We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable for a couple of nights” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Rabat Sheherazade

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mercure Rabat Sheherazade
Ranked #13 of 40 Hotels in Rabat
Level Contributor
100 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Reasonable for a couple of nights”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

the rooms facing the street are noisier than desired, breakfast is fare enough.
Additional €10 tax was charged because of a so called city tax (?!) but this was not mentioned on Booking.com.
The Medina is a 10 to 15 min walk away, which is close enough.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RuiPaula
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    154
    85
    36
    25
See reviews for
43
62
52
168
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

A very clinical hotel in all respects from the rooms to the service. It has a mundane aura which gets a bit stifling after 2 weeks. I was glad to leave. Having said that it is adequate and we found it clean (the housekeeping staff were very jolly actually) and there is nothing really tangible to complain about. Comfy beds etc. It is a chain so it is required to offer a certain level of predictability I assume. The breakfast was OK but the olive bread does deserve a mention as it was delicious. The location is a bit out of the way from the action for my liking but everything is within easy reach.

Room Tip: As of end of Aug 2013 it appears there is a bit of renovation going on. You might want to check wher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MisterGato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

I have stayed in this hotel over the last 4 years and kept returning year after year though witnessing gradual deterioration in the quailty of the hotel in general: probably the only value by now is in its great location (this being said, this is a city hotel with no swimming pool or large green space to relax). Rooms need serious refreshing, corridors proper painting and cleaning, and the breakfast (room and food), which use to be the highlight of the stay have become simply unappealing; old buffet room bad lighting, poor choice (no real offee, only nescafe, cold moroccan tea, no harira, egg station closed, cold crepes/msen 1 dayold...a pity because it could be a nice and cosy hotel ....

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank GlobeTrotterSG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghussein, Directeur général at Mercure Rabat Sheherazade, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Mercure Rabat Sheherazade. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Mercure, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

For information, we are actually in the process of removing the hotel for an upgrade.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Sincerely,


Ouafa Elkamali
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Rabat hotels

4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4 of 5 stars
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 stars
Show Prices
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
81 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this property. The room was spacious, clean and had modern decor.

The bed was comfortable and the amenities in the room were standard.

We ate in the restaurant from the regular menu after Ramadan service was completed and the food was good. The restaurant has a nice outside courtyard that was very nice.

We weren't there for very long but it seemed like it was centrally located.

Staff was courteous and helpful when we asked questions but wouldn't change our money back to Euros so that was unfortunate.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I wanted to try the Mercure Hotel in Rabat as I have had other excellent stays in Mercure hotels in Paris. Unfortunately this Mercure is really a poor one and not up to the Accor hotels standards. The first room we were given was on a floor that was being renovated and there were tools and rubble in the nearby corridor. After complaining to the reception desk we were given a small room without work nearby ... Not a place where I will come back at this price of a little more than $100 per night, the Diwan hotel from the Accor group in the same area of Rabat is definitely much better and not much more expensive...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Yves187147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterey, California
Level Contributor
59 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

If you're coming to Rabat for tourism, this hotel has a great location very close to the Hassan Tower and Mohamed V Mausoleum and Chellah ruins. Not too much on the street by way of shops, however. We arrived late at night and the reception was wonderful and friendly in dealing with a very large crowd. Unfortunately, one of the rooms smelled quite bad upon entering, but after airing out it was fine. I would not recommend staying here for romance or with someone you don't know very well as the bathroom door was very thin with slots in it so definitely not noise-proof in the slightest. Beds were comfortable but set up in that very European fashion of 2 twin beds side-by-side even though you may be here on business. Shower was quite nice. As for breakfast, it provided a good variety of choices with yogurts, Moroccan crepes, croissants, fruit, coffee, juice, water, etc. Restaurant also had a nice courtyard to eat in. Breakfast staff were nice enough. Haven't stayed at many other hotels in Rabat, so not sure how it stacks up. I'd say it was not quite as nice as some of the other hotels I'd stayed at in the Mercure/Ibis chain but perhaps worth it for the location, friendly reception.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LER627
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

I am staying here and so far the standards are poor. Comparing to Le Diwan Hotel in the same Accor chain, the quality is far apart.
Room: broken shower door hinge, wash basin plug locked so that basin will not empty, shower pipe was split. These were fixed during the day.
Food: for evening meal i ordered Fillet Steak 140MAD with Casablanca beer 55MAD.. Entrecote Hwas delivered undercooked and the meat was very fatty/grissly.i.e. low quality meat. Waitress asked me after if i wanted another but i declined, and was not charged.
Breakfast: this was satisfactory. Totally self service except the option for freshly cooked eggs which is a good feature.
There are better hotels in the same price level like Belere, Le Pietri.
Wifi: free and my room had good reception.
Room: comfortable bed, aircon worked ok, TV has no movie channels. The furniture is old.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ad W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.3 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
2.2 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
0.8 mi away
Belere Rabat
Belere Rabat
#12 of 40 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Rihab
Hotel Rihab
#18 of 40 in Rabat
3.5 of 5 stars 163 reviews
0.9 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#15 of 40 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
0.6 mi away
Le Pietri Urban Hotel
Le Pietri Urban Hotel
#10 of 40 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Rabat Sheherazade? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Rabat Sheherazade

Property: Mercure Rabat Sheherazade
Address: 21 Rue de Tunis | Quartier Hassan, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#6 Spa Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Rabat Sheherazade 3*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Rabat, the capital of Morocco in the residential quarter of Hassan only 5 min from the main historic monuments, business centre & 15 min from the royal golf course and the airport. Restaurant, terrace and parking facilities. Diners Club card not accepted. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Mercure Rabat Sheherazade reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Rabat Sheherazade Hotel Rabat
Accor Rabat Sheherazade

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing