We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Nice, but bring earplugs just in case!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Dar El Kebira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Riad Dar El Kebira
Ranked #5 of 41 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Nice, but bring earplugs just in case!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

We stayed at Riad dar el Kebira for 3 nights in the Oudayas room and we had a pleasant stay. The staff were nice (although most didn't really speak English so brush up on your French/Arabic!) and the riad itself feels quite homely. Breakfast is also quite generous. The room was really big, as was the bathroom. The curtains also totally blacked out the room, which was great. However, the room smelt a bit musty and felt like it hadn't been used in a while (but we don't know if this was actually the case!). The only issues we had were the fact that the room was on the ground floor and therefore it got quite noisy at times. This wasn't much of a problem for us as we'd brought earplugs, which we'd recommend in case you get this room. The shower also didn't have hot water once but it came back on about an hour later and didn't happen again for the duration of our stay. The location is quite good and there are loads of signs in the medina and from the beach telling you how to get there.

Room Tip: Bring earplugs if you have the Oudayas room (which is on the ground floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sophia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

435 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    244
    123
    44
    16
    8
See reviews for
75
170
31
74
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

A perfect location in the heart of the medina just far enough inside to feel immersed but still easy enough to find. Beautiful surroundings with a traditional but luxurious feel and very accomodating and helpful staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

We stayed hotel for 3 nights but what I can say definitely it is not 5 star. I am a frequent traveller and never come across a 3 start place claiming to be 5 Star. Here are negatives

1. The place is in Narrow Street of madina and one cannot carry luggage via car or taxi. If taxi drops you at wrong end of the street (as happened to us) than, be ready to search for about quarter an hour. The location being just in Madina or among souk may not be ideal for everyone.
2. No telephone in the room. As we have to patch up with our local friends to go out together but felt great difficulty in communication. They tried to call hotel number but no one picked up. Same happened to us very next day when we tried to come back to hotel and lost our way, we called but no one picked up the phone. Have you ever heard about a hotel without telephone connection in the room and it is five star?
3. The room we stayed were too dark. I tried to read some book but could not continue more than one page and have to abandon my reading. There are lights but decorative and as room was small and no space to bed side, there was no table lamp.
4. The breakfast was too calculated and simple. We were laughing when the breakfast served. Just few tiny piece of strawberry, a small of yogurt, local bread with oil dipping (we did not like as too oily), tea and omelette. Do not think it is buffet as we see in five start hotels. On the last day we asked an extra piece of cake to the waiter but he never returned.
5. There is terrace but that is not for your guests. Being no restaurant in the Riad, you have to go out if you want to meet any of your friends. Not knowing this I asked three of our friends to go on terrace and we can have coffee if we ask the waiter. But before we reach at the terrace, the landlady confronted them and asked them that they were not supposed to be there. It was ridiculous. I felt so embraced. If she has this policy, she should have asked me directly, not to my guests. They were too reluctant to visit me again and have to wait outside on next visit instead of coming in.

- Being Riad, no swiming pool, no fitness centre (but has hamma)

Positive

The only positive thing we find in the hotel is its décor. It is well decorated in traditional style and it impressed it.

I will never stay here again and not will recommend unless someone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 598yahamatahir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My family of 11 stayed at this riad in December 2012. We enjoyed our stay very much. The restoration of the facility was excellent and the sleeping rooms were just fine. The furnishings were charmingly old. We also had an excellent dinner, with good service, although we had difficulty in communicating in English with some of the staff. The staff was particularly good in dealing with the 5 youngest in our party (ages 7 to 13) who had just finished a long trip. The manager was most helpful and pleaseant. The local is excellent. We would all choose this riad for our next trip to Rabat.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Potomac, Maryland
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

Tops the list for management with attitude, rooms with mildew, dirty showers, and high price.
It only took 5 phone calls from a local person and over an hour to get the Riad to send someone for help and direction. The rest you can imagine!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mr_M0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and stayed at Dar El Kebira in Rabat in May 2013. We LOVED it. The riad is located inside the Medina and is perfectly located for exploring the Kasbah and the souks. The restored building is beautiful, with courtyard replete with fountain, beautiful artwork, Morocco handpainted furniture, gorgeous wood doors. The room was small (European standard) but beautiful decorated. The owner and staff were wonderful, always finding ways to make your stay comfortable. Moroccan whiskey (mint tea) and sweets welcomed us upon arrival. I cannot find a single complaint. Highly recommended -- grade A in all respects. One of the two best places we stayed on our Moroccan trip, and with the location it was absolutely a delight.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

This Dar has been carefully restored, and shows great attention to period details. Some of the interiors are a bit too Berge Follies Roaring '80s for my taste, and cleaner decor could let the bones shine. Nevertheless, this is a handsome home, a fine place to stay in Rabat, well-located near the Souk and the Fort, and a stone's throw from a beach walk. The hotel is run by a great manager who truly understands how to be hospitable, and this makes the whole experience of checking in their very worthwhile indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that can let in light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bryna_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#4 of 41 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
0.2 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 41 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 bubbles 47 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
4.5 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#3 of 41 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#9 of 41 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Kebira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Kebira

Property: Riad Dar El Kebira
Address: Rue des Consuls - 1 Impasse Belghazi | Ferran Znaki, Rabat 1005, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rabat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#3 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#7 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar El Kebira 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar El Kebira is fully reinvented to receive guests in search of tranquillity and well-being in the purest Moroccan tradition. Every detail is designed to create a living space expressing luxury and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Prestigia, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Riad Dar El Kebira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar El Kebira Hotel Rabat
Dar El Kebira Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing