We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Travelers”
Review of Riad Dar El Kebira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Dar El Kebira
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My family of 11 stayed at this riad in December 2012. We enjoyed our stay very much. The restoration of the facility was excellent and the sleeping rooms were just fine. The furnishings were charmingly old. We also had an excellent dinner, with good service, although we had difficulty in communicating in English with some of the staff. The staff was particularly good in dealing with the 5 youngest in our party (ages 7 to 13) who had just finished a long trip. The manager was most helpful and pleaseant. The local is excellent. We would all choose this riad for our next trip to Rabat.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
There are newer reviews for Riad Dar El Kebira
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

208 - 214 of 498 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Tops the list for management with attitude, rooms with mildew, dirty showers, and high price.
It only took 5 phone calls from a local person and over an hour to get the Riad to send someone for help and direction. The rest you can imagine!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mr_M0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My wife and stayed at Dar El Kebira in Rabat in May 2013. We LOVED it. The riad is located inside the Medina and is perfectly located for exploring the Kasbah and the souks. The restored building is beautiful, with courtyard replete with fountain, beautiful artwork, Morocco handpainted furniture, gorgeous wood doors. The room was small (European standard) but beautiful decorated. The owner and staff were wonderful, always finding ways to make your stay comfortable. Moroccan whiskey (mint tea) and sweets welcomed us upon arrival. I cannot find a single complaint. Highly recommended -- grade A in all respects. One of the two best places we stayed on our Moroccan trip, and with the location it was absolutely a delight.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dukedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This Dar has been carefully restored, and shows great attention to period details. Some of the interiors are a bit too Berge Follies Roaring '80s for my taste, and cleaner decor could let the bones shine. Nevertheless, this is a handsome home, a fine place to stay in Rabat, well-located near the Souk and the Fort, and a stone's throw from a beach walk. The hotel is run by a great manager who truly understands how to be hospitable, and this makes the whole experience of checking in their very worthwhile indeed.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with windows that can let in light.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bryna_in_SF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2013

This is a charming place to stay in Rabat. There was good communication before arrival, and a car service from the Casablanca airport was arranged (though I was charged 10 Euros more than originally communicated). My first time in Morocco, and the Riad soon felt like home. The room where we stayed the first night had a musty smell, but for the next two nights we were given a larger and nicer room for the original, lower room price. Great breakfast area with simple breakfast and great service, with a view over the old city. The surroundings and decor are beautiful. Location is excellent. Amina speaks very good English and is super helpful.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Dar el Kebira had a service that was not too bad. The problem is that most of the staffs speak only French, so we had a hard time communicating, though the staff were kind so we ended up speaking in pictures. There seemed to be mood swings in the staff though. Sometimes they completely ignored our "hi"s. Breakfast was good, warm bread. Towels were old and unclean. The biggest problem, and the greatest thing we didn’t like about, is that our rooms were extremely small. We stayed in a deluxe room, the duplex orangers, which had an area of 24 meters squared. We have agreed to stay after we looked at the size of the room, and we understand that there were three other rooms of the same size. However the three others had one, flat, 24m2 room, while our room had a bedroom on top of the bathroom, so the whole thing felt as if it was 16m2. We understand this was a deal, but looking at other rooms it still doesn’t feel right. Because of all this we spent the two nights virtually unhappy. Our room was the only room in the floor that had two floors, and so this means two things. Either you put the second floor forcibly into what was supposed to only hold one floor, or there are secret rooms on the third floor of all the other spaces of the riad. Other than the room though, it was quite agreeable, but we won’t be so sure to return.

Room Tip: Duplex Orangers not recommended
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cyb3r13g0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Arrived to a warm welcome by manageress Amina. Stayed in the Orangers room, great character, bed situated up on a mezzanine. Simple but good breakfast served by charming staff. Amina was extremely helpful with directions and recommendations for restaurants, shops, etc. There are several signs to the riad which is just a short way into the medina off Rue des Consuls. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ljabec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#6 of 45 in Rabat
590 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
4.5 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#3 of 45 in Rabat
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel la Tour Hassan
Hotel la Tour Hassan
#8 of 45 in Rabat
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 45 in Rabat
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Kebira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Kebira

Address: Rue des Consuls - 1 Impasse Belghazi | Ferran Znaki, Rabat 1005, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rabat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#3 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#4 Best Value Hotel in Rabat
#4 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#7 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range: $125 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar El Kebira 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar El Kebira is fully reinvented to receive guests in search of tranquillity and well-being in the purest Moroccan tradition. Every detail is designed to create a living space expressing luxury and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Riad Dar El Kebira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar El Kebira Hotel Rabat
Dar El Kebira Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing