We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice riad”
Review of Ryad Dar Karima

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ryad Dar Karima
Ranked #12 of 48 Rabat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Champaign, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice riad”
Reviewed January 27, 2014

My husband and I stayed one night at this Riad. It was late in the evening when we arrived after asking around for the location. The friendly owner treated us to tea and pastry. He spoke good English and French. Our room was big and clean but our bathroom smelled of cigarette smoke. But that was ok as long as we didn't stay in the bathroom for long. The owner took us to a good restaurant for dinner before he went back to his own home to spend the night. Since he wouldn't be back to his riad until later the next morning and we had to leave before his arrival the next day, we paid one of the ladies there for our stay. Our breakfast was a feast with more food and varieties.The riad was well kept and comfortable. Also it was close to central market and the ocean. All in all, this accommodation was good although I agreed with some reviewers that it was expensive. But accommodation in Rabat was more expensive than other cities.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ylaut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    42
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
26
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Where to start. We arrived on New Year's eve in the morning and the problems started immediately. We could not communicate that we would like to simply leave our bags and check into our room later, as we didn't want to waste the day waiting for the cleaning service. This simple request could not be understood by the 2 women staff, who were not receptionists but rather cleaning/cooking ladies. So we waited for our room and were served some nice tea and biscuits in the meantime. Not a big deal. We also wanted to get some information about the city but saw that would be impossible as they did not speak english. Still not a big deal. Later in the evening when we returned to the hotel we wanted to get some information about paying the bill with our credit card but since there was still no receptionist type person we asked th ladies "can we pay now with credit card". They couldn't understand this basic question. We had to find another guest to translate into French the question which was basically the same wording. Finally we got to pay, which was a relief because we wanted to leave early the next morning. Then the big problems started. As it was New Years eve we wanted to explore the city and bring in the new year. We knew Jan. 1 was a holiday there so there might be something going on, or an awareness about the holiday. As the hotel does not provide a key to the front door (and come to think of it, there is also no sign on the street for the hotel-hard to find) we assumed they would let us in at whatever time we desired. Just to be on the safe side we wanted to tell the very nice but not very intuitive ladies that we would need to be let in around 1am. After playing charades for a while we were able to communicate this to them and felt assured we'd be able to get back in. Happy New year! We went to the awe-inspiring beach and rang in the new year. Unfortunately we got wet from the wild waves spashing us and headed back to the hotel to get dry and go to bed at 12:30. We ring the bell. And ring. And ring. And ring. And knock. And ring. And knock. And pound. And ring. And yell. And scream. And kick the door like hell. We were locked out! The street sweepers stared at us. The neighbors stared. We phone up the hotel but it didn't work for some reason. We were freezing and new years eve was ruined. One of the neighbors walking by told us to try knocking on an ajoining door we did... nothing. Did we need to find a new hotel? Sleep on the street? What? Finally one of the other guests came to the door and finally let us in. We had woken their whole family and they were terrified. The whole hotel was woken, disturbed and terrified that we breaking in. Out come the 2 women and appologised. What? Where were they the whole time??? Not good enough, not acceptable. I was livid. We even had warned them we would be coming in later. Where were they??? It was newyears eve even! I mean, it wasnt even 1am.
In the morning the owner phoned up and appologized for the incident and they gave us some honey as an apology. Not good enough. I wanted a partial refund. The owner denied that and offered lunch instead. Nice but we didn't have the time. I would have like part of our money back in exchange for the absolute nightmare we experienced beating on the door for an hour in a foreign country, wet and scared on new years eve. We gave the honey to the poor French people we had woken up and terrorized.
Lastly and connected to the price- this hotel was much more expensive, but not as nice asthetically or in any other way than the rest of our riads in all of Morocco. We had decided to splurge on a "nicer" hotel (we thought) because of it being a big holiday night. Mistake. This was the WORST service we had, even without the locked out aspect, one our entire trip. Do not go here if you don't want a catostrophy!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank olygurl35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
333 reviews
264 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 226 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2013

My heading says it all. We were extremely frustrated trying to find the street they told us to park on let alone how to find the Riad. We kept phoning them to get better instructions but no one would pick up the phone. Only thanks to a traffic guide did we manage to figure out where it was. Other Riads we had stayed at which were difficult to find always sent someone out to meet you or at least picked up the phone and were able to tell you how to get where you needed to be. When we knocked and asked if this was the right place and why no one was answering we just got a shrug from the girl. The owner seemed nice however he was not there when we were trying to find the place. The rest of the staff was stand-offish. Barely a smile out of them let a lone a good morning in any kind of language. The place was nice, new and clean. The bed comfortable, hot water with water pressure and wifi. We ate dinner there and the food was OK - tagine was served and as this was the end of 3 weeks on Morocco I was getting pretty tired of tagine. They do not have wine or beer but apparently you can bring your own if if you want. Overall not a bad place to stay if you can find it.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDNTRAVELLERS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

The ryad is a bit difficult to find as there is no sign outside and no name on the door bell, but once you have found it it's easy to return and location is very handy and quiet, even though you are only a couple of minutes away from the central market.
The ryad is nice and clean. We stayed there 2 nights and were happy to realise that we were the only guest and therefore it was very quiet.
We were greeted with tea and Moroccan patisseries – delicious, but we only wanted to be shown to the room to refresh ourselves – Would have been nice to have a shower first and then have tea.
The room was nice. Bathroom well equipped and practical.
My only concern is about lack of privacy when other guests are staying on same floor: the whole length of the room is made of French windows. There are some heavy black-out curtains but if you do not want to be in the dark or with lights on, you have to be ready to see people walk past the room and therefore see inside your room.
Our host did ask what time we wanted our breakfast the next day. We had a big table laid out with tea/coffee, jams, Moroccan crepes and breads, fresh and dried fruits, yogurts… a feast!
The AC was working fine and the internet as well.
The ryad is not cheap, but then there is nothing cheap in Rabat (compare to other towns in Morocco)
Overall, we had a nice and comfortable stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Sherazade room, located on the top floor. It's a rather large room but lond and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophenvadrouille
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gt Missenden
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We stayed here for two days at the end of an eight day tour. It is a stunning Riad. Clean, spacious and well situated. However the most remarkable element was the hospitality. Our hosts, Najia and Salah could not do enough for us with advice on what to see and do and when they realised that I had eaten something that did not agree with me at our previous destination they prepared herbal teas, toast and offered me remedies for our onward journey. Najia also insisted on driving us to the station. If you visit this beautiful, relaxed city you absolutely must stay at this home from home.

Room Tip: They are all stunning - large, it and well furnished. Beautiful bathrooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick-and-Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We originally didn't plan on coming to Rabat from Marrakech, but we are so glad we did! We tried to book a place before we arrived but found that many of the nicer places were fully booked. We emailed Riad Zyo the night before and hadn't heard back so when we arrived in the medina, we assumed we were set for Zyo, but they were fully booked so they took us across the street to Ryad Karima.

The owners were very friendly upon our arrival and offered their room to us. We drank tea and ate delicious cookies as we waited for our room to be cleaned.

We had wonderful conversation with the owner, his son and the guests, although a lot of it was in French, which we don't speak. Overall, we were very pleased with our stay here. The ryad is beautifully done, with wonderful decorations and wood carvings surrounding. The breakfast was great, with lots of variety to choose from. The room and facilities were exceptionally clean and we were definitely made to feel at home by the owners.

Thank you for the wonderful hospitality!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelforlifePhoenix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights and it was wonderful. Excellent location. More like an oasis in the middle of chaos.

And for a newbie to Moroccan architecture and cuisine, this is a great initiation and the perfect place to stay while in Rabat.

The hoteliers are super helpful. Very warm and friendly. You get the feeling that they really really love what they do and it isn't just a job for them. I went on business and all my associates who came by (native Moroccan and those who have lived in the country for years) were also very impressed by the decor and the layout.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SammieHamlet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 45 in Rabat
494 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#4 of 45 in Rabat
586 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#9 of 45 in Rabat
239 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Zyo
Riad Zyo
#2 of 48 in Rabat
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Bir
Riad El Bir
#5 of 48 in Rabat
103 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Maati
Riad El Maati
#4 of 48 in Rabat
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Dar Karima? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Dar Karima

Property: Ryad Dar Karima
Address: 8 Rue Jamaa Moreno, El Gza, Medina, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Dar Karima 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ryad Dar Karima reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing