We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful Riad Safir in Wonderful Meknes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Riad Safir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Safir
Ranked #11 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Delightful Riad Safir in Wonderful Meknes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Firstly, Meknes is a destination where it is well worth spending a few nights. It deserves more than a day trip visit from Fez.

You can't go wrong with staying at the Riad Safir in Meknes. Our hosts, a charming French couple, Chantelle and Phillipe, were very accommodating, friendly and helpful. The other staff we came into contact with such as Nourma and Doudou where equally charming.

There are two-halves to the Riad - both have 3 rooms each. One half is more traditional but beautifully decorated with warm creams and oranges, whereas the other half is modern-Moroccan sophistication of warm greys and creams with red accents. The furnishings are high quality and very comfortable.

We stayed in the modern half of the Riad. Our room on the first floor was spacious, luxurious (for the price bracket), extremely clean and very comfortable. There is a wonderful rooftop terrace and a central courtyard lounge where breakfast is served. They also have a massage room on the rooftop - they engage a local masseuse to provide massages (300 Dirham for 45 minutes).

Riad Safir is located in the Medina and only a few minutes walk to the Place el-Hedim (main square) where you'll find the Dar Jamai Museum and plenty of street cafes for lunch / dinner - although sadly they all serve the same rather bland Moroccan menu.

Room for improvement: whilst the breakfast is ample and nicely presented - perhaps toasted bread could be offered as a choice instead of fresh bread and some fresh fruit to accompany the yoghurt would top it all off very nicely.

Riad Safir is a great place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingAngel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clothy, Propriétaire at Riad Safir, responded to this review, November 17, 2013
Google Translation
Chers invités,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de publier un si élogieux avis sur TripAdvisor suite à votre séjour au Riad Safir.

Nous attachons beaucoup d’importance à vos chaleureux éloges et c’est avec plaisir que nous les avons partagés avec l’ensemble des filles ayant contribué au succès de ces moments passés en votre compagnie.

Nous prenons également note de vos suggestions qui sont les bienvenues.

Nous vous souhaitons un bon retour à Sydney.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    139
    20
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
34
78
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
HK
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2013

Stayed there in mid September. Due to last minute change in my itinerary, I didn't manage to have a proper booking before arriving.
However the staff were extremely helpful even though they spoke very little English. The room was very cosy and tastefully decorated, with an old Morocca style door and very high ceiling. ( I believe I was in the old section of the Riad?).
Made my stay a very pleasant and relaxing one after the huzz and buzz around the medina!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JasYin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2013

We visited Riad Safir, Meknes at the beginning of October. We had a lovely, big, comfortable room decorated in the traditional Moroccan style. The whole riad has been beautifully restored. The roof terrace is extensive and you can find seating in the sun or shade all through the day. The staff were so friendly and helpful. We had our evening meal in the riad on two nights and the food was freshly cooked and very tasty. The riad is well located for access to the medina.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PatDuckworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gent; belgium
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

-small and cheap bathroom was a big contrast compared to the room Merzouga itself.
-service :breakfast was served before we arrived.eggs were cold,
-the new part is not cosy.predominantly painted in grey in such a colourful country

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank olivierds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

Spent 3 days here with the lovely Chantale and her staff. Riad was spotless, food was good, owner very helpful. It's obvious that a lot of love and care has gone in the renovation of 2 old houses into the tastefully decorated Riad which has resulted. What a roof terrace - multi level with wonderful views. Nothing was too much trouble and every request was fulfilled. There was lots of smiling and laughter here too. Merci Chantale for a lovely stay, and especially for your own personal tour of the Medina on our last night there. We shall treasure the memories and photos. By the way the WiFi DOES work very efficiently, but only in the downstairs public area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

Riad Safir is everything you could want, great location in the medina, beautifully decorated, lovely food and very happy, helpful and attentive owner (Chantal) and staff. The rooftop terrace is delightful and inside it is cool and tres chic.
Phil and Anne Smith UK.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarineLifeDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
78 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2013

We spent 3 nights here - the accommodation was chosen by American friends who were were meeting in Morocco, and we were delighted with their choice. It is very central - moments from all the action - and if you ask your taxi driver to take you to the Meknes museum the entrance to the Souk - and the route to the well signed Riad - is directly opposite.
I have read recent reviews and wonder if I went to the same place! It is beautiful inside - actually 2 linked riads either side of a passsageway, one more modern than the other with styles to match. One very chic and french - like Chantal the owner! - and the other where we stayed more typically moroccan and colourful. Rooms were comfortable -air con is standard, and our pillows were very comfortable, please note previous reviewer, and the en-suite was fine, although the taps were a bit leaky.
Chantal speaks no english, but was a total delight and nothing was too much trouble - she was a fount of advice on what to do and see, and she arranged a fabulous lunch al fresco for us near Volubolis - a real must see place.
The support staff were also terrific - Nora speaks excellent english, and Dou Dou and Af-Af were a real laugh. We had lovely breakfasts, sometimes on the great roof terrace [what is better than drinking excellent coffee and watching storks fly overhead in a clear warm blue sky?] and ate dinner one evening - we left the choice to the boss and had some delicious home cooking that you would not find in any local restaurant. You can bring and enjoy your own wine, but Medina rules say that riads may not be sell alcohol.
you will find cheaper riads, but I don't think you will find better.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank scottydoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#3 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#4 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#35 of 43 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Felloussia
Riad Felloussia
#15 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Safir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safir

Property: Riad Safir
Address: 1 Derb Lalla Alamia | Meknes, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located at the entrance to the medina of Meknes, 150 m from the famous Bab Mansour. We welcome you in a frame or the zen is the slogan of the owners and staff. The panoramic terraces allow you to enjoy an exceptional overview of the medina, take your breakfast and relax you at any time of the day after your individual visits to our beautiful city and its surroundings. 6 rooms, all air conditioned and equipped with a private bathroom will be your cocoon during your stay. 2 interior patios, indoor pool, massage room reflect the oriental wellness. Dinner, our cook will cook you elaborate meals with fresh ingredients bought on the same day and can make you share his passion spices. Our more: we are not a restaurant, only our residents can share these moments of conviviality. Riad Safir is classified charming house in Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad Safir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing