We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful and Homely”
Review of Dar Yanis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dar Yanis
Ranked #7 of 50 Rabat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

We spent our first night in Morocco at Dar Yanis and it was wonderful.Dar Yanis is a very welcoming and homely riad. We were greeted by Iman, Hind's sister, who was nice. She escorted us to the room. We took the Rose room which is on the rooftop (which isn't too high). It's a nice and cosy room with a window that opens to the courtyard. I love the fact that the room is just perfectly sized. The heater works wonderfully and the bed was comfy. We woke up to a lovely sunrise. It was pretty cold on the roof but it was nice and warm in the room due to the wonderful heater. The bathroom is clean but I would prefer if the shower area is brighter as it was rather dim. The water heater was working perfectly.

The breakfast was very generous and yet delicious. We had to reject some cos we were so full! I love the orange juice which was freshly squeezed. I love the breakfast rooms and the courtyard. Even the staircase was very pretty. It's in a neighbourhood with provision shops and small food set-ups and you feel safe there. We were a bit lost when we came at night after 26hrs with no sleep, but the shops nearby had very helpful people who pointed the place to us. In the morning, we had a lovely walk to the sea and Andalusian Garden. It's about 10-15mins walk. It's also about 10-15mins walk to the ONCF station.

Room Tip: The Rose room is very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank the_spinsterella_SG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 224 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2013

Riad Dar Yanis is a traditional house well located in the heart of the medina. The building itself is nice but average and expensive compared to other riads we stayed elsewhere in Morocco. The young lady welcoming us tried her best to perform her role and be nice. The room was ok but had a strong smell of some chemical product that we could not identify. Both bedroom and bathroom had the same smell and we had to leave the windows open most of the time. My clothes kept that smell for a couple of days after I left Rabat. The shower was clogged and it took ages to drain away. Like in other riads, we were served moroccan tea and cookies upon arrival - the tea was ok but the cookies were stale. In the morning the young lady served us our breakfast in her pajamas. Food quality was ok and lots to eat, although my cup had a huge stamp of lipstick on the same edge I was using. The riad has good potential but several aspects could be improved

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank frisalin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2012

It was our first place to stay in Morocco. Riad was conviniently located in the Medina, short walk from train station. It was renovated a couple of years ago, we admired its design and comfort. The owner Hind showed us warm and personable hospitality, we enjoyed our converstaions with this strong young woman. Later in the trip we stayed in different riads in other cities but Dar Yanis was definitely our fauvorite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aina379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The hotel is located in the medina and is easy to find, around 20 minutes from the rabat ville train station. The breakfast is good (quite some bread, could use some more different jams), the rooms are clean and internet is reliable. Compared to other riads in other Moroccan cities, this is a more expensive one, but this could be because rabat is a more expensive city for hotels.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Servaas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

great location in the Medina which is a relatively easier find than the other medinas. can walk from the tram station directly. friendly stuff and lovely welcoming moroccan mint tea and cookies! gave us some useful tips in restaurants and sightseeing

Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent 3 nights at Dar Yanis in September. It was our first riad experience in Morocco and Hind and her staff set a very high standard. We were welcomed with mint tea and cookies and a map of the medina along with suggestions about other places to see.

Dar Yanis is very new (I think they opened in May of this year) which probably accounts for fewer reviews than other riads in Rabat but I expect they will soon have #1 rating. Hind's sister is always on site for any questions you might have and she recommended two delightful restaurants for us.

We were only a few steps from a main street in the medina and an easy 10 minute walk to the Tajine gate where it was no problem at all to get a "petite taxi" to wherever we wanted to go.

The Dar itself is beautifully decorated with lovely lounges on the main floor. Tea or cafe au lait was always available and the breakfasts were excellent. And our last evening, we ordered cafe au lait served on the terrace and it came with a full tray of complimentary cookies!

It was a wonderful stay and we can unreservedly recommend Dar Yanis. Don't miss it if you go to Rabat!

Room Tip: We really enjoyed having a room on the terrace. It was quiet and cool!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank onthego32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Hind (owner) and the staff at Dar Yanis really made this a great place to stay. We were welcomed and told' "This is your home while you are here." They went out of their way to be accommodating, especially when we wanted an extra night and they were already booked (giving us one of the girls rooms - I think this is their normal back up plan). The location in the Medina was convenient and easy to find, and Hind even walked us to her favorite/affordable restaurant.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank coastalrhonda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.5 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#15 of 45 in Rabat
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#10 of 45 in Rabat
245 reviews
2.4 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Belere Rabat
Belere Rabat
#16 of 45 in Rabat
255 reviews
0 mi away
Riad El Bir
Riad El Bir
#5 of 50 in Rabat
110 reviews
0 mi away
Riad Sakina
Riad Sakina
#12 of 50 in Rabat
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Yanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Yanis

Address: 20 rue Lalla Hannou Legza, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range: $62 - $71 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Dar Yanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing