We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a very nice stay in Meknes.”
Review of Ryad Bahia

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Ryad Bahia
Ranked #5 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 20, 2012

We stayed here with two families with children aged 10-16. The riad itself was both beautifully Moroccan with high ceilings, lots of tile, a courtyard with fountain, interesting furniture and other elements, as well as comfortable, with working air conditioning and bathrooms lighting, etc.

The proprietor was friendly, accommodating to our needs, and interesting to speak to regarding Morocco and Meknes. We were given an incredibly delicious dinner that was tailored to both adult and children's tastes.

We stayed at another riad later on our trip that was nice, but this one blew it away. The location was also excellent, with only a short walk to the twisting streets and alleys of the Medina.

I highly recommend this riad. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in Meknes.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nancy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (307)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 307 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2012

I have a travelled a LOT but seldom have I had such a flawless experience. This place is up there and possibly beyond Aman levels of comfort and service.

I don't often go somewhere and want to just rave on and on about it but I have to say that Riad bahia blew me away. Nothing was too much trouble, the service was incredible, the advice given on where to go spot on and the staff and owner beyond kind, attentive and hospitable.

The Riad itself is beautiful in every way - lunch on the roof terrace is a delight and to sit quietly in one of the courtyards is a pleasure seldom found.
The owner arranged for us a half day trip to volubilis,it's was just perfect a very professional service,the next day we asked him advice about how to go to fes and to the desert and he did a very detailed programm we cound't expect better than this is 2 hours,everything was perfect,if i come back in meknes,this is where i will go,it's a precious address.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank helen k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I must echo what psyclin says, and wish this review had been posted before we visited. My husband and I, along with another friend, rented 2 rooms for 2 nights in June 2012. The owners are pleasant (and live with their family in the riad) but do not seem like professional innkeepers. At other riads, we were given an access code for the front door or there was a full-time doorman, but here, we had to find someone to unlock the door every time we wanted to go out, and had to ring every time we came back, which made us feel like we were intruding. Instead of simply changing a burned-out light bulb while cleaning the room, they waited until the evening to ask if my friend wanted it changed, then knocked on her door at 10pm to do so. Worst of all, our room smelled strongly of sewage and a window abutted a shared roof or balcony where there was noise until midnight on both nights we stayed. When I complained about the sewage odor, they were apologetic and said it was because they were installing a hammam in the riad. If they knew there were problems with the plumbing in this room, why rent it? There were many other vacant rooms in the house. We were not offered any kind of token compensation (e.g., a comped meal or small discount) as a gesture of apology, and overall, we were displeased with our experience. We did have dinner at the riad one night (no alcohol) and found it fine--nothing special--but a bit overpriced. The building itself is lovely, but the quality of the rooms and the service do not justify the price.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parvaneh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights November 2011. I would love to say only the best things about this riad as the owners were such lovely people. Four generations of the family live at the riad. The building itself is very pleasant, though other reviews overstate the quality of furnishings and decoration. However, the innkeepers just don't understand service and there were numerous lapses. Two phone numbers were provided so we could call on arrival for directions, but both were mobile and their mobiles don't work in their living quarters, so we couldn't reach them--though they do have a landline. They didn't have a map for us of the town but said we could get it the next day at the tourist info. However, the tourist info was closed the next day as it is every Friday. A restaurant was recommended for dinner but only vague directions were given (and no map) so we wandered in circles. Two lights didn't work in our room, but were fixed. We only had one towel. There was no toilet paper in the common area bathroom. Our room wasn't cleaned one day when we returned from sightseeing. We had no hangers and no drawers. We had to ask 3 times to get milk for coffee at breakfast.

The larger rooms are rather dark, but some of the small rooms on the top level were charming. Breakfast was fine and we didn't eat dinner there as no alcohol is served.

Meknes is an interesting city and the hassle factor was way below Fes and Marrakech.

Room Tip: The small upper rooms are especially charming.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this riad in Meknes in late February of 2012. The location is great and was very quiet. It certainly was cold at night, but they did provide plenty of blankets so at least you were plenty warm in bed. We actually had only brief interactions with our hostess, though she was certainly pleasant. We didn't have a meal there other than breakfast, which was OK. Overall a nice place to come home to at the end of the day, and we did enjoy Meknes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was such a friendly riad that it was like being at home. The owners and the staff were welcoming and courteous and we felt like we were amongst our own family. It was February and Meknes is cold at night (we had been warned) but the bedding was more than adequate to keep us warm at night and, when we dined, we were provided with a heater to keep us warm. The food was good home cooking and, as a vegetarian, I can recommend the vegetable couscous as the grains were fluffy and the vegetables crisp. Our room was very comfortable - overlooking the courtyard - with a well designed ensuite with shower. Soft seating throughout meant that there were many places to quietly sit and reflect. Very well located for the medina and the main square.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a great spot in the medina -- close to the Bab Mansour and the Place El-hedim, and the sights of the Imperial City. We stayed for a couple of nights in mid-January, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The host and hostess were very accomodating and gave us great advice on planning our outings. Food was very good, too. The building is very well designed to keep the occupants cool in the heat. In the winter, this means that the public spaces can be a bit cool -- if you like it warm, choose another season to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#1 of 43 in Meknes
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#8 of 43 in Meknes
697 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
589 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Riad Lahboul
Riad Lahboul
#6 of 43 in Meknes
171 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
278 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#3 of 43 in Meknes
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Bahia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Bahia

Address: Tiberbarine, Ancienne Medina Meknes, Meknes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range: $56 - $84 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your Ryad Bahia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ryad Bahia Meknes
Ryad Bahia Hotel Meknes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing