We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced”
Review of Riad Dar El Kebira

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Riad Dar El Kebira
Ranked #5 of 45 Hotels in Rabat
Certificate of Excellence
Bolton
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Over priced”
Reviewed April 24, 2012

We stayed in this riad for 2 nights. Our room was beautiful - very spacious and we felt like we were Moroccan royalty! The room was expensive but as it is in the capital city not really surprising. The staff were friendly but not as personable or attentive as the staff on other riads we stayed in during our tour of Morocco. The main issue we had was the price and quality of the food. We had dinner the first night we arrived and the portions were tiny and we left still feeling hungry. They also didn't have the dessert we wanted and instead gave us the yoghurt used for breakfast with no reduction in the price, so felt the 280 dirhams per person completely unjustified. The breakfasts are ok, no variety - it was basically just bread and lukewarm coffee.

The riad itself is ok, the room amazing but the food and impersonable staff left us feeling shortchanged.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kim2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

494 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    281
    140
    48
    17
    8
See reviews for
86
190
36
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2012

Spent a week here in the middle of March while working in Rabat. Stayed in the Pinede suite which was terrific. My co-worker stayed in the Souissi suite, The breakfast on the roof top patio was wonderful. The service was very accomodating but not over the top which was the way I like it. It was so quiet in the Riad that if there was a noise it was surprising. The Souissi suite has windows which face the street and apparently you can hear the call to prayers at 5:30 am but I heard nothing in the Pinede suite. The only minor complaint I have was that the claw foot tub was a little difficult to get into and out of if you don;t have long legs and a stool might make things a little easier. As an FYI, if you do stay here they can srrange to have a taxi meet you at Rabat airport, drive you to the edge of the medina and then walk you and your luggage in to the Riad. I beleive the cost was 250 dirham

Room Tip: The Pinede Suite is quiter than the Souissi suite but I beleive the Souissi suite might be a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pistolpjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Beautiful restored Dar with traditional rooms (don't expect large rooms - just enough room to squeeze either side of the bed) and very clean. As we arrived tired and late we ate there - very expensive for what we got. In fact the most expensive for food of all the places we stayed in during 8 days in Morocco.But couldn't fault the staff or the place. Would stay there again and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dadyha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delray Beach, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2012

Welcomed with mint tea .. lovely place .. gorgeous bathroom .. nice location in the medina with a great leather shop nearby which should definitely be checked out!!
Couldn't connect on the internet though.
We were only there for one night.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank reginaecohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 21, 2012

Beautiful traditional rooms, great staff and convenient location. Strongly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghassan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Hidden in the center of the Medina of Rabat we found a jewel: Fantastic warm atmosphere, typical morrocan style designed with love for the detail, very friendly and supportive service team. Breakfast is served on the roof top of the hotel with a nice view over the roofs of the old medina of Rabat. Dinner is served in the small restaurant on the first floor, the open fire place and the typical morrocan style decoration creates a warm atmosphere, good food and wines. Overall a really excellent and unforgettable experience! Many thanks!
Christoph & Maria

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christoph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed February 15, 2012

This is a wonderful place to stay -- in the medina but not so deep in that you can't dash out for a taxi, and a short walk from the water and the Oudaya Casbah. I recently spent four nights there on my own and found the staff welcoming and super helpful but not suffocating. Breakfast was fresh, delicious and way more than I could eat. Beyond all the ornate touches you expect in a high-end riad, the room featured comforts like an immense tub, luxurious towels and robe. They've really got their act together here; aside from being breathtakingly beautiful the place just functions really well; I will go back, definitely.

Room Tip: I don't think you can go wrong with any of them.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Rabat hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Kalaa
Riad Kalaa
#4 of 45 in Rabat
586 reviews
2.6 mi away
Sofitel Rabat Jardin des Roses
4.5 mi away
Villa Mandarine
Villa Mandarine
#1 of 45 in Rabat
362 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Le Diwan Rabat - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Hotel la Tour Hassan
Hotel la Tour Hassan
#8 of 45 in Rabat
408 reviews
0.2 mi away
Euphoriad
Euphoriad
#7 of 45 in Rabat
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Dar El Kebira? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Dar El Kebira

Property: Riad Dar El Kebira
Address: Rue des Consuls - 1 Impasse Belghazi | Ferran Znaki, Rabat 1005, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Rabat-Sale-Zemmour-Zaer Region > Rabat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Rabat
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Rabat
#3 Romantic Hotel in Rabat
#3 Spa Hotel in Rabat
#5 Luxury Hotel in Rabat
#7 Business Hotel in Rabat
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Riad Dar El Kebira 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Dar El Kebira is fully reinvented to receive guests in search of tranquillity and well-being in the purest Moroccan tradition. Every detail is designed to create a living space expressing luxury and refinement. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Riad Dar El Kebira reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Dar El Kebira Hotel Rabat
Dar El Kebira Rabat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing