We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine dining in a magical place”

Restaurant Riad Kalaa
Ranked #20 of 298 Restaurants in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Description: Faithful to the Moroccan way of life where hospitality is combined with generosity, the restaurant is happy to introduce you to awaken your taste buds with flavors of fine cuisine. Resident or not, everyone is invited to enjoy the cuisine, specializing in tajines in an atmosphere worthy of Oriental palace. The close proximity of the Atlantic Ocean allows us to offer a special place for seafood, fish and shellfish. The chef goes to the market every day and invites you to a real gastronomic journey. The restaurant will meet all your requests (dinner buffet, cocktail, traditional dinner ...). Our team is at your disposal.
Restaurant details
Description: Faithful to the Moroccan way of life where hospitality is combined with generosity, the restaurant is happy to introduce you to awaken your taste buds with flavors of fine cuisine. Resident or not, everyone is invited to enjoy the cuisine, specializing in tajines in an atmosphere worthy of Oriental palace. The close proximity of the Atlantic Ocean allows us to offer a special place for seafood, fish and shellfish. The chef goes to the market every day and invites you to a real gastronomic journey. The restaurant will meet all your requests (dinner buffet, cocktail, traditional dinner ...). Our team is at your disposal.
Reviewed January 23, 2014

If you want fine dining in an idyllic setting, enjoy atypical tagines, delicious fish ... take the time to stop for lunch or dinner at the Riad Kalaa.
The entire team of riad is dynamic and very caring for its customers, and after a good breakfast you can even have fun doing spa treatments!
Living here for several years, Riad Kalaa is the obvious place for me to Rabat.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alexandra2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Restaurant Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded January 28, 2014

Dear Alexandra,

Entire team of Riad Kalaa joins me in thanking you for your lovely comment! We are pleased that your dinner you have brought satisfaction.

We are all waiting to welcome you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (101)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 101 reviews

Reviewed October 30, 2013

We were staying at this Riad Kalaa and so we decided to try the restaurant for dinner - we were not disappointed. The restaurant was full, which is always a good sign. The Riad has a little (under used) bar and seating area, where we asked to be served some aperitifs at the bar seating area prior to our meal and then moved to the central courtyard for the meal. The atmosphere is very relaxing and calming and the service was very efficient and friendly. The meal was excellent traditional Moroccan fare; we had Moroccan salads to start with followed by fish and beef tagine. They don’t have a wine menu, but the Moroccan wine they serve is excellent. Very enjoyable meal.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JB238
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Owner at Restaurant Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

Dear JB238,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about your experience in our restaurant. This is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and I will share it with our team.
I also take on consideration your comment about the bar and we will try to use it more.
The restaurant is not so big, this is better to call us to book a table.
We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had a lovely evening in the courtyard restaurant of this Riad. The setting couldn't have been lovelier. We had a delicious starter of Moroccan Salad (several small plates of olives and marinated vegetables) with bread. We each had tagine, one of fish, the other of beef. The beef was a bit fatty, but that is typical throughout the country, we found. The fish was a heartier dish and could have easily been shared. We enjoyed some nice Moroccan Mint tea with our shared dessert. This was a great experience, but also one of our more expensive meals.

1  Thank charles a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Directeur général at Restaurant Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Dear Charles,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review. We are happy that you enjoyed your dinner.
The dinner is 280 dh (25€) but we can arrange starter-main course or main course-dessert for 200 dh and the main course only for 150 dh.

We hope to welcome you again at the restaurant,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

My husband and I were staying at the partner riad and decided to eat supper here after seeing the menu at check-in. We were so glad we did. This was easily the best meal (not counting street food) we ate in Morocco.

We went with the full three-course meal (salads, tagine, dessert) and shared it between us... and it stuffed us full. We saw a guy polish off one by himself, though I have no idea how he managed it. We also had a bottle of local red wine, 2009 vintage I think, and it was phenomenal. I had no idea Morocco produced such outstanding wines.

The service was like being in a 5-Star restaurant and the food was tasty and fresh. The salads were something to write home about, (particularly the white bean one, whatever that was).

Highly recommended.

Thank Ribbongirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Restaurant Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2013

Thank you very much for this nice review!
We are glad that you enjoyed your dinner. All of our food is fresh is home-made.

We hope to see you soon so that you can taste other tajines!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Wonderful place - once you have found it in the winding alleyways of the Medina (when you don't know the way, try to get them to pick you up at the walls).
Usually set menu, lovely Moroccan food in a very nice and relaxing setting.
Doubles as a typical riad (Moroccan City Hotel) and also has a one-person hammam.

2  Thank Froik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded April 24, 2013

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about the restaurant Riad Kalaa.
For those who do not know where we are exactly, somebody can meet them at the entrance of the medina and take them to Riad Kalaa.

Sincerely,

Laetitia

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Riad Kalaa also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Restaurant Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing