We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Beautiful place to spend a night...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Kalaa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Kalaa
Ranked #4 of 41 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
dsm
Level Contributor
72 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Beautiful place to spend a night...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2012

Stayed one night 15/12 ...warm welcome by Sanaa wit mint tea n homemade biscuits. Quick checking, room was clean n good for my family wit two kids. Food was very good n the riad is beautifully decorated...keep it up the same standard.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deepak2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

531 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    340
    123
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
85
257
30
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Carol Stream, IL
Level Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Stayed here the first night of our trip. The courtyard was gorgeous! We loved the seating, the lighting, just everything. We stayed in La Favorite which had one bed on the main level and upstairs had a second bedroom and bathroom. The bathroom was really cool, except of course I hit my head on the entry decor (was a little low). We ate dinner here and it was just excellent. Breakfast was very filling and the staff was wonderful.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bcjordan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago IL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We stayed here on our first night in Morocco. We arrived after dark and the Riad was beautiful and calming. The lights were dim and we loved the way the lace patterns of the lights reflected on the walls. (we might have been slightly delirious from travel). Our room was "La Favorite" on the first floor. It was wonderful. There is a full bed downstairs and a full bed and bath upstairs. The beds were very comfortable. The room was nicely decorated and the bathroom was lovely. The water was nice and hot and the pressure was excellent. Our guide phoned ahead and let the Riad know we would be eating dinner with them. The food was excellent. I had the chicken tangine. It was melt in your mouth good. Breakfast was also very good and included bread, crepes, hard boiled eggs, fruit and an aray of jams and honey. I would defintely stay here again. I can't speak to the location other than it was in the Medina. We left by about 9:30 in the morning and didn't explore much in the immediate area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacksonsmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level Contributor
151 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This was simply the best way to round off a trip to Morocco. We just loved the relaxed style and ambience. It's not as grand or tiled or crafted as the riads we stayed at in Marrakech and Fes. But this place just oozed tranquilty. The relaxing courtyard, the stunning roof terrace, the ambient jazz in the background just all contributed to a soothing atmosphere. And the food's great too. The seafood menu is excellent. For a Moroccan riad the decor is almost minimalist but works effectively. It's also easy to find from Bab Latour just by the Kasbah and makes a great base for exploring the Medina and for walking on the corniche. Woud definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank timabdelhadytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Riad Kalaa was the first riad we stayed at on our Moroccan trip and it was a good place to start.
The owners and the staff are all of French origin and spoke varying degrees of English so my schoolboy french had to kick in .
The riad is very stylish and well appointed . We had a room on to top of the building which mean't climbing up stairs (something we became accustom to in Morocco) but this wasn't a problem.
We had dinner at the Riad which was fine and we were able to get a drink there too. Breakfast the next day was the typical breads with spreads,juice and coffee.
All in all we were very haapy at the Riad Kalaa and recommend it for a stay

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Davidb0962_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila, Philippines
Level Contributor
200 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

We spent only one night in this Rabat riad. By definition, these are rich families' residences in the olden days located inside Moroccan medinas that have been lovingly restored. They're squarish, with rooms downstairs, then rooms way upstairs, then a roof deck where they might have a pool or dining terrace. In the middle is a cute courtyard with perhaps a fountain or several fruit trees and all-weather sofa sets and chairs with tables. But keep in mind - they are inside medinas which means two things - one, they are hard to find and-or get to from the main roads which means luggage handling may be a problem, and two, given the tendency back then to always keep the exterior simple so as not to attract attention or envy, the entrances are nondescript doors which you had to bang on or ring the doorbell to get it opened. And even when the luggage gets inside, it's another matter to transport them up and don several flights of stairs.

Breakfast begins at 7:30 am and they serve different types of moroccan bread, served hot with nicely prepared butter and several jams and honey. Coffee was great. We had some communication problems - we were trying to ask for fired eggs which we saw the other table order. But the two ladies serving couldn't speak English and we couldn't speak French! We did get the eggs but we were never sure till they showed up.

The rooms are either on the ground floor or on the top floors, which, typically for riads, are quite high in elevation. Ours was on the small side so it took a lot of planning to get the luggage open, had no TV, no ref, but had an electronic safe. But the interior is pure old-style Moroccan which is so cute and quaint. There was no door but simply a draw curtain separating the bedroom from the toilet. The toiletries seemed to be native products - and quite effective. But there was no hot water, which we would later learn comes and goes since they have a limited supply and it takes hours to get the supply reheated. The room is equipped with a/c but ours was rather difficult to control - there was no way to avoid angling the vents so they didn't hit you directly. I found the mattress on the lumpy side. The lights are all old-style and very cute.

The roofdeck had a very small swim pool - or maybe that was a big tub.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank JGR001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our time at Riad Kalaa was definitely one of my favorites during the two weeks with our guide/driver from Morocco Overland around the country! The hospitality and helpfulness that the staff, especially the owner, The place is beautiful and one of our favorite Riad we stayed in Morocco.

The highlight for us was a cooking lesson with chef, the hotel's chef. Unusually, were the only guests dinning that night so we had the intimate experience of learning first how to cook couscous properly and later exclusively enjoying the fruits of our labour.the chef she where charming, fun and very passionate about what she does. It was a treat to spend the afternoon with her.

As we travelled through Morocco I fell more and more and deeper and deeper in love with the place and its people. Thanks a million to Morocco Overland for contributing so much to what has been an amazing Moroccan experience
Highly Recomand

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Benjamin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#5 of 41 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 433 reviews
2.7 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
0.1 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 41 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#3 of 41 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
Hotel la Tour Hassan
Hotel la Tour Hassan
#6 of 41 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Kalaa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Kalaa

Property: Riad Kalaa
Address: 3-5 Rue Zebdi, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#3 Business Hotel in Rabat
#3 Family Hotel in Rabat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Kalaa 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and discover this 1815's property, in the peace of the old Medina. With over 1000sqm for only 11 rooms and suites, Riad Kalaa is here to offer you Rabat like you have never seen it...Welcoming mint tea and traditional sweets, natural amenities, Rooftop pool, complimentary wifi access, Andalusian patio, panoramic solarium.Moroccan restaurant, summer snack & delights on rooftop terrace, traditionnal hammam, aromatherapy massages.Golf pre-reservation, excursions, airport transferts... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Riad Kalaa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Kalaa Rabat
Riad Kalaa Hotel Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing