We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing, so beautiful.”
Review of Riad Dar Mayssane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar Mayssane
Ranked #9 of 50 Rabat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 10, 2013

Wow..was our first impression, and so it continued to be, we only planned to stay one night but stayed two and would have been happy to stay there for the rest of our visit to morocco, the welcome we received was wonderful, our room was perfect, (la confidante) there was ample storage, it was very clean and so very tastefully decorated, as was the whole riad, the view from roof terrace is very impressive, you can see right over the medina, Vanessa the manager spoke excellent English and could not have done more to make us feel welcome and relaxed, fatna is amazing, she is a tremendous cook, and served us a wonderful breakfast, she gave us a excellent plan of Rabat and advised us where to go, we will definitely be back, Rabat is a wonderful place, and the mayssane is a real gem.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (136)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

55 - 61 of 136 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

This riad is absolutely beautiful! My husband and I stayed for one night in the L’Amante room, wished we could have stayed longer, and will almost certainly be back (we live near Rabat and come in fairly frequently). Our room had a large and very comfortable bed and a big bathtub.
The riad is gorgeously decorated throughout, with beautiful and intricate details. The building seemed to be one of the taller ones in the medina and has great views from the roof. Fatna was very sweet, very accommodating, and made us a big tasty breakfast. Easy walking distance to the Kasbah, any part of the medina, restaurants, the Rabat Ville train station, tram, etc. The Mohammed V Mausoleum/Hassan Tower are a little farther, as is Chellah, but still walkable (cabs are plentiful if you do not feel like walking).
Others have noted that the riad does not have a sign; we had no trouble finding it. The building number is a little above eye level, but visible. If you enter the medina from the Ville Nouvelle along Avenue Mohammed V (the main street through the Ville Nouvelle, onto which the Rabat Ville train station exits), you are going to turn right onto Rue Faran Khechen, which will be one of the last streets in the medina and is unusually well marked. The riad is the next to last door on the left before the street ends. Avenue Mohammed V can be a little crowded, so you might want to turn right onto Boulevard Hassan II right before the entrance to the medina. Hassan II runs along the medina wall, then you would turn left to enter the medina at the first entrance (after Mohammed V) onto Rue Sidi Fatah. You would then turn left onto Rue Faran Khechen, again one of the last streets in the medina and unusually well marked, which would be the second door on the right.
The only negative we had was that with the bathtub being so large (probably more than twice the size of a typical home tub), I ran out of hot water before it was full. I had enough to take a bath, just not enough for an extended soak deeply submerged. This was late in the day (after midnight), I’m not sure if that made a difference. One other very minor pet peeve, I could not get wireless internet to work in the room. Oddly this has happened to me and people I know at several riads and I can never figure out why the internet often works better at some of the budget hotels in which we stay than in the fancier riads. If you are here for pleasure you should get off your computer anyway and see the city, but if you are here on business and need to get online you might have to do so from a common area. But overall this is my favorite riad in Rabat (I’ve stayed in 3 so far) and would highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

If you have ever wanted to stay in a place or a stately home but couldn't afford it - stay here for an affordable price (£80). A fantastic restored mansion with a wild mixture of Islamic design and contemporary artefacts - beautifully blended with tremendous comfort. On arrival. we given the most amazing marzipan sweetmeats and mint tea. Our room, the Concubine, was superb - a huge comfy bed with great pillows. It was a very large room with a contemporary shower and sink - and an oval bath up internal stairs. The shower gel and shampoo were standouts. There were masses of lights. However despite the heater the room was a little cold. Outside our bedroom on the first floor were lots of twisty steep staircases, twirling around the building like an Arabicised Escher print - leading past other rooms through a patio and gardens to a roof from which the whole of Rabat could be seen. Breakfast consisted of bread, Moroccan crepes, juice and great coffee. We ate New Year's Eve dinner at the Riad - it was a little expensive for what it was - Moroccan salads, chicken tagine and fried bananas. The red wine (additional cost) was excellent. The Riad is well situated at the north of the Medina, easy to find once you know where as there is no name plate. This was the 5th Riad of our trip and by far the best.

Room Tip: All are great but they are up steep stairs. The Concubine is only one story up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

On our arrival we were warmly greeted and served mint tea and cookies. We had La Confidante room which has two single beds and is a bit cramped with luggage but we were able to make do. The bathtub/shower is divided by a partially covered glass panel from the bedroom, so not quite private. Unfortunately, we arrived a bit late and they were not able to accommodate us for dinner, however we were provided several good recommendations for restaurants, which worked out just fine. In the evening we were served wine in front of a lovely fireplace.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in this Riad 7 days and I can strongly advise you this place: beautiful rooms, great location (next to the main street of Medina), fantastic food (breakfasts and dinners), great service (very attentive to your needs) and very helpful manager: if you would like to receive any advices on staying (tours, area, maps, restaurants, galleries, shops, museums, places to visit etc) she will provide you the best.
Very warm and cosy atmosphere. Fairly priced.

We’ve been very happy to stay in this Riad and recommend it to everybody, who would like to have a nice break without problems.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bisanten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2012

We stayed two nights here on our Moroccan trip and loved it. The Riad is beautifully restored with characterful rooms. Ours (L'Amante) would only be suitable for intimate friends, since the bathroom (including toilet) is IN the bedroom, so no privacy. However, as a long-married couple this was not a problem for us. And the bath was enormous, more than enough room for two. There are delightful roof terraces and public space on every floor. But the star attraction is Fatma the exquisite cook. She produces sublime cooking at every turn - afternoon pastries with tea and/or juice, the best breakfast including home made cake and sublime dinners. Cooking is her passion and she creates recipes based on the best fresh ingredients she buys that day in the medina. Halfway through our dinner, my husband asked if we can take her home with us!. She was delighted but the owner / manager was very clear that she values Fatma as much as we did!! If we are ever back in Rabat, we will make a beeline for it (or frankly anywhere where Fatma is cooking).

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 19SeasonedTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Wonderful Riad in Rabat. French speaking delightful staff. Lovely ambiance, rooms and great original breakfast. Easy walk to town and all that Rabat has to offer. Good restaurants nearby.
Baker next door.
Simply delightful.

Room Tip: Sultan great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#3 of 45 in Rabat
520 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#6 of 45 in Rabat
599 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad El Maati
Riad El Maati
#4 of 50 in Rabat
320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zyo
Riad Zyo
#2 of 50 in Rabat
258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Sakina
Riad Sakina
#12 of 50 in Rabat
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Mayssane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Mayssane

Address: 13 rue Faran - Khechen, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 50 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range: $101 - $127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Dar Mayssane 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome in Dar Mayssane A riad in Rabat's medina, not far away from Bab Laalou and the kasbah of Oudayas. Between tradition and modernity, a peacefull place after the noisy medina. A place where "feeling home" has sense with a staff who provides the best service possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Mayssane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing