We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Riad Dar El Kebira
Nearby Hotels
$154
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$90
$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$85
$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$167
$162
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$144
$123
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$199
$190
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Riad Kalaa(Rabat)
$111
$105
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$84
$82
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$220
$215
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (552)
Filter reviews
552 results
Traveler rating
323
153
50
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
323
153
50
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop terracerue des consulsbreakfast is servednarrow streetsmint teabeautiful riadcar servicedinner one nighthighly recommend this riadcasablanca airportfirst floorriad experiencetagineenjoyed my stayyogurta wonderful stayhassan tower
Filter
Updating list...
234 - 239 of 552 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2013

The Dar El Kebira, nestled on a quiet street in the heart of the medina of Rabat, provides a perfect location from which to explore that fascinating city. The building’s traditional décor is stunningly beautiful, in the rooms as well as its soaring courtyard. We stayed at the Dar el Kebira twice, and experienced both a standard room and a suite, both were lovely and capacious. The manager and other staff are professional and most helpful – even to the point of cheerfully transporting our luggage from the hotel to the nearest street that allows motorized traffic (which the medina itself does not allow) at 5:30 in the morning. The breakfasts on the rooftop terrace were abundant, varied, and flavorful. We also enjoyed a abundant, flavorful, and well presented dinner in the Dar's exceptionally beautiful, ground-floor dining room. Any trip to Rabat will be enriched by experiencing the Dar El Kebira.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Glessd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Riad dar el Kebira for 3 nights in the Oudayas room and we had a pleasant stay. The staff were nice (although most didn't really speak English so brush up on your French/Arabic!) and the riad itself feels quite homely. Breakfast is also quite generous. The room was really big, as was the bathroom. The curtains also totally blacked out the room, which was great. However, the room smelt a bit musty and felt like it hadn't been used in a while (but we don't know if this was actually the case!). The only issues we had were the fact that the room was on the ground floor and therefore it got quite noisy at times. This wasn't much of a problem for us as we'd brought earplugs, which we'd recommend in case you get this room. The shower also didn't have hot water once but it came back on about an hour later and didn't happen again for the duration of our stay. The location is quite good and there are loads of signs in the medina and from the beach telling you how to get there.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you have the Oudayas room (which is on the ground floor).
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

A perfect location in the heart of the medina just far enough inside to feel immersed but still easy enough to find. Beautiful surroundings with a traditional but luxurious feel and very accomodating and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed hotel for 3 nights but what I can say definitely it is not 5 star. I am a frequent traveller and never come across a 3 start place claiming to be 5 Star. Here are negatives

1. The place is in Narrow Street of madina and one cannot carry luggage via car or taxi. If taxi drops you at wrong end of the street (as happened to us) than, be ready to search for about quarter an hour. The location being just in Madina or among souk may not be ideal for everyone.
2. No telephone in the room. As we have to patch up with our local friends to go out together but felt great difficulty in communication. They tried to call hotel number but no one picked up. Same happened to us very next day when we tried to come back to hotel and lost our way, we called but no one picked up the phone. Have you ever heard about a hotel without telephone connection in the room and it is five star?
3. The room we stayed were too dark. I tried to read some book but could not continue more than one page and have to abandon my reading. There are lights but decorative and as room was small and no space to bed side, there was no table lamp.
4. The breakfast was too calculated and simple. We were laughing when the breakfast served. Just few tiny piece of strawberry, a small of yogurt, local bread with oil dipping (we did not like as too oily), tea and omelette. Do not think it is buffet as we see in five start hotels. On the last day we asked an extra piece of cake to the waiter but he never returned.
5. There is terrace but that is not for your guests. Being no restaurant in the Riad, you have to go out if you want to meet any of your friends. Not knowing this I asked three of our friends to go on terrace and we can have coffee if we ask the waiter. But before we reach at the terrace, the landlady confronted them and asked them that they were not supposed to be there. It was ridiculous. I felt so embraced. If she has this policy, she should have asked me directly, not to my guests. They were too reluctant to visit me again and have to wait outside on next visit instead of coming in.

- Being Riad, no swiming pool, no fitness centre (but has hamma)

Positive

The only positive thing we find in the hotel is its décor. It is well decorated in traditional style and it impressed it.

I will never stay here again and not will recommend unless someone.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 598yahamatahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My family of 11 stayed at this riad in December 2012. We enjoyed our stay very much. The restoration of the facility was excellent and the sleeping rooms were just fine. The furnishings were charmingly old. We also had an excellent dinner, with good service, although we had difficulty in communicating in English with some of the staff. The staff was particularly good in dealing with the 5 youngest in our party (ages 7 to 13) who had just finished a long trip. The manager was most helpful and pleaseant. The local is excellent. We would all choose this riad for our next trip to Rabat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews