We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional”
Review of Riad d'Or

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad d'Or
Ranked #8 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Since my last visit in 2010, they've expanded the Riad. It's now twice as big, and there's a wider selection of rooms. The new rooms are all named after Moroccan cities, and represent their character. The best addition is a big restaurant on the terrace, where you have a wonderful view of Meknes (medina and ville nouvelle).
The owners live in the Riad, which is a good thing because it means they constantly check on the staff and are able to help with whatever request you might have. (for example, I am a picky eater and they made special arrangements to provide me with a vegan breakfast every morning.) I have to say though, that the breakfast is very good. It's definitely a rare thing to get a good breakfast in moroccan Riads, but Riad d'Or is an exception. If you stay few nights, they change it so you get a variety of different things, and they keep the food coming till you're done.
There's also a nice pool on the terrace which was so nice in the hot weather.
Still a great place, and my only reccommendation in Meknes.

Room Tip: Sultan is great if you're travelling as two friends. It's like two rooms within one, total p...
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank teloive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (694)
There are newer reviews for Riad d'Or
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

116 - 122 of 694 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2012

This was our first Riad stay in Marocco and it was unforgivable. The owners came to pick us up in the middle of the night at the station and loaded our 3 year old son on their shoulders, the ladies in the kitchen ran after us to wave us farewell when we left. The place is like being in a museum, all beautifully restored, it's a maze of little rooms and corridors and every room is different. The breakfast in the roof terrace was so fresh and tasty. We saw more beautiful cities in Marocco than Meknes, but this Riad got a place in our hearts.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicoletta S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2012

The Riad D'Or is a smallish hotel. It is built from four or five riads, cobbled together and renovated with flair and style in the heart of the Meknes Medina. The proprietor is Italian and lives in Italy, the staff are kind and numerous, and the rooms are individually decorated.

The roof terrace for breakfast, when you can find it, has perhaps 30 tables, so I suppose they have about 30 rooms.

There are tight stairs everywhere and we got lost both going to breakfast and coming back.
It was quite a trek even when we knew the way.

If you're looking for more of a hotel experience and have no problem with stairs or your sense of direction, this is a very good buy.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JaneStockholm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

Riad d'Or is always my top pick for a place to stay when passing through Meknes. Not only is the Riad located in the Medina just a few blocks away from Place Hedim but it's located in a very safe place in the Medina as well. You can't say that about every hotel. The Medina is well-lit here all the way to the Riad's front door and you press a doorbell to be let in by the attentive staff after hours. Late-night vendors and pharmacies nearby are open late into the night (or, at least, I've never seen them closed, even when I've come back in at 2 in the morning) and you can always find a petit taxi on the streets nearby if you need to get somewhere in a hurry. The proximity to Moulay Idriss' palace and to caleche rides is great if you have some guests in town that you'd like to show around. Walking down into the new city also takes only 20 minutes or so and there are banks and electronics shops nearby.

As for the rooms, the Riad did a great job renovating and every room has a very specific character. I think Pacha is my favourite suite because the bathroom has a skylight that opens right onto the roof and the multiple tiers of rooms provide some interior windows down into the courtyard. Little birds like to get into this courtyard during the day and I love sleeping with the windows open here. I think the djellabas draped over the beds are a nice touch and have certainly attracted more than one tourist in the past. The staff will deliver you hot tea and dates to your room upon request and the heaters are all manual so you can adjust the temperature to your liking. I have also been impressed by the showers at the Riad each and every time given that I've stayed in some really terrible hotels in Morocco where you only get hot water for an hour a day, if that. The Riad's showers are hot and the amenities are amazing.

When the Riad is quiet you can also negotiate the price with the hotel staff, something that I've been lucky enough to do on a number of occasions... The Riad staff is of excellent humor and swift attention to detail. This is my favorite hotel in Morocco.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mayyim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

This riad was clean, the room totally adequate and bathroom amenities excellent. The staff will bend overbackward to help, they are that kind. They will arrange for taxismto pick you up from the train station if you ask them. They will also arrange for tour guides, etc. It is a riad all in steps and levels, however, not made for people with mobility issues... Finally, it is easy to find in the medina. I would definitely come back. BTW, we had none of the paint smells, doors not locking, or other disagreements indicated in other posts.

Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Metravellingagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2012

Based on the recommendations from other travelers and on this site we decided to stay in this riad. After all we were a bit disappointed. First, the good news: The room was clean, the staff helpful, and the rooftop terrace is nice. The bad news however is the riad has recently expanded and the new part, like the breakfast area and our room, lacks character. A pity also, that the lock of room didn't work properly and that the bed is so close to the door that door can't be opened completely.
i hope it will be better in a few months when the smell of fresh tadelact will have left the room and all the construction works (dust, noise) are finished.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank k v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2012

Travelling from Rabat to Meknes on the Motorway was quick and easy but after arrival on the outskirts of the Medina, we wasted over two hours trying to find Riad D'or. We had to park our hired car quite far from the Medina and walk. We now wish we had been absolutely clear in advance on how we would be met as finding any Riad in the complicated medina steets is generally almost impossible even for taxi drivers as they are not allowed inside the narrow streets of the Medina. We were totally frustrated as the only telephone number (+212641078625) on our hotel voucher from Booking.com went unanswered, even after trying continuously for the two hours. On inquiry after finally arriving at the Riad, we were told that the phone was kept by the Manager who was off-duty as it was a Sunday.
Riad D'Or is located in a quiet but very central location in the Medina, and entirely unlike many riads in Morocco which have indifferent staff and gloomy rooms. But this place is in a totally different class, with small separate shower room and toilet but kept very clean. The beds are good and comfortable.There are two court yards, each filled with potted plants and comfortable sitting areas. The large restaurant is on the terrace and has scenic views over the Medina.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudhir P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#1 of 43 in Meknes
382 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
581 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#36 of 43 in Meknes
97 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Felloussia
Riad Felloussia
#13 of 43 in Meknes
160 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad d'Or? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad d'Or

Address: 17 Rue Ain El Anboub et Rue Lalla Aicha Adouia, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range: $43 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad in the old Medina of Meknes. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Riad d'Or reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing