We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dar Zouhour

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dar Zouhour
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We stayed here on the first night of our Morocco experience. What a great way to start. The staff were so friendly, our room was comfortable and breakfast was just lovely. The staff happilly gave us an early morning cup of tea and were very friendly and helpful even though we only spoke english we managed to communicate and be understood. I would happily recommend this to others

Room Tip: We stayed on the top level in a twin room. Not the largest room but enough for us for the night we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    70
    22
    5
    5
See reviews for
34
85
18
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Its a nice place for Tourists who are planning to stay here for a day or two. May not be ideal for someone in Rabat for Business Trip or staying for longer duration. People who manage this hotel are nice and friendly with the exception of:
- You will have communication problem if you don't know French or Arabic
- Expect to pay 3.5% tax if paying by CC which is not included in the nightly rate
- The hotel arranged for a taxi in the early morning, but the taxi didn't show up. No one picked up my call at the hotel when I called to check about the taxi. Finally, I had to walk with my luggage about 1/2 a mile to pick a Grand Taxi that goes to Airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiruch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

This riad was in a good location, just inside the medina. The atrium and roof deck were lovely, but the room was quite small (it was hard to walk around the bed) and the air conditioning did not work particularly well. However, the bathroom was quite nice and very large. The biggest problem was with checking out and paying: we had an early train out of Rabat, so we asked to have breakfast a bit on the early side the day before. Breakfast was late, and the proprietress would not interrupt her breakfast to let us pay and leave to catch our train. This made our morning a lot more stressful than it needed to be, and considering that we were paying 80 euro per night, I hoped for a little more.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda3159
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed here on my first night in Morocco, having arrived in Casablanca and made my way on the train to Rabat it was the perfect riad. Its in the old medina but easy to find. The staff are very friendly and extremely helpful! The riad is also perfectly situated as a base to explore Rabat and all the major sights are within walking distance. I arrived quite late and there wasn't anyone there who spoke particularly good English, having said that, I didn't speak particularly good French and the girl still went out of her way to help me even though it involved sign language and pictionary and a lot of patience. I cannot thank her enough, by the end of it I knew where to eat, where to visit, how to top up my phone, what time breakfast was and both of us were in fits of giggles. It was an unbelievably warm welcome and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this Riad.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennesaw, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

Staff extremely helpful. Served tea at our arrival. Gave us a map with directions for getting around the Medina. Good location but a bit of a challenge to find. Helpful Moroccan walked us to the front door. Room was a real treat and a great overall experience. We stayed on the bottom floor in a suite with a/c. Breakfast in the courtyard was delightful.

Room Tip: Recommend suite on bottom floor with a/c
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DonV988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A lovely spot to stay in Rabat. The riad was clean, well kept and the staff was very friendly and spoke both english and french. The terrace upstairs is a great spot to have a quiet break from the city. Agree with the suggestions to ask for a map as it can be a bit tricky to navigate the medina. I would also suggest getting the ladies at the front desk to write the address down in both French and Arabic in order to be able to show cab drivers if you need to get there by car.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holmespun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
121 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2012

Good location in the medina, about a 10 minute walk to the Kasbah, and easy to find. Very nice Moroccan staff, one of whom spoke a good amount of English (and I would assume all spoke French). I stayed in the Iris room, which was nice, but my parents stayed in one of the suites, which was more expensive but also more lavishly decorated. Rooms on the ground floor open up onto the courtyard/main eating area, so potential for noise if one is looking to sleep in although this was not an issue for us. The riad has a hammam on the terrace which we did not use as it was pretty small and basically a steam room and shower. The owners were not as involved in the operations as in the other two riads in which we stayed on this trip. We only saw them in passing one evening and they seemed to speak no English, only French. The breakfast was nice, lots of food options including fresh fruit, which is not something that we have seen in many other riads.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurenjamie816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.2 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 40 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 423 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#3 of 40 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#4 of 40 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.9 mi away
Belere Rabat
Belere Rabat
#12 of 40 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 204 reviews
0.4 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#15 of 40 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 stars 111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar Zouhour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar Zouhour

Property: Dar Zouhour
Address: 4 Impasse Kaid Bargach | 4 Impasse Kaid Bargach Medina, Rabat 10030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 Hotels in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Dar Zouhour 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dar Zouhour, hosts' house medina of RABAT In the entered of the medina (60m of the parking lot) near the Ocean, the businesses of the street of the Consuls, the Kasbah des Oudaya; in 15mn in taxi of Royal Golf Salem; the owner Aline invites you to stay in Riad full of charm and very comfortable.Consisted of three consequences(suites) around the patio with private bathrooms, television, connection Internet, air conditioning chill; you can also choose one of three rooms(chambers) very colored in the floor, with private bathrooms, connection Internet, air conditioning chill.Library television, hammam and bring down solarium Of copious breakfasts give you the energy for day ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Dar Zouhour reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing