We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great riad worth its price”
Review of Riad d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad d'Or
Ranked #8 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 18, 2013

This place was recomended to us by an american couple in fez. We didn't realy believed till we got here. This is like from Ali Baba movie, exotic and enchanted. We arrived today morning and couldn`t believed our eyes. The terrace on the roof has several levels and the swimming pool (it's winter so it's closed) but i can imagine how great it is here in the summer. The breakfast is served on the terrace. This is a place to be. You mustn`t miss it.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laothoe82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (697)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

95 - 101 of 697 reviews

Reviewed December 14, 2012

I wish there was a rating between "average" and "very good" - wouldn't "good" be a helpful rating on tripadvisor? And that's where, in the end, I would rate Riad d'Or.

I wish I could give Riad d'Or a rating of "excellent", because there are so many wonderful things about it, the first being the staff, who were so warm and delightful. The other big plus is the building itself - or buildings, I should say - which are spectacular, especially the older part of the riad. It was almost absurd to to be shown into our amazing room off a palatial courtyard similar to those showcased in the museums we'd been visiting in the last couple of weeks; we were grinning foolishly, unable to believe our good luck. The location is also excellent, not far from the main square, and within walking distance of almost everything you'll want to see in Meknes, including the souks (which are really worth visiting). We also had a nice massage arranged for us in the riad's hammam, at short notice and quite late at night, which was an excellent price and lovely right before bed. AND the food in the restaurant (which I think is quite new) was outstanding. The restaurant is a lovely space with an open fire, the Moroccan salads the were best we had on our trip, and the pastilla was delicious.

But (and I hate to say there were buts): emails I sent went unanswered, including a request for a map with directions to the riad, which they thought they had sent me but had not (fortunately it's well signposted if you know where to start looking for the signs). We weren't given the room we specifically requested, though we loved our room and were happy to stay there (I would have said something if we hadn't been pleased with it, but as it was didn't mention it to the staff, which I suppose didn't give them the opportunity to offer to move us to our requested room). There was a slightly funny smell in the lower part of the riad, where our room was. There was a heater in our room, but it didn't make much difference in the palatial space on a chilly December night. We had trouble getting the hot water to work - but the staff took action when we told them, and the next night it was deliciously hot and plentiful (we chose our Moroccan hotel rooms based on the size of their baths, but most of them didn't have the hot water capacity to fill these lovely baths they'd installed; Riad d'Or did).

So this is why Riad d'Or doesn't get five stars from us. Some elements of our stay deserved five stars, and others much lower. I feel genuinely torn about this, because I loved the staff and don't want this to reflect on them in any way, but I do want other travellers to know what to expect. I would recommend this as a place to stay, as long as you're ready for some of the trickier aspects. That said, the price is very reasonable - far, far cheaper than the building itself merits - and I think that reflects some of the rough-around-the-edges qualities of the experience.

Just glancing back over the other reviews: one of them mentions the strange review another guest left, complaining of the rude and unconcerned nature of the breakfast service, and defends the woman who serves breakfast - I want to stand up for her as well. She was the loveliest of all the lovely people we met in riads in Morocco, so friendly and warm (she also served us when we ate dinner at the riad). We loved her.

If you're looking for the riad from the main square, Place Hadim (or Ladim, or some other version of the name, we encountered a few): stand with your back to the Bab Mansour (the big beautiful gate). Head to the back right hand corner of the square; there's a pathway behind tables set out for a cafe, with an archway leading to the streets of the medina. Riad d'Or is signposted from there (basically, follow the street leading off the square until you reach the library of the grand mosque, then turn right, then turn left when you see a sign for Riad d'Or). The riad is also signposted from Rue Dar Smen - our taxi driver knew where to drop us when we came from the train station. Coming from the square: with Bab Mansour in front of you, turn left down the busy street, walking past a number of cafes with tables out on the pavement. Look for the sign (on the left side of the street) announcing Riad d'Or - head down this street, following signs for the riad, until you find it. Like all medina riads, it's obvious once you've found it (which isn't at all helpful when you're first looking!).

Oh, Riad d'Or, we want to unreservedly love you, we really do. We wish you all the very best, and we hope to see you again.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Almohade suite - the photos on the website really don't do it justice. It's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pontiuspony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stylish rooms are spread throughout 3 linked ancient buildings, each with its own character. Great multi-level terrace with panoramic views. There are so many details in the fitting-out of the whole hotel, the common rooms and even simply in the corridor, its overwhelmingly stunning! They have an enormously spacious roof terrace with a pool and many different seating-areas, everything incredibly pretty. The riad is very well located and really clean. A peaceful location within a busy medina. The staff is outstanding in friendliness and service. The breakfast is great, everything is fresh, really tasty and they offer a big, authentic selection of different deliciousnesses. The best and most extensive breakfast we ever had in Marocco.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Raw_Desert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Our party stayed only one night in the Riad d'Or, late October 2012. My wife and I were accompanied by a younger friend and her 2-year-old daughter (both residents of Chefchaouen). This is a large and most interesting riad, and the rooms come in varied flavours. My wife and I had a very nice room with the best shower fixtures encountered in the country, opening onto an absolutely stunning room shared in common with 2 other bedroom suites. Breakfast was very nice. Before I left the riad, the lady who is in charge of breakfast befriended me, and then asked me to interpret for her the 2-star review recently left by a disgruntled customer who complained that people on the breakfast service were very rude and unconcerned. She was quite troubled by the review, for she felt it could only be referring to her service, in which she prided herself. She was unable to recognize herself in the review and I would have to concord. For our part, we found the people on the breakfast service very friendly and very kind, ready to go out of their way to accommodate our special needs vis-a-vis the child. I assured her I would leave a review to rebut the bad impression another traveller left with. However, I cannot give the ownership such high praise. It seems that the riad is jointly owned by a Moroccan and an Italian fellow. The room which our friend and her child was assigned was quite dreadful, for there was a very strong stench in her room, apparently caused by some sort of drainage problem. She asked to be given another room, and was given only one option (because it was an economy room) which was on the top floor, up a very narrow and steep stairway which I feel would have been very difficult if not outright dangerous for an inquisitive 2-year-old to try to negotiate. When it was pointed out that there were several suitable rooms easily accessible that were empty for the night, the owner adamantly refused to allow her to have one of them because of the price differential. As the conversation became more heated, the owner requested she leave the riad, and our friend said sure, but please refund my money, which the owner likewise adamantly refused to do. All in all, a very unpleasant situation. In the end, she stayed in her small room with the horrific stench and suffered the night through. Otherwise, the management was friendly and helpful, and I would recommend this place for its interest and beauty (it was constructed in 1672), but be mindful there might be some problems with bull-headed and greedy ownership.

Room Tip: Beware of the economy rooms, especially the one on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Antonkai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

Meknes was our first stop in Morocco after a long flight, and Riad d'Or was a home away from home. Yes, it is tucked in within the labyrinth of the Medina and the walk towards it makes you wonder "what did I get myself into", but once you're inside, all those fears dissipates.
The hosts were very nice, our room was lovely and the building beautiful. We stayed in the "main" building, just above the reception area - Idrisse, if I'm not mistaken. Large room with its own fireplace, although we didn't need to use it. The shower do not have a door, but is a hidden alcove. So if you're traveling with someone that you're not very close to, maybe ask them for a room with a shower door. I was traveling with my sister and we made our own "arrangements".
The view from the rooftop is nice. There's also a lounge area, which we didn't try. Breakfast consist of a variety of pastries, coffee and orange juice. Not extensive but sufficient.
It is very near the main square (about 5mins walk), but far enough from the noise.
A great introduction to our 2 weeks trip in Morocco

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kakijalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The location right in the medina is perfect. The room was very nice even though the room was tricky to find. The hotel is spread out over more than one building. Our shortcut to the room was through the restaurant... and it worked perfectly.
Breakfast is served on a sunny terrace overlooking the old town of Meknes. One story higher there is even a better view, perfect for pictures.
If coming back to Meknes, I will defenitely return !!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank arnsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

- Water did not flush away at all.
- No tour through the medina
- Breakfast: people very impolite, not willing to help, we did not feel welcome ( talking loud all the time in the back office, ladies very impolite)

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Floris1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
392 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#1 of 43 in Meknes
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#3 of 43 in Meknes
587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#36 of 43 in Meknes
99 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Felloussia
Riad Felloussia
#14 of 43 in Meknes
161 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad d'Or

Address: 17 Rue Ain El Anboub et Rue Lalla Aicha Adouia, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range: $42 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad in the old Medina of Meknes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Riad d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing