We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“exquisitely decoration not matched by service”
Review of Riad Safir

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad Safir
Ranked #11 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Manhattan, NY
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“exquisitely decoration not matched by service”
Reviewed March 15, 2011

On the plus size, everything on this site about the decor is accurate. The riad has been decorated exquisitely and was a joy to see. Perhaps because the owner was absent, or because we were in the modern wing away from the office and kitchen - and/or were the only ones on that side of the Riad, no one was around to give us help or answer questions, for instance about how to make the heater work on a very chilly night. On the other hand, when we asked for help, the three staff who were present (we never figured out who the manager was) were cheerful and accomodating. We would have appreciated more information and help, about the riad's functioning and about Meknes. If you stay here, request the modern wing. Our room had a leaky sink which made the room very dank, although it was repaired when we complained. Also, breakfast was a bit stingy, with small glasses of OJ and a yogurt container generally the size given to children, and margarine was served in place of butter.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank olzybots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    20
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
35
78
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
258 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2011

My friends and I spent a night here during a tour of Morocco and it is my favorite riad of all we visited. The rooms are not large but they are comfortable and tastefully decorated. There are two sides to the riad with one being distinctly modern and the other has an ancient Kasbah feel. The bath was stylish with good water pressure and plenty of hot water. Yes, there are steep stairs to climb for some rooms but the prize at the top is a lovely respite. Fatama, the housekeeper, was very nice and provided for our every wish.

The Riad is located in a back alley but I thought that added to the mystery of it and the alley was clean and adequately lit at night. My friends and I, all ladies, felt no measure of concern for our safety when traveling through these small alleyways and paths. Everyone we met was friendly and respectful. I would not hesitate to recommend Riad Safir and would enjoy going back myself for a much longer stay.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nana_JP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
switzerland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 31, 2010

we totally loved riad safir: lovely and very helpful staff, beautifully decorated, great location / very easy access, great rooftop terrace with great view, delicious food...a absolutely great place to stay in meknes!

merci chantal, dedou et les filles!

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rosechris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2010

After about 8 riads/hotels, I give Riad Safir my top vote. And it will be extraordinarily hard to beat.
The riad comprises two adjacent houses which have been connected. The original house is decorated in more traditional Moroccan style with deep hues of red, ocre, and yellow. The more recent renovation is in cool shades of lime green, grey, and white. Throughout, the taste applied is, in my view, impeccable.
The rooms, all inward facing and so quiet and cool, are very well equipped, clean, and with everything functioning as it should. The water is hot, the beds comfortable, and the reverse cycle airconditioning works exactly as it should.
The ensuite bathrooms are equipped with modern fixtures and show touches of real care by French owners who live close by and can maintain constant attention to detail.
The owner I met, Chantal, is totally charming, dedicated to the riad and her guests and a real lover of Meknes. You know a proprietor who cares when they suggest a first evening walk through the medina just to acquaint you,and this involves visiting the artisan workshops of several of the people who helped her renovate (and with no sales in view at all - simply to transmit the character of Meknes as effectively as possible).
The other staff are all of long standing and totally charming - offering tea (mint or unconventionally chilled), dates, coffee through the day. The breakfast is at a good Moroccan level on the terrace if it is warm, where there is a real Arabian Nights feel. And as a bonus, an elevated balcony with views to die for over Meknes and its walls.
The riad location is very close to the large square in the medina and very easy to reach. Reflecting the thoughtfulness of the owners, the website provides detailed directions to reach the riad.
Finally, Meknes has none of the tourist hussle of Marrakesh, nor the rather staid formality of Fez. But the medina has local life and an absence of interest in tourists which is at once both refreshing and captivating.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2010

Raid Safir is a gem in Meknes, lovingly restored by Chantal; it is truly exceptional. One side is modern rooms but we stayed in the charming traditional side. Breakfast on the terrace was lovely and we enjoyed our three nights in Meknes.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lisaniverrajna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2010

My best friend and I find ourselves lucky to have landed in this Magnificent Riad Safir. Owner Chantal 's genuine and loving nature has led her to be very positive and has confirmed my booking by emails without asking for a deposit ! I am also grateful for the no hassle phone call to her about my arrival and personalised pick up by her husband Phillipe. The Riad has 2 seperate house with different and distinctly tasteful design !Some reviews that the room are small , I don't find that a problem at all . The coziness is precisely the charm of an old restored quarter!!If you appreciate excellent hospitality, charming staff and most importantly beauty ....riad safir is a true gem !!!!! Love from Singapore....

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank natureee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
156 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 185 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2010

This is a find for anyone looking for a classy riad which has been decorated with taste and charm by the hostess, Chantal. The price is a little on the expensive side, but you do get good value. The hostess is warm and very accomodating to your every wish. One feels that one is staying at a friend´s house. The upper terrasse overlooks the medina of Meknes with billowing lettuce-green curtains. Chantal with help you plan the next leg of your trip or advise you on purchases.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kits0u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#1 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 568 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#33 of 43 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 92 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#8 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#3 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 146 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#2 of 43 in Meknes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Safir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Safir

Property: Riad Safir
Address: 1 Derb Lalla Alamia | Meknes, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our guest house is located at the entrance to the medina of Meknes, 150 m from the famous Bab Mansour. We welcome you in a frame or the zen is the slogan of the owners and staff. The panoramic terraces allow you to enjoy an exceptional overview of the medina, take your breakfast and relax you at any time of the day after your individual visits to our beautiful city and its surroundings. 6 rooms, all air conditioned and equipped with a private bathroom will be your cocoon during your stay. 2 interior patios, indoor pool, massage room reflect the oriental wellness. Dinner, our cook will cook you elaborate meals with fresh ingredients bought on the same day and can make you share his passion spices. Our more: we are not a restaurant, only our residents can share these moments of conviviality. Riad Safir is classified charming house in Morocco. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Riad Safir reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing