We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“very average”
Review of Majliss Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Majliss Hotel
Ranked #32 of 49 Rabat B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Were a bit disapointed -The hotel location is quite Ok, but - You will meet small rooms, small beds, low maintenance, but quite good meals.....If you can, pick another alternative..there are some in the vicinity .Enjoy!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pazitush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (60)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

18 - 24 of 60 reviews

Reviewed December 31, 2013

This property is rated as four star, which was not the impression we got. Small room, a bit worn out, decent breakfast but nothing to impress. The location is great, next to the train station and the main street, yet very quiet. You can walk from here to everywhere in Rabat if you are the kind.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank ggabi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

This hotel was simple but well located in Rabat. Nice rooms with small balconies. Elevator very small but hey it's Morocco. Wonderful dinner and breakfast. The staff are very helpful and friendly. Not luxurious but we enjoyed our stay. The room key system wasn't working but they were very helpful letting us in and out of our rooms. The train station was below our room though however it wasn't noisy in the middle of the night. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bev155023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

This was the 2nd night on an 8-day mini-bus tour followed by 6-days on our own in Morocco.

If I think about the individual elements of this place, it ranks low. However, I have a good memory of this hotel and would say it was one of the better on the tour. I really hope it wasn't just because they had reliable internet.

The clean rooms were damp-ish and without air conditioning. The food was generally poor but fresh and prepared with care.

Since our luggage arrived 5-days late, having the main street of shops nearby was a blessing.

I do remember an attractive woman sitting in a glass room under the stairs. I imagine she was the concierge but she had no computer and just sat there... motionless and upright... staring straight ahead.. for hours. I'd think she was trapped but, she was in different clothes come the following morning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdventureArt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2013

The lifts are only big enough for one person and their suitcase, so it was necessary to use the stairs a lot. The room was spartan but comfortable and reasonably clean. The hotel is a noisy hotel because there are no sound absorbing carpets on the floor and no wall decorations, so when someone in another room moves a chair to sit at the small table intended to be the dressing table, the whole hotel knows. There was no plug for the wash basin or bath and the shower was a standard hand shower. The buffet dinner was not particularly good; the soup was bland and tasteless while everything else was spiced to the extreme such that you did not know what you were eating which meant most guests filled themselves with the fruits and pastries for desert. The breakfast buffet was just as bad with the coffee undrinkable.

Room Tip: Get a room on the opposite side of the hotel to the railway station otherwise you will be woken by t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2013

The Hotel Majliss, in Rabat, was the second hotel we stayed at in a recent trip to Morocco.As with our first hotel it was promoted as 4 star but we were a shrewder consumers this time and had come to a better understanding of the star system in Morocco as being considerably less vigilant than in Canada.From our conversation with others in our group we came to understand that there are two versions of the room set up - one with a balcony and one with a sitting area. Our room included the sitting area and on hind sight I probably would have preferred the balcony. The room decor was beautifully authentic to Moroccan design with rich ruby pillows and decorative accompaniments that made us feel that we might have traveled into a Delacroix painting ( ie Women of Algiers, 1834). Unfortunately the mattress on the bed was the hardest I have ever experienced and I was only able to get a night's sleep as the result of exhaustion from a day of sight seeing.The shower over-flowed, which became a recurring phenomenon in all future Moroccan hotels we stayed at, and was apparently not a source of worry to the hotel management who made no attempt to be helpful.Our arrangements with the hotel included dinner and breakfast buffets. Neither of these was in any way appealing. While some attempt had been made to arrange the food pleasantly the food itself was without merit. It felt more like eating at summer camp than a luxury hotel. At dinner the server brought a large bottle of water to the table which he removed the lid from and graciously filled our glasses. It was a surprise when at the meal's end he demanded payment.I think we would have been pleased to order water if that had been offered and make payment but when it arrived unsolicited it was assumed it was complimentary.Unlike most other hotels we stayed at during our trip, Hotel Majliss does not have a bar or gathering spot other than the always crowded lobby. The elevator is frighteningly small and with just my husband and I and our suitcases it was a squeeze. I would recommend that visitors ask for a room on the lowest floor and use the stairs. As Rabat is the administrative center of the country I suspect this hotel was set-up for the convenience of business travelers and I suggest if your travel is for pleasure there must be something more pleasurable available in the city.

Room Tip: Select a room on the lowest floor possible and avoid using the elevators. Ask for a balcony,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brenda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

Last time I stayed in this hotel was 4 years ago. Last week I had a chance to visit Rabat and of course because of my previous experience I have chosen to stay in this hotel again. Amazingly they remembered me after all this time, same crew, same decor, but they were few changes. The first one is that you can have WiFi in your room, that is a great plus. For some reasons the internet gets very slow after 10pm, weird...They got rid of the business center which was a desk with a computer and printer back in 2008. I found it very frustrating because I had some documents to print and scan, and of course I had to find a kinko style shop to do it.
Breakfast is the same a lot of pastries, Moroccan pancakes, fruits, egg station that serve omelets with cheese only, no other ingredients. The waiting was outstanding, a lot of attention to details and provided great care to their customers.
They were 2 elevators, one of them was under construction during my stay. As stated below the elevator was so small that barely fit myself and 2 suitcases. I hope the construction going on the other elevator was to make it bigger.
Overall, it was a happy stay and would recommend it again to anyone visiting Rabat because of its location in the heart of downtown and the outstanding service of its staff.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Cantor Hotel Terminus
Cantor Hotel Terminus
#12 of 45 in Rabat
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Pietri Urban Hotel
0.1 mi away
Belere Rabat
Belere Rabat
#15 of 45 in Rabat
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel la Tour Hassan
Hotel la Tour Hassan
#8 of 45 in Rabat
413 reviews
0.3 mi away
B&B Rabat Medina
B&B Rabat Medina
#16 of 45 in Rabat
141 reviews
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel Rabat
Royal Hotel Rabat
#30 of 45 in Rabat
68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Majliss Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Majliss Hotel

Address: 6 Rue Zahla, Rabat 10030, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Rabat
Price Range: $75 - $588 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Majliss Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Majliss Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing