We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Typical local beach”
Review of Plage de Rabat

belgium
Level Contributor
808 reviews
487 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
“Typical local beach”
Reviewed June 21, 2013

I guess ok for locals, as a foreigner you get too many stares and hassle, moreover I doubt the cleanliness of the water as the beach is situated at the mouth of a big river, who knows what's floating downstream, through a big city...
But a nice area for some pics, especially if you go up the pier, with the kasbah as a backdrop...

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank belgianguy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    66
    93
    44
    18
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Not much to see”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I liked being by the water but the beach is dirty and strewn with trash. This seems to be the place where Moroccans dump their waste. I did not particularly like Rabats beach. It needs to be cleaned up and made more presentable.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank starfirebhs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delft, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
55 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“spectacular rocky coast”
Reviewed May 4, 2013

beach and rocky coast alternate each other. Especially the rocks look very pretty, with waves splashing high. We drove past the coastal road from Rabat to Casablanca for a while and I wished we had the time to follow it all the way to Casablanca. We chose to follow the faster toll road as this is much faster (no slow lorries in front of you!), but the coastal road certainly is more beautiful!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Albert-Jan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Rabat - a beach, and more to discover.”
Reviewed April 19, 2013

Rabat (the capital of Morocco) often gets overlooked to nearby Casblanca (Casa). But the capital is worth your time. A great beach, vibrant medina that borders the beach neighborhood, and a great kasbah - The Kasbah of the Udayas - located at the mouth of the Bou Regreg river opposite of Salé (Rabat and Salé are Moroccan "twin cities"). The Kasbah provides a nice panoramic view of the beach and riverfront area. Visit the memorial to former king Hassan II.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank MplsguyMinneapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
37 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Cold beach”
Reviewed February 23, 2013

Visited in on a cool, misty day in January, so, not exactly beach weather. We walked through the Kasbah and then down onto the beach from there, out along one of the jetties to watch the surfers in the huge waves. There seemed to be quite a bit of trash and the ubiquitous stray cats in this area, but I don't know if that's different during beach weather when the area sees more traffic. Worth a trip for beautiful views.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank phenchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Plage de Rabat also viewed

Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
Rabat, Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region
 

Been to Plage de Rabat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing