We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Living in a Moroccon fairy tale:)” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar Mayssane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Dar Mayssane
Ranked #10 of 46 Rabat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Turkey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Living in a Moroccon fairy tale:)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

Ok... From where to start?...

The location: the location of the riad is in the medina of Rabat and easy-walking distance to the kasbah and to the door to new city. Very convenient. Although I had only one day in Rabat, I could walk everywhere touristic around. I did not use any transportation. From train station I asked them to arrange a pick-up for me, that you also should probably do the same, this was for a very reasonable price and worth it. When I was in the riad, Hassan helped me with every detail, show me on the map where to walk, how to find my way etc. He also carried my huge luggages to my room which was at the top floor with a smile on his face. He was really kind. He also told me if I ever get lost (because I was worried as this was my first lonley day in Morocco), I can call him and he can come to pick me up, which is something that gives you a security feeling. But the location of the riad was so easy, even me who has a very low feeling of direction without a map (forget about maps in Moroccon medinas), I could find my way very easily.

The riad: The decoration of the house is like from 1001 nights tales, or any Morroccon fairy tale. You can see them in the photos. My room: La Belle Endormie, was really like a dream. I could live there forever. I added some photos of the room. It was extremely clean, the decoration fantastic, has a private balcony overlooking the courtyard. This room is a little more expensive than other but it's worth this.

From the terasse there is a wonderfull sun set....

Also there were little details in the rooms that are chosen very tastefully and those things are also available to buy on the shop below.

Another very important thing for me is that as I was traveling during winter in Morocco, everywhere I asked during reservation about heating and they always told me "they have enough heating". But generally it was not true in other riads I stayed. The heating was generally not enough, if you have it in the room, the bathroom is cold etc. But here, there was an aircondition that works for heating also very efficiently in the bedroom, a fan that you can carry wherever you want in the bathroom, and another electric heater in the shower room. So yes, they had enough heating even for me who is always cold:) And I liked that they care about the client needs more than their electric bills:)

I dined at the riad (you should ask for this a few hours before), although more expensive than outside restaurants, it was easier for me because I didn't want to be alone out after dark. The diner was very tasty and very well served.

The staff did everything to provide me a happy stay. Although normally they do not have wi-fi in the rooms, they gave me a cable that I can connect to my laptop, so I could get online from my room. The breakfast also was very nice.

If you want to have a feeling of 1001 nights fairy tales, you can choose this riad with wonderful decoration, lovely staff and great location.

Room Tip: Choose La Belle Endormie... This is a real fairy tale room... A little more expensive but definitely...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Swanilda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    21
    5
    5
    0
See reviews for
20
59
7
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

This was my second stay at Dar Mayssane and I was actually a little nervous—my previous visit (in December 2012) was so wonderful I was concerned that this time would not live up to the earlier experience. I need not have been concerned. Dar Mayssane remains one of my favorite riads of the dozen in which I have stayed in Morocco. On this visit it was the same beautiful riad with the same wonderful service, great breakfast, and location. My husband and I again stayed in the Amandine room, this time his sister and her husband were with us and they stayed in the Concubine room, which is even nicer. It would be difficult for a tall person to stand up in the bathtub in the Concubine room—the room has very high ceilings, but it is split-level and the bathtub is in a loft area; the shower in the room is separate and does not have the same problem. Everything from my prior review remained true. I would add that the Dar Mayssane is one of the taller buildings in the Rabat medina, so the view from the roof is exceptional. Also if you are staying in the Amandine room with another person, it should be someone with whom you are comfortable, as you should know that the toilet is behind a screen, but not in a completely separately enclosed area. This has been the case in some other riads in which I have stayed, I am guessing most likely as a result of being older buildings which have been retrofitted with western toilets and modern plumbing. The Concubine room’s bathroom is a separately enclosed area.
A few reviewers have had difficulty finding this riad; my prior review (dated 2 January 2013) contains detailed directions. One reviewer states that the riad does not have wifi. It does, but the wifi works best in the common areas on the ground floor, and I sometimes could not connect elsewhere. In my experience in Morocco there is often an inverse relationship between how nice a place is and how good the wireless connection, the nicer the place the worse the internet. I cannot figure out why this is the case.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
246 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

We had the hardest time finding this riad from the airport, but it was worth it. When you walk into the Dar Mayssane through the tiny front door you are transported to another era. The tiled walls and high-vaulted ceilings just add to the experience. Our room was incredible, with it´s ornate wood paneled walls and Moroccan tiled foyer. This was a great starting point in our trip through Morocco.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guilherme R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed in La Belle Endormie room for two nights. The riad is lovely, and exudes French charm as well as Moroccan. The tile in our room was amazing, and I didn't realize we would have a large terrace to ourselves, which was nice. The room is on the roof of the riad, so there are a lot of stairs, but it was worth it for the privacy. Because the weather was pretty lousy the time we were there, there was never anyone on the roof, otherwise I'd assume that privacy would be less if people were up there lounging across from the terrace. It would have been nice to be there in better weather so the terrace could be enjoyed more.

The breakfasts were tasty, and the staff were very friendly and went out of their way to be helpful. My only disappointment is that although it was advertised that wifi was available, there was none. There was some type of wall plug-in that you had to ask for, then punch in a long password into your phone/laptop, but it never connected. Had this riad been advertised as having no wifi, it would have been filtered out of our internet search for accommodations and we would not have booked there. In hindsight though, the stay was good.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmelieVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights towards the end of February. My first (and lasting) impression of this riad was WOW! It is gorgeous and the staff was fantastic. My french is limited, so Vanessa's English skills were highly appreciated. She was an amazing host that really wanted to help us find our way in town and help us select restaurants. She helped us out with us not having to ask, so it was really cool to have that kind of attention. She and the rest of the staff definitely made you feel at home. Breakfast was delicious as well!
As for the riad itself, it was absolutely gorgeous. The tile work was beautiful and the riad was just really well designed and stylish. We stayed in the room 'La Concubine' and it too was fantastic. The ceilings were so high that they were able to loft the deep soaker tub over the bathroom! It was a really cool touch.
As for location, I was happy with this as well. It is a short walk to the sea and you are also right in the medina. We found it easy to get to the newer section of town with being right next to Ave Mohammad V. I also found it easy to get back to via taxi because it is close to major roads and medina gates. Some people complain about having a tough time getting here at first, but I found it a piece of cake to just pay a parking attendant a few dirhams and they showed us the way.
I think the price is pretty good for Rabat, so even though it felt high coming from Marrakech, I still think it was a good price for where it was. You do need to pay in cash, but I feel like as long as you know this beforehand it shouldn't be an issue. We did get a receipt.
We were very pleased with our stay here and on the off chance we are ever in Rabat again, we will want to stay here!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MikeandAshley529
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bronxville
Level Contributor
36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 24, 2013

The decor in this authentic hotel is a wonderfully chic blend of French and Moroccan, old and new. We had a delicious dinner in a lovely dining area. The staff was welcoming and helpful. Great location in the medina. i would highly recommend this hotel for a vacation.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2013

I loved the decor and the atmosphere of this place - perfect for a weekend get away - I stayed in the sultane room, which was quite beautiful, my only complaints were
1. not enough hot water to take a bath
2. the staff had a very difficult time with my bill, over-billing me twice and insisting on cash with NO RECEIPT. After several calls with the management I was told they would email me a receipt, I requested one several times, they never produced one and stopped answering my emails.
Bottom line- do not expect to be able to expense this place, but if you don't mind a cash only transaction, which is very common in Morocco - you are good to go!
3. not easy to find- in the Medina down a sidestreet and NO SIGNS or markers- you must knock on a very nondiscript door and cross your fingers to get in!

Room Tip: the sultane is very nice, 3rd floor, so you have to carry your luggage up steep steps- open to court...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#4 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 452 reviews
0.1 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 42 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Zyo
Riad Zyo
#1 of 46 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 204 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad El Maati
Riad El Maati
#4 of 46 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 295 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar Soufa
Riad Dar Soufa
#3 of 46 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Mayssane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Mayssane

Property: Riad Dar Mayssane
Address: 13 rue Faran - Khechen, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Mayssane 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in Dar Mayssane A riad in Rabat's medina, not far away from Bab Laalou and the kasbah of Oudayas. Between tradition and modernity, a peacefull place after the noisy medina. A place where "feeling home" has sense with a staff who provides the best service possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Orbitz so you can book your Riad Dar Mayssane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing