We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“I love this riad” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad El Maati

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad El Maati
Ranked #4 of 46 Rabat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Utrecht, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“I love this riad”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2011

We received this address from a friend we met in Fes. I absolutely don't regret coming here. De owners, Fahrid and Laurence are by far the two sweetest people I have ever met. Nothing is too difficult for them, they assisst you with EVERYTHING. I really mean everything. They gave us great advice how to react to the people in the medina, what to watch out for, how to continue our journey. Laurence also gave us a great tour of Rabat on paper, which was absolutely stunning. The riad itself is by far the most beautiful palace on the face of this earth. Everything is so clean, the staff is LOVELY. The rooms are amazing. They are big, clean and just perfect. The patio is great, I spent most of my time just sitting here, enjoying Fahrid's great taste of music, the flowers and the birds. Also, there is an elevator, for luggage, disabled people or if you're just very tired. The terrace is great, the eating area is great and just everything is great. I would certainly come back here. And I think Fahrid and Laurence really love what they do and both have a heart of gold. I never met such kind people. It made our stay in the riad even more special. They also have a hammam, spa, jacuzzi, pedicures, manicures, massages, which we couldn't pass up. It was great! Also the prices are very reasonable. Staying in this riad is money well spent. The service you get goes beyond your imagination.

CERTAINLY coming back here!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SabinaK88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    38
    16
    1
    0
See reviews for
62
118
12
27
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Malabo, Equatorial Guinea
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

As a group of ladies and a young child we stayed one night in this Riad and it was a great experience. The Riad itself is spotless and just gorgeous with white walls and huge ornate wooden doors. The rooms were large, bright, charmingly decorated with great linens and the bathroom was huge with a double sink and a huge bath and shower. We enjoyed drinks on the rooftop terrace and nothing was too much trouble for the owner who provided food for the little one and a baby sitter. We ate breakfast on the terrace and it was a feast of pancakes, pastries yoghurts and delicious fresh orange juice. There is also a hamman and spa which includes a huge double jacuzzi..and although we didnt have time to try it out ..i am sure i will go back . There is also an elevator for those less mobile. In fact it is obvious that the owners really care that their guests have a wonderful experience in their home and in Rabat. They have thought very deeply how to create an atmosphere of tranquility that everyone can share. I would really recommend this place to everyone and will definately be back .

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank weedycdragon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warsaw
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2011

The riad had recently opened and it's absolutely gorgeous. While the building is ancient, the design is 'modern moroccan' with tadelakt walls and floors. The service is personal, as the owners (a French couple) live in the Riad. A refreshing change from the traditional ornate 14th century riad's that you find in the medina.

Room Tip: The room upstairs has a jacuzzi in the bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CultureFreakWarsaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

I usually do not leave reviews but this time I was asked to and my stay was so perfect that I simply want to advertise this Bed & Breakfast. I apologize for my poor English but I want as much people as possible to read this review. I stayed one week in Rabat for work and the usual hotel in the business area was fully booked. I reserved at the very last minute a room at Riad El Maati and it was the best thing of my stay. The Riad is new and not known, you have to mention the entrance Bab Chellah of the Medina. From there it is just a couple of minutes walking. Medina is the original old town, cars are not allowed because it is made of narrow small streets. The structure is clean, cozy and beautiful. I really looked forward to finish my working day and return to "my" riad. A sumptuous breakfast was included in my rate and I enjoyed having it on the terrace with a view on the Medina roofs. The riad is owned by a very nice and available French-Moroccan couple who lives in the same Riad with her sons and daughter. It is also possible to have complete dinner with French-Moroccan fusion cuisine. There is only a point to consider, it is not a problem for me because I know Morocco but for first time travellers to a muslim country could be a bad surprise. This is also the reason why I do not put the full point to the sleep quality. The riad is very near to a mosque and you hear the 5 daily prayers. I suggest to use ear plugs like me if you do not want to be waken up at 4.15 am.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank sajde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2011

We loved Riad el Maati - the cool, chic rooms with their fine linens, gorgeous old doors, and beautiful fixtures, the huge and hugely comfortable bed, and the delectable courtyard and rooftop terrace. We were lucky to stay at a quiet time so had the full attention of Laurence and Farhid and their lovely children - including being taken to excellent textile and lamp artisans (whose prices were very fair and products beautiful), eating one of Laurence's delicious tagine suppers, and even being escorted to the ATM by their teenage son when we needed to get cash out. Truly this place is a treat, right in the heart of the bustling Medina but a tranquil sanctuary of refined calm.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
8 Thank foodyfiona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#5 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#4 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 458 reviews
0.3 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#8 of 42 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
4.3 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#1 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Zyo
Riad Zyo
#2 of 46 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Maati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Maati

Property: Riad El Maati
Address: 15 sidi el maati, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad El Maati 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a setting that combines the traditional materials (tadelakt, wood, wrought iron ...) and contemporary simplicity, Riad welcomes you in its two suites and four bedrooms with bathrooms. To start your day, returning from your break or just to suit your needs, come relax in our spa (steam room, massage ...) or on our panoramic terrace. For those wishing to enjoy the intimacy of the Riad, we offer a catering service on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Riad El Maati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing