We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exquisite riad”
Review of Riad Safir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Safir
Ranked #12 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 7, 2012

We spent three nights in this beautifully decorated riad. The hotel actually consists of two interconnecting riads decorated in two different styles (old and new). Our suite, Merzouga, was full of interesting artefacts and a very peaceful place to stay. The main thing however was the two Moroccan ladies who staffed the place. They really could not do enough to help us and went above and beyond the call of duty on every occasion. We had a fantastic time here and would not hesistate to recommend it.

The riad is also well located in the medina, easy to find and close to the things you might want to see yet tucked away down a quiet side street.

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (173)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

37 - 43 of 173 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2012

Doudou and Nora take great care of all your needs while staying at this Riad. Rooms are nice and clean, maybe just a little cold in the winter but a radiator does the job and the warmth of the staff and rheur good aenae of humour make you feel at home. The staff is extremely helpful - if I'll go back I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2011

Lovely experience. The owners were away but the staff were very efficient, warm and happy. Two houses restored in quite different styles with a connecting passage upstairs. We stayed in the traditional side which was very pretty. Bathrooms are curtained rather than door. Independent heating/ac which was great. Clean and confortable. Plumbing worked. Open areas are spacious and great to relax in. Roof terrace is large and fun. Dinner was simple but good and good value. No alcohol. We only stayed a night so could not compare to alternatives. The three ladies who looked after us could not have been nicer. When they realized my wife is vegetarian they offered go out and buy some eggs. The Riad was full but did not feel crowded or noisy. Made us want to come back and spend more time in Meknes

Room Tip: We stayed in Saffron. Lovely, orange. We wanted to try the newer house for a different style. Pee...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1anon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

We went there without knowing much what to expect. We were absolutely delighted: very well placed (300 m from the main place), riad with a great atmosphere & a great decoration, well furnished rooms, owners very useful always ready to help and very nice, great place to eat as well with great cookers!
Well I can only recommend, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cristof2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

This Riad is conveniently located near the main square in Meknes. The owners were gone during my stay but the mangers were friendly. The rooms are very comfortable and clean.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherrieS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2011

This is two very attractive restored houses connected at first floor and roof terrace levels. Both have the traditional layout with rooms around a central court. One has traditional decor, the other very contemporary. We had a room in the contemporary part with very comfortable double bed, a single bed, sofa and ensuite shower. Chantal and her colleagues were very friendly and attentive and cooking excellent (both breakfast on the terrace and dinner downstairs). Location is good: it is in the Medina, very central for the old city, but only a short, well signposted walk from a gate where the taxi dropped us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BBW90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2011

We loved Riad Safir. From my first email asking about availability, Riad Safir could not have been better. Booking and payment were easy. We arrived much later in the evening than expected, and without 1/3 of our party (airline problems), but Riad Safir's staff were flexible and helpful with our fluctuating plans. Upon our late-night arrival we told the staff that we needed to find dinner (our first night in Morocco) and they helpfully listened to our request, walked us to a restaurant still serving at that time, and even helped us figure out what to order (being our first night we hadn't yet settled in to the French language menus, food offerings, etc.). Our rooms were very well decorated, comfortable and exceptionally clean. We enjoyed the free wireless internet and loved breakfast on the roof terrace (with a great view of Meknes) -- traditional moroccan breads, cheese, orange juice and more. The Riad is beautiful with a great balance between traditional moroccan and modern. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this riad for any trip to Meknes or Volibulis!

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jel2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.1 mi away
Ryad Bahia
Ryad Bahia
#5 of 43 in Meknes
311 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#1 of 43 in Meknes
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
279 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#7 of 43 in Meknes
707 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Benchekroun
Riad Benchekroun
#9 of 43 in Meknes
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Safir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safir

Address: 1 Derb Lalla Alamia | Meknes, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range: $53 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located at the entrance to the medina of Meknes, 150 m from the famous Bab Mansour. We welcome you in a frame or the zen is the slogan of the owners and staff. The panoramic terraces allow you to enjoy an exceptional overview of the medina, take your breakfast and relax you at any time of the day after your individual visits to our beautiful city and its surroundings. 6 rooms, all air conditioned and equipped with a private bathroom will be your cocoon during your stay. 2 interior patios, indoor pool, massage room reflect the oriental wellness. Dinner, our cook will cook you elaborate meals with fresh ingredients bought on the same day and can make you share his passion spices. Our more: we are not a restaurant, only our residents can share these moments of conviviality. Riad Safir is classified charming house in Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad Safir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing