We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Little treasure in the Medina” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Restaurant Riad Kalaa

Restaurant Riad Kalaa
Ranked #27 of 254 Restaurants in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Moroccan
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Faithful to the Moroccan way of life where hospitality is combined with generosity, the restaurant is happy to introduce you to awaken your taste buds with flavors of fine cuisine. Resident or not, everyone is invited to enjoy the cuisine, specializing in tajines in an atmosphere worthy of Oriental palace. The close proximity of the Atlantic Ocean allows us to offer a special place for seafood, fish and shellfish. The chef goes to the market every day and invites you to a real gastronomic journey. The restaurant will meet all your requests (dinner buffet, cocktail, traditional dinner ...). Our team is at your disposal.
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Little treasure in the Medina”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2012

Wonderful place - once you have found it in the winding alleyways of the Medina (when you don't know the way, try to get them to pick you up at the walls).
Usually set menu, lovely Moroccan food in a very nice and relaxing setting.
Doubles as a typical riad (Moroccan City Hotel) and also has a one-person hammam.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Froik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azuelos007, Public Relations Manager at Restaurant Riad Kalaa, responded to this review, April 24, 2013
Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment about the restaurant Riad Kalaa.
For those who do not know where we are exactly, somebody can meet them at the entrance of the medina and take them to Riad Kalaa.

Sincerely,

Laetitia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    23
    6
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Absolute MUST”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

I took my littlr brother out to dinner just to chill have a nice quiet relaxing time! It was perfect. Beautiful. I love how parts of Morocco are disguised by massive walls in Medinas and are just stunningly gorgeous.

The tagines were perfect, and to be honest I actually don't care for Tagine. I think they are over rated and the food isnt really seasoned. But here it was MEZZIAN!!! And Im quite thankful for the experience I had.

We had a bottle of red Vollubian wine. And the chocolate dessert was to die for. We stayed until closing time. And I promised myself that before I leave I will treat myself to a nights stay. Excellent customer service.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aneesah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
guestmarocco
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Go without any doubt with the fish menu....beautiful ambience, nice staff, superb sourrounding. A true experience for anyone who is not used to a riad...

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank guestmarocco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dolus-d'Oleron, France
Level Contributor
143 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Authentic and pleasant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

We had ordered dinner in advance and settled for a fish menu. The table was set in the centre atrium and we were served one dish after the other with salads, shrimp, calamares end the plat de resistance: Wolf fish (loup de mer) as fresh as you can imagine. Fruit for desert.
The food and drinks were of good quality and varied, but of course it is the setting that is unique. We were not staying the riyad, and we were lucky to have a table anyway. They do let "outsiders" come for dinner or lunch, but you have to call in advance and reserve. After all this is one of the most popular riads in Rabat. Since we live in Rabat we probably will not rent a room here, but it is tempting. From what we have tasted and seen we would definitely recommend Riad Kalaa.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FHN21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Restaurant Riad Kalaa also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Restaurant Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing