no electrical outlet into which to plug the refrigerator. We move the unit under the bathroom counter where it fit and where we could plug it in. Speaking of the bathroom, it had a shower (no bathtub) whose floor was only slightly lower than that to the bathroom as a whole. This might have worked to contain the shower water, if the shower floor had sloped properly to the drain. Unfortunately, it did not, so some water spilled onto the bathroom floor. Not enough to annoy, but enough to confirm the pattern of this hotel.

The included breakfast was tasty and generous, and all the staff were helpful and cheerful, and the hotel was a short walk from the train station.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BackpackerNoMore62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
91 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011

This one of the few reasonably priced hotels that had availability when we were there in April. It is within a few blocks to the train station and central to the major attractions around Rabat. Our room was small and the furnishings were modest. The room had a small balcony which overlooked a quiet park. Nothing special but nothing to complain about. We looked at several rooms before choosing the one we selected. One of the rooms had a large balcony but faced the busier street, and the sun. Ours was smaller, quieter and on the shadier side.

Rabat was a refreshing change from Fes and Marrakech - no hassle factor, no one was expecting a fee for taking a photo and no one was offering a hard sell once you showed the slightest interest in items in a shop. Fes and Marrakech could take some lessons from this town. Rabat had plenty of places to see and do to easily fill up a day. It was a pleasant and, admittedly, unexpected surprise.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank dk424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2011

I have stayed at the Royal several times, the first was about seven years ago. The Royal is several steps above basic by Moroccan standards and is located in the very heart of Rabat. Parliment and cafes just a block or so away and just a few blocks from the Medina. Balcony rooms are very pleasant indeed. The balconies overlooking the garden and mosque do welcome the calls to prayer but such is Morocco. The room I recently had facing the street was not noisy when I shut the doors to the balcony. Travelers who remember the surley men who searved breakfast in the past will be happy to find that, as of this year, they have been replaced by a warm and gracious female staff.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GailannCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
76 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2011

Stayed here with my teenage son for one night. Actually, my 2nd time at this hotel. The place is classy inside and its dated interior was improved since the last visit. Had room with a balcony across the street from a mosque and park. Very quiet except for times of call to prayer, particularly 5:00 a.m. if that bothers you. Room lacked sufficient electrical outlets. Mini fridge had to moved across room to available outlet -- only one in room besides bathroom. Water from shower went all over bathroom floor. Beds hard as rock, so could not get a good night's sleep. Location was great about 4 blocks from Rabat Ville train station and about 3 blocks from medina. Breakfast continental plus egg. Good but not generous.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mcadoo11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2011

This place has a very outdated feel about it and really became our last resort since a lot of the other hotels we had on our list were fully booked. The rooms are very basic and ours faced the street making it very difficult to fall asleep and keep on being asleep. Overpriced for what you get and make sure you have earplugs if you do decide to stay at Hotel Royal.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NinniTh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rabat hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Lutece
Hotel Lutece
#19 of 40 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 18 reviews
0.2 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#15 of 40 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 108 reviews
1.8 mi away
ibis Rabat
ibis Rabat
#26 of 40 in Rabat
3.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Rihab
Hotel Rihab
#14 of 40 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 149 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Pietri Urban Hotel
0.4 mi away
Belere Rabat
Belere Rabat
#11 of 40 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel Rabat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel Rabat

Property: Royal Hotel Rabat
Address: 1 Rue Amman bp 175, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 40 Hotels in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 67
Also Known As:
Rabat Royal Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing