We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely terrace and food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dar Naji

Dar Naji
Ranked #6 of 254 Restaurants in Rabat
Price range: $3 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children, Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely terrace and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

This was our first non-riad dinner in Rabat, and it was a total success. We sat on a pleasant terrace; on low couches with pillows. The menus are in French and Arabic, but the waiter was our guide. He recommended brochettes, the pastilla, a kefta tajine and a chicken tajine covered in french fries—the only place that served it like this on the trip and a favorite. The pastilla is a Moroccan dish with a savory inside of chicken (or pigeon), ground almonds and a sweet sugary cinnamon dusting on top. You’ll find it everywhere, but we loved this version. The evening ends with mint tea, which the waiters pour with great ceremony from huge heights.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank chicag0travelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    238
    296
    101
    48
    38
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great and affordable!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

My husband and I rented an apt across from this resturnt we loved it. Great prices, great food and staff.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank amanda b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zagreb
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Traditional food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Traditional Moroccan food and music. Nice environment. Pick chicken tagine with citron to explore some nice taste. Also serving nice mint tee.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank zmgoldy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
283 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Good value in central location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The restaurant is fairly easy to find and is outside the medina wall at Bab Al Had across the road from two large fountains and a busy bus stop/station area.
We both had the chicken pastilla as an appetizer, which was fairly large and quite good. The chicken tagine was good but could have benefitted from additional spicing. The mixed grill was very good. No beer or wine is available.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank tryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

i went overthere few times when i was in rabat. all my moroccan advised to go there, and i was not disappointed. very cheap and good. it is very well located, close to the medina, so perfect to go after shopping :)

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank albanabanana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dar Naji also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Dar Naji? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing