We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish we could have stayed longer!”
Review of Riad Senso

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Senso
Ranked #19 of 50 Rabat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 31, 2013

My husband and I stayed in the Datura room for one night. The riad is lovely. As compared to the effusion of colors and patterns one finds in many riads, Riad Senso is mostly (not entirely) white, but it feels very much intentional, not due to a lack of effort or imagination. We found it very serene, calming. The riad is on a quiet street in the medina and is unmarked – we saw no sign and not even a street number at the door – but the staff had emailed us a very helpful, easy to follow, and accurate map. Lovely view from the roof. Extremely comfortable, large bed and soft plush towels. We found the staff friendly and welcoming. They didn’t give us a key to the room, which has happened at other riads at which we have stayed but you should know in case you are not comfortable with this, although I think a key would have been available if we had asked. I think Riad Senso is a little pricier than we typically go for, but we got a last minute deal on booking.com. And the riad donates profits to Fondation Orient-Occident (East-West Foundation), which among other things helps refugees in Rabat, so we didn’t mind paying a little more than we usually would. We were also able to pay by credit card which was nice; most riads where we have stayed are cash only (even where booking.com says they accept credit cards). One somewhat odd thing, after we checked in and enjoyed the standard welcoming tea and Moroccan cookies (the tea, by the way, was very good and not overwhelmingly sweet), a staff member showed us around the riad, including the other rooms – some of which looked like they might have been occupied. He was with us the whole time, so it is not like we could have stolen anything if we wanted, but I can imagine not every guest being comfortable with this. Still, this is a great riad and one of my favorites in Rabat!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (110)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

35 - 41 of 110 reviews

Reviewed May 17, 2013

We stayed in Rabat for two days and can only recommend this lovely nice little riad. The staff was great and our room was very nice. Moreover the riad donates all the profits to an organisation that takes care for refugees (Fondation Orient-Occident). So you not only get excellent value for your money but also do something for a good cause. We will defnitely come again!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 0Christina0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

My stay at the Riad Senso located in the Rabat Medina was a unique, wonderful experience. For starters the Riad is fantastically located in the old Medina (away from the buzz and traffic of the city), just a street away from the Kasbah des Oudayas, the single most beautiful spot in the city of Rabat and one of the most beautiful attraction on the coast of Morocco.
The Riad is quaint, relatively small with only 5 bedrooms, full of charm and taste.
I was fortunate to stay in a spacious bedroom on the first floor, while my sons were on the top floor with great views - an ideal spot for an evening drink.
After a magical night (during which I felt I was part of the local fabric via the human street activity), we had the best breakfast ever in Morocco, everything was superb, the coffee, the jam, honey, the crepes, the bred...
Before departing, at the gift shop, I was able to find few wonderful presents for my wife - natural oils, creams, and soap made by a company in Tangier, as well as unique clothing made by women refugees.
In short I highly recommend the Riad Senso for anyone who wants to discover the real Morocco and its legendary hospitality away from the beaten path of the faceless traditional business hotels.
And while having a wonderful stay you will also support a great cause.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank olaf G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Einzigartige Dachsuite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank luemis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: chambre deuxième étage avec terrasse
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marthe L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled with family
1  Thank Mario G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: February 2017, traveled with friends
Thank VillaVenere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 45 in Rabat
515 reviews
1.0 mi away
Belere Rabat
Belere Rabat
#16 of 45 in Rabat
252 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Pietri Urban Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#15 of 45 in Rabat
146 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad El Maati
Riad El Maati
#4 of 50 in Rabat
318 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Zyo
Riad Zyo
#2 of 50 in Rabat
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Senso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Senso

Address: Rue Jamaa Tililou | Medina de Rabat, Rabat 1000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range: $87 - $108 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Senso reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing