We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in the Rabat Medina”
Review of Riad Dar Soufa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Riad Dar Soufa
Ranked #3 of 46 Rabat B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
68 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great location in the Rabat Medina”
Reviewed February 24, 2010

We stayed in this riad just for 1 night, during our honeymoon in Morocco. It is owned by a French couple and it seems that most of the travellers staying there also come from France as owners speak only limited English.

The key positive is location: just off rue Mohammed V, at the entrance to Rabat's Medina. This riad is easily accessible from the train station and is close to all major tourist attractions in Rabat.

The riad itself was ok but not wow. Owners were helpful and friendly but our stay there was not memorable. Room was stuffy and not very clean, the bathroom section was separated by just a curtain, and we missed the little touches that make for a nice stay, like having a hairdrayer or a comfortable chair to sit on.

Overall I would recommend this place if you need convenience and easy access for short stay, as it offers good value for money in a great location. For longer stay I would probably look elsewhere.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Williamek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    188
    33
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
32
143
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rabat
1 review
Reviewed February 19, 2010

This boutique accommodation is perfectly located in the Medina: easy to find, easy to leave to wander and get lost in the traditional Moroccan way of life.
The quality of the restauration shows certainly an attention to details, but more than that, love for the traditional craft, without overdoing it.
There are many riads and hotels overflowing with zellij, exotism and fluffy cushions. This one is just about the necessary, a refined balance and care for the senses: the beautiful, the natural and the authentic.

I was there at the occasion of a business trip, accompanied with wife and baby, who also loved the place.
It's a pity this Dar has only four rooms (make sure to book!) yet, size is its charm.

Note: the staff has a kind of joyful madness that adds to the experience.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank co2solidaire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2009

We stayed at Dar Soufa during both our visits to Rabat (2 and 3 nights). The riad is very tastefully designed--minimalist modern with the perfect blend of traditional Moroccan detail. We stayed in Chambre Zerka and really enjoyed it--high ceilings, large comfortable bed and very clean. One note: the bathroom in this unit is not a separate room but simply separate from the rest of the room by a privacy screen--the setup worked for us but may not work for all.

Benoit, the owner, is a friendly and unobtrusive host with good advice on the city. Big, hearty breakfast. Very convenient location--3 blocks or so into the medina when coming from the nouvelle ville, about 10-15 minutes walk to the train station. Great rates. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank concorde20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NRW
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2009

We went to see our daughter who lives in Rabat and we spent five days in this beautifully decorated riad. It's recently opened and the decoration is just charming and pure Maroccan style.
Benoît the owner is a perfect host and eager to make your stay pleasant and comfortable.
We really enjoyed these days and would always return in case we're in Rabat.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SafiNrw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.3 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#5 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Dar El Kebira
Riad Dar El Kebira
#4 of 42 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 481 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#16 of 42 in Rabat
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 42 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Zyo
Riad Zyo
#2 of 46 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar Soufa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar Soufa

Property: Riad Dar Soufa
Address: 7 derb souaf | Legza Médina, Rabat 10000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 46 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Dar Soufa 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This traditionnel moroccan Riad propose 4 typicals bedrooms (sitting room and a bathroom with shower and toilets compose each room . All of them makes more than 20 m²).The Riad Dar Soufa is steading place in a quiet street , just next the Mohamed V avenue , usually called Legza in the médina. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar Soufa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing