We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Exotic Charm” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Dar El Kebira

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Riad Dar El Kebira
Ranked #5 of 40 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Stuart, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Exotic Charm”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Truly charming hotel in the old city and a short walk to the Mediterranean Sea. Good food, friendly staff and Moroccan decor. Great location for walking, to the beach, historical buildings and the Medina filled with local color. You will not be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TWSJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

423 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    239
    118
    42
    16
    8
See reviews for
74
167
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Davis, California
Level Contributor
167 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We stayed at this beautifully riad for 1 night in October 2012. We had a room on the second floor (the only one without glass door). This room has two levels, when you enter the room there is a small living area with a single bed in front of you (this bed can be functioned as sofa), on the right is the entrance to the bathroom, which was not big but had sufficient space, water was hot and strong. On this level, there is a build-in mud table on the left side of bed and a closet beside it (see my pictures). There are deep steps leading to the second floor, where is the bedroom. It had a big firm bed, nightstands, lamps, TV and a small table ect. It has an open space so you can look down to the first floor (see my picture). WiFi was free and had good reception. The room had pretty traditional Moroccan decoration. It also provided a complementary fruit tray and 2 bottles of water.

The courtyard of this riad is very pretty. Breakfast was served on the roof top terrace, where one can have some city view. For breakfast, we had both western and Moroccan pancakes, bread, butter and verities of jams, juice, coffee and tea, as well as Moroccan yogurt – very tasty. Staffs were friendly and attentive, good service.

This riad is located in the medina, very close to the Kasbah Bab Oudaia. Coming out from riad, turn left and following the alley, 3 minutes late you are in the main alley, from there turn left again to reach the main street. The Bab Oudaia, Musee des Oudaia, andalusian Garden, El Alou cemetery and the Atlantic Ocean are few minutes away.

Highly recommend this riad if you like to stay in the old part of city.

Note:
Ask hotel, or when you booking, to give you a room in one level if you have problems with steps. I saw two other rooms on the 2nd floor are at one level.

The con in our room is, if you need to go to the bathroom at night, you have to go down and up these steep steps.

When you come out to the main alley, look at the sign for this riad, it is above the door of the entrance. Otherwise, it is very easy to get lost when you come back from the sightseeing or shopping.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneJ2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

Our trip start on 10/6/12 thru 10/15/12 and this riad was our first one.It was a very good start.Clean, friendly staff and beautiful in each corner.We had dinner here, delicious meal, with a very cozy enviroment and breakfast on the top of the roof.The mint tea and the orange juice in the morning were a "must".Very charming, quiet and elegant place.We loved everything.With the guide was easy to reach the Riad El Kebira but without it is trick because the Medina has small and narrow streets.We cannot thank enough the manager and all staff for the great service.Outside the Riad you find a street for shopping and because it is Rabat, the capital,it tends to be more expensive but very great merchandises. We high recommend this Riad and enjoy your trip. Marcia, Rosi & Pedro from Brazil.

Room Tip: The one in the back on the ground level . Quiet, private, perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marcia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elmira, New York
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

When in Rabat, don't miss the opportunity to stay in the medina in a charming, authentic, intimate dar. Rooms surround a center courtyard and are decorated in Moroccan style. Breakfast is served on the roof top terrace overlooking Rabat. The staff is attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ann b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2012

We stayed at this Riad from 20th to 24th September and this was the worst place we stayed at in Morocco. We were show to our room on the ground floor in the main Riad area without any natural light except borrowed light from the central court yard that was more like a lounge area. The room was small, very musty and old fashioned. We did know what to expect from a Riad but this was unacceptable, we asked for a transfer to a better room and so went to a room on the first floor this was like being in a museum and the smell wasn't any better. The cost was 139 Euro per night 1660 Dirham when I asked the exchange rate used I was told the rate didn't matter. Breakfast was disappointing and when we complained we were given two pieces of bread, two glasses of orange juice and a few more pancakes. We will not be going again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Margaret S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
81 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012

Whilst Riads can be hard to find without your guide they are amazing once you set foot in them.
We were met by the owner who offered Moroccan tea and biscuits, our guide sorted out the formalities.
We were then shown to our room, wonderful.
We had dinner there, delightful.
Breakfast was on the roof terrace.
Nothing was too much trouble.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I visited Morocco Rabat on July 8, 2012. I was their with my 2 daughters to attend Youth Cultural Festival 2012 in sale. My Morocco travelling plan was booked through American Express Travel Services Islamabad Pakistan. I instruct my agent to book 5 Star hotel with all 5 Star facilities for 10 Nights in Rabat Morocco. I paid for this Riad US $ 256 P/Night total US $ 2560 for 10 Nights for 1 Standrad Double + Extra Bed.

Before arriving to this hotel me and my 2 daughters were quite happy that as we will reach to our hotel and we will take a good relaxing quality time relax in our booked 5 Star hotel.
First it was very difficult to locate this hotel. When we contacted them they asked us to park our car on the main road and our representative will be their. We waited for 15 Mints and their representative came to us with a trolly to carry our laggage to the hotel. Time we reached Rabat it was 9 PM and I was not comfortable when they took me on a narrow dirty haunted streets to approach to this hotel, we walked 12 mints in those jigsaw Puzzle Haunted streets to reach to their hotel.

My both the daughters were afraid and grabbed my hands with fear. It was a totally chaos when we entered the hotel. I was shocked when i saw my suite room it was very narrow room and dirty. I didn't find any guest staying in their hotel. Basically it was not a hotel in an old small building they build a guest house with very small room. you dont find any facilities close to 1 star and they claim to be 5 stars.

My daughters started crying as this hotels appears to be Haunted House. After all the tiredness of my travel reaching Morocco and to this hotel i didn't stayed in this hotel and immediately i took my 2 daughters and checked in Hotel Golden Tulip Farah Rabat. This hotel is 4 star hotel but you will find all facilities of 5 star hotel and you will not believe they gave me huge spacious room facing beautiful river view for only US $ 136 P/Night.

Although i have paid for 10 nights to this hotel on second day i went to see Amina to discuss the matter and to take a note letter from here that i didn't stayed at her hotel. i found her very rude and trying to cheat on me. I had a little argument with her and i left her hotel because they are just greedy people and have no respect for their guest. Only they are doing Fraud Business by giving falls updates on website.

On my Return back to my country i made a suit Law case in High Court against American Express Travel Services In Islamabad Pakistan to claim my Full Refund against this Fraud cheater hotel payment i made to them.

So Dear Traveller Dont Visit to this hotel. it will be a total Chaos and you will be mugged.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ehaab786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
moulay27, Propriétaire at Riad Dar El Kebira, responded to this review, September 20, 2012
Dear Madam,
I found your comment little excessive and not honest. As our name mentions, we are a Riad (traditionnel moroccan guest house) and not a Hotel. However, we are a luxurious Riad, the best in town.
If you requested and wanted to stay in a modern hotel (which i understand), you should have told this to your travel agency. We are not accountable for you having make the wrong choice. The least you could do, is to check through internet the place you have booked!
One last thing, Riads are all located in the Medina and to get access to it, you need to walk through narrow streets. This is morocco!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
0.1 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#4 of 40 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 517 reviews
4.5 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#3 of 40 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
0.2 mi away
Dar Zouhour
Dar Zouhour
#10 of 40 in Rabat
4.5 of 5 stars 212 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 40 in Rabat
5.0 of 5 stars 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Kebira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Kebira

Property: Riad Dar El Kebira
Address: Rue des Consuls - 1 Impasse Belghazi | Ferran Znaki, Rabat 1005, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rabat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#3 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#7 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar El Kebira 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar El Kebira is fully reinvented to receive guests in search of tranquillity and well-being in the purest Moroccan tradition. Every detail is designed to create a living space expressing luxury and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Prestigia, HotelTravel.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Dar El Kebira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar El Kebira Hotel Rabat
Dar El Kebira Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing