We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful riad, fantastic host, luxurious accommodations”
Review of Riad Kalaa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Kalaa
Ranked #6 of 45 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Had the most pleasant stay at Riad Kalaa. After staying in 5 riads during my 10-day tour, Riad Kalaa was by far the best from all angles.

- Rooms were tasteful, luxurious, and comfortable. Plush beds, high threadcount sheets and comforter, with modern bathroom, air-con, and full in-room amenities. Every little thing was accounted for in the room.

- Host - Daniela was the most welcoming and hospitable host, helping us with the local area, providing recommendations, and ensuring our rooms were of utmost comfort to us.

- Food - our dinner at the riad was also phenomenal and one of our best meals in Morocco. All ingredients were fresh and Daniela even provided us insight into what was most fresh.

- Property - the riad was very intimate and homey. The public spaces was beautifully furnished and the rooftop pool was quite glam.

Loved it!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RichNFu24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear RichNFu24,

This is a real joy to read your review on Tripadvisor!! Thanks a lot!
It was a real pleasure to welcome you in our Riad Kalaa.
Daniela wants to add a special thank for the nice comments you wrote about her!

We are expecting to welcome you again very soon, we entirely remain at your disposal for anything.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (598)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 598 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2014

Our group stayed here for three nights. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, even if their English was limited. They were very patient with our butchered French... The rooftop garden and pool were a special treat. Rooms were very nice, with dramatically high ceilings, large tubs, and wonderful Moroccan furnishings. We took a cooking class in the riad that was a lot of fun, and the traditional Moroccan meal we created was better than some that we had in restaurants!
The riad is short walk to the main part of the medina in Rabat, and to the Kasbah on the waterfront.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Josh S,

What a pleasure to read your message of satisfaction on Tripadvisor. We also had great moments with the group.

We are happy when your experience is positive and that your expectations were met. We apologise for the English. The team is currently taking some course in order to speak more easily.

We thank you all for your comments and will be happy to welcome you again at Riad Kalaa.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

We only stayed one night but this was one of our best riads we stayed in. Room is fantastic and terrace area great with lovely pool. Prefer to get room upstairs. Location in the Medina is easily reached. Staff were very helpful. Dinner was lovely however overpriced. True Moroccan experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matmanf27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Matmanf27,

The whole team of Riad Kalaa is joining me to thank you for your nice review.

We hope to see you again very soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

We spent two night during our honeymoon travel at the Riad Kalaa. It was the most beautiful place I have ever been to! We were given a wonderful room with immensely high ceilings, a huge bathroom sprinkled with roses and with a sunken bath tub and such beautiful furniture and decoration I wished I could have taken everything with me! The hotel staff was extremely friendly and sitting and dinner in the inner courtyard was as romantic as it gets. Simply amazing!

Room Tip: The rooms on the ground floor have 4 meter high celings - wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christina1707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Christina1707,

Thank you very much for this nice review. We are happy that we made you honeymoon really pleasant and, I hope, unforgettable.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again very soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2014

We were doing a private tour through Morocco, organized from Australia with Ibertours.This Riad was chosen by our tour company and as such I don't know the price. We stayed for one night and included breakfast.

Our driver had rung the Riad and we were met in the carpark and shown the way to the riad. We were warmly greeted and offered juice (which turned out to be freshly squeezed orange juice) and petit fours, while we perused the menu for dinner. This was the beginning of our love affair with Moroccan Oranges!

Our room, Santal, was located upstairs (our bags had been taken up) on the pool level. Its a lovely room, beautifully decorated and very comfortable. The rain shower was wonderful and the toilettries provided were in recyclable glass jars. Big soft, fluffy towels were appreciated too.
Complementary water and free, fast wifi.

We had decided to have dinner here and were not disappointed. 3 courses for 280 dirhams each plus a couple of glasses of wine. Served in the courtyard on a balmy evening.

Our bed is comfortable and the area is very quiet. We woke to the sound of roosters and Call to Prayer. Wonderful. Isn't this why we travel? To see, hear and experience a different way of life.

For Breakfast the next morning there was Yogurt, dried fruit, freshly squeezed orange juice, freshly made pancakes, muffins, fresh bread and beautiful jams and honey, and good coffee. All beautifully presented.

This riad is located in the Medina and is very atmospheric. Being our first experience with a Riad, we were not sure what to expect, but thought it excellent and very different to the usual hotels experienced. The whole experience was fantastic.

If the price suits you, we would recommend Riad El Kalaa

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank barbaraanne56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear barbaraanne56,

The whole team of Riad Kalaa thank you for your recommendation. We are glad that you had a pleasant time with us (and that you started your love affair with Moroccan oranges!).

The review is full of important details that will really help future guests. These details (complementary water and fresh frutis is the room, free wifi, toilettries, home-made and fresh food at the restaurant) have one aim: the satisfaction of our guest.

We hope to see you again very soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

I'll make this a short review as we stayed here for one night, but something was off about this place. The room "looked" nice but was damp and we kept coughing, something was in the air. But, what bothered us most, was the rude attitude of the staff. Does it hurt them to smile or be friendly? They weren't pleasant at all. I honestly can't think of one person who was pleasant. This obviously makes for an uncomfortable experience for the guest.

The dinner, as far as taste goes, was good. Again, service gruff. Breakfast not good, meager. When she poured the coffee, she would fill the cup only part full and take the coffee pot with her.

Glad we only stayed one night en route.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summerblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Summerblue,

We thank you for taking the time to write a comment regarding your stay. We are sorry that you did not enjoyed your stay.
I am surprised to see that nobody from the staff was listenning to you and making everything to make your stay better. We apologise.
I am also sorry that the experience in a riad was unpleasant. We are not a hotel and do not offer the same quality of service. We try to do our best to make the stay of our guest pleasant.

We are happy that you enjoyed the dinner served. I am also suprised by your comment regarding the breakfast. Everything is home-made and our guests are really happy with it. We do not offer any salty option, maybe reason why you were disapointed. Please, do not hesitate to request it.

We hope to see you again,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 5, 2014

We arrived at Riad Kalaa in the early evening after a very long flight and then drive from Casablanca. Our driver parked at the nearest entrance to the medina and we were met by a friendly representative from the riad who helped us carry our luggage inside via a few narrow alleys.

We were greeted at Riad Kalaa with refreshing atai or moroccan mint tea. The riad has a beautiful courtyard and our rooms were just off this courtyard on the ground floor. They were comfortable and the bathroom was a bit small but well fitted out.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ShareKhan4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
David A, Propriétaire at Riad Kalaa, responded to this reviewResponded June 11, 2014

Dear Sharekhane 4,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay.

We hope to see you again very soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#4 of 45 in Rabat
515 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
0.1 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#8 of 45 in Rabat
86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
4.4 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#2 of 45 in Rabat
380 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#10 of 45 in Rabat
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalaa

Address: 3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#3 Business Hotel in Rabat
#3 Family Hotel in Rabat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range: $111 - $204 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kalaa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover this 1815's property, in the peace of the old Medina. With over 1000sqm for only 11 rooms and suites, Riad Kalaa is here to offer you Rabat like you have never seen it...Welcoming mint tea and traditional sweets, natural amenities, Rooftop pool, complimentary wifi access, Andalusian patio, panoramic solarium.Moroccan restaurant, summer snack & delights on rooftop terrace, traditionnal hammam, aromatherapy massages.Golf pre-reservation, excursions, airport transferts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Kalaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kalaa Rabat
Riad Kalaa Hotel Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing