We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local Elegance”
Review of Riad El Maati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Riad El Maati
Ranked #4 of 49 Rabat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 25, 2013

In the middle of the souk and away from the noice, this Riad is "lovingly" maintained and well managed without overdoing it. The owners show a great eye for detail concerning style, features and sevice. Parking (We came with our car at night and not being familiar with Rabat it took us an hour to find) is a 200 yards walk (porters at the parking!) and both cost next to nothing.
Tip: the Riad has magnificent "poofs" around the courtyard and the staff can tell you where to buy these; it takes appr. 4 days to make these (we bought 4).

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vouna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (314)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 314 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2013

Perfect from begging to end... The food, the rooms, the massage the attention to details, the warm and attentive care of the hosts, the politeness, proactiveness and availability of the staff. We were 3 couples with 9 kids and the only regret was that we stayed only 24 hours.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
2  Thank CdeSanctis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

My boyfriend and I planned a last minute trip to Morrocco. Knowing our time was short, We wanted the authenticity of Rabat but also a clean and special place to stay. The Riad El Maati felt like a sanctuary in the mist of the colorful and vibrant life of the market within the Riad. Beautifully and simply decorated embracing the culture of the French and Moroccan's while being embraced with the special warmth and professionalism of Laurence and Farhid, I would highly recommend and would love to return for a longer stay.

Jennifer G

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2013

We spent two nights at Riad El Maati with our two teenage daughters and I wish we could have stayed longer. What a special place! We were met at the train station by Laurence and from that moment nothing was too much trouble for both Laurence and Farhid, the owners. They made us feel so welcome and were such wonderful hosts. The riad is perfectly positioned within the medina, close enough to easily walk to all main medina attraactions but in a clean, quiet laneway. Walking into Riad El Maati for the first time was like walking onto an interior design set. It is very chic and sophisticated! Farhid has done an incredible job with the renovations - very, very cool. Our room was beautiful; crisp white linen on all the beds, traditional Moroccan touches, beautiful toiletries and all the comforts you need. The attention to detail in this riad is second to none. The staff at the riad were friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome also. Undoubtedly one of the best riads in Morocco for decor and service - thoroughly deserving of it's Top Riad in Rabat rating!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robyn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

My wife and I spent four wonderful days in Rabat in early December 2012 and the quality of our stay is largely due to the warm welcome of the two hosts (Laurence and Farhid, the owners of the Riad), the kind assistance they provided to help us venture into and out of the Medina, and, last but not least, the quality of the food (and of the wine – we recommend the gris de la Ferme Rouge). The staff is very friendly and helpful and the rooms are comfortable and spotless. The nights are a little chilly in December, but for us Canadians y’a rien là (as they say in Québec). We strongly recommended the El Maati to our friends and we wholeheartedly recommend it to tourists who want to live an authentic Moroccan urban experience.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alain A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2012

This title says it all. It's elegant, luxurious even. Not a single disappointment. When I got there, I was upgraded from a regular room to a suite because a guest had not yet checked out. Man, what a treat! The suite was modern with such tasteful decor. This was hands down the best sleep I got in Morocco.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Within the cultural madness and frenzy of the Rabat Medina, lays nestled in the maze of twists and turns a peaceful sanctuary called the Riad El Maati. One would never suspect that a gem like this Riad would exist with all the commotion right around the corner. It may be a bit daunting and intimidating to walk through Bab Chella, the Medina gate closest to the Riad, so you have the option of having someone from the Riad meet you at the gate. Once you pass the craziness of the main street and start making your way through the few twists and turns to get to the Riad, you will see the worth in it all.

Upon walking in, you instantly forget about the animals that you had to walk past to get to the Riad. It is absolutely beautiful. White, sheek, very modern, almost desert like. It is a quite sanctuary that makes you feel so at ease. There are five rooms each with its own unique character and amenities depending on your needs. A rooftop terrace is available for use. A lounge room is at your disposal with a tv but I have never seen anyone using it. Why would you with a place like that. You cannot leave the place without trying the duck and fig tagine! It is the most succulent dish ever. Even if youve never tried duck, you need to try it because the duck almost tastes like chicken with the way it is prepared. My mom cannot stop talking about it. We even went to eat dinner at a high end Moroccan restaurant our final night because everyone raved about it but it failed in comparison to the Riad's duck tagine!

Finally, I cannot say enough about the hosts, Farhid and Laurence and their staff. Laurence and Farhid are both French and Farhid also Moroccan. They have a solid understanding of the fusion between the French and Moroccan culture and they have found a way to marry both cultures together in the way they have created every detail of the Riad. They bent over backwards to accommodate every request. The staff are some of the staff do not speak english, you cannot underestimate the power of body language, smiles, and laughter. We communicated just fine.

Because some of the rooms have a mezzanine level where a bed is located, I dont suggest having someone afraid of heights, eldery, or all out-clumsy walking up the stairs because the steps can be very narrow and also a little steep. The stone used as the foundation can become very slippery when wet so make sure to wipe up any wet spots, especially after a shower. We actually placed a towel in the shower to avoid slipping.

If you want to get a good idea of Moroccan culture you cannot get at a hotel, stay at this Riad because you get a big dose of culture in the Medina as well as running to your peaceful accommodations when you've had enough for the day.

Merci Beaucoup Farhid, Laurence, and the Staff of Riad El Maati!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aida C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 45 in Rabat
508 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#6 of 45 in Rabat
595 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#9 of 45 in Rabat
242 reviews
0.3 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 45 in Rabat
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Maati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Maati

Address: 15 sidi el maati, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range: $100 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Maati 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting that combines the traditional materials (tadelakt, wood, wrought iron ...) and contemporary simplicity, Riad welcomes you in its two suites and four bedrooms with bathrooms. To start your day, returning from your break or just to suit your needs, come relax in our spa (steam room, massage ...) or on our panoramic terrace. For those wishing to enjoy the intimacy of the Riad, we offer a catering service on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Riad El Maati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing