We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great crepes, great location.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ty Potes

Ty Potes
Ranked #3 of 254 Restaurants in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $21
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Le Ty Potes vous accueille au rez de chaussée d'une maison des annees 30 pour vous proposer nos spécialités telles que les galettes bretonnes, les tartines de pain de campagne, les salades gourmandes et nos fameuses planches de charcuterie et de fromages. En saison, nous vous proposons, huitres et escargots a la facon bourguignonne. Sans oublier les plats du jour! Le dimanche, c'est Brunch en terrasse!Le Ty Potes, c'est aussi une Epicerie avec une large selection de fromages francais au lait cru, de charcuterie et de produits secs.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great crepes, great location.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

We love this place. We go very often, their crepes are good with a wide selection. We go here for brunch whenever we miss crepes from Brittany. The outdoor seating is also really nice, though limited seating is available.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nann_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    106
    28
    6
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat, Morocco
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The worst service in Morocco, for expensive and tasteless food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Food is tasteless. The menu has a little bit of everything, but this abundance masks its poor quality and its expensive prices. I would not trust the "fresh fish" they serve.
This restaurant is run by a dangerous idiot. We entered: he did not welcome us. I ordered "dry cider". He served me sweet cider. I told him he was wrong. He replied "No I'm right" and refused to change it. When I told him: "do you think I lie?", he stayed silent. I never ordered sweet cider but even if I had, everybody who has been in a restaurant in his life knows that this guy MUST change the cider. For it is an opportunity for him to do good, make the client feel good, so that he will take deserts, leave a tip and recommend the place. Instead of what I have to write this trashy review. Avoid this place and try Bistrot Le Pietry 50 meters later.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Regis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krimbouch, Propriétaire at Ty Potes, responded to this review, December 31, 2012
Sir, first of all tank you for taking your time to comment the service and the food at Ty Potes. I am surprised by your remark about the quality and the "freshness" of the sword fish you ordered friday night knowing that we change the menu daily and the check is done every morning by our cook and myself. And we are not that fool to serve non fresh products! About the cider, it is a misunderstanding between you, the person who was with you and the waiter. However i believe it does not justified to write this "trashy" comment and to use the word "idiot" to qualify the owner of this place. Anyway, we are sorry for this disagreement and we hope you will enjoy your stay in Rabat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Authentic quality French food in a cosy little restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012 via mobile

Really enjoyed our meal here, a really nice break from the typical Moroccan food. Great service and really fresh, tasty food.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KolonelKustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“CHEERS TO BRUNCH”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

One British, one French, and two Americas wake up hung over hunting for a cute place to have brunch. After a stop for some fun at Up Stairs at about noon they small taxi it over to Hassan the second best place to have a good time in Rabat. We nearly zipped right by the place, but there is something about heaven that you just can't miss. Even after engaging with the devil the previous night. As soon as you walk in you are awakened by all your senses. Immediately greeted with smiles, aromatic coffee, and good saturday brunch music... we request seating in the garden and happily wait the 30mins for it discussing how at ease the place makes you feel over a spot of English tea; which fancied the hell out of the Brit. :)

The menu neatly scribed on a chalk board brought to your table is all in French; thank god for the carry along French translator! We had a lovely dine in the garden with laughter and all! Smoked Salmon and eggs, Roast beef sandwich, Crepe filled with ham (yes the serve pork here) potatoes and cheese! The salads are not a heap of corn, potatoes, pineapples, eggs, beets, lettuce, cheese, cucumbers, and all that other crap Moroccan salads have. They are mixed greens with Vinaigrette and real salad dressing!!! Alhumduliallah!!!

I will be going back. And it was particularly queer friendly. Not sure if it was just that day, but the attraction is magnetic and quite romantic.

Thank Ty Potes, I'll be back!




***On Saturdays it opens at Noon***

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Aneesah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat
Level Contributor
45 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Garden cove and consistent quality”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Ty Potes is one of our favorites restaurants in Rabat - - its one of the few places that you can eat in a quiet and enclosed garden setting in a villa in the middle of downtown. Its also one of the few eateries with consistently good quality food, with no surprises. A French comfort-food menu mainly of salads and sweet and savory crepes. It also has an epicerie fine where you can stock up on great breads, imported cheeses, charcuterie and other goodies that are difficult if not impossible to find elsewhere in town. Popular with the weekday business lunch crowd, families and friends for weekend brunches and dinners, and especially among foreigners in general. Serves hard cider, beer on tap and other alcohol.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank nomadiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ty Potes also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Ty Potes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing