We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ryad Bahia
Nearby Hotels
$41
$40
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
$46
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$91
$77
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Zaki Hotel(Meknes)
$139
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Menzeh Dalia(Meknes)
$70
$58
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Swani(Meknes)(Great Value!)
$49
$45
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Akouas(Meknes)
$41
$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (321)
Filter reviews
321 results
Traveler rating
213
83
14
7
4
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
213
83
14
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe ownertrees growingdoughnutsmain squarefamily homemoulay idrissroman ruinslemon chicken tagineauthentic experienceroof terraceday tripan oasisimperial cityfair pricelocation is greatbreakfast and dinnervisiting meknes
Filter
Updating list...
67 - 72 of 321 reviews
Reviewed June 10, 2012

I must echo what psyclin says, and wish this review had been posted before we visited. My husband and I, along with another friend, rented 2 rooms for 2 nights in June 2012. The owners are pleasant (and live with their family in the riad) but do not seem like professional innkeepers. At other riads, we were given an access code for the front door or there was a full-time doorman, but here, we had to find someone to unlock the door every time we wanted to go out, and had to ring every time we came back, which made us feel like we were intruding. Instead of simply changing a burned-out light bulb while cleaning the room, they waited until the evening to ask if my friend wanted it changed, then knocked on her door at 10pm to do so. Worst of all, our room smelled strongly of sewage and a window abutted a shared roof or balcony where there was noise until midnight on both nights we stayed. When I complained about the sewage odor, they were apologetic and said it was because they were installing a hammam in the riad. If they knew there were problems with the plumbing in this room, why rent it? There were many other vacant rooms in the house. We were not offered any kind of token compensation (e.g., a comped meal or small discount) as a gesture of apology, and overall, we were displeased with our experience. We did have dinner at the riad one night (no alcohol) and found it fine--nothing special--but a bit overpriced. The building itself is lovely, but the quality of the rooms and the service do not justify the price.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on top floor
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank parvaneh12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2012

We stayed 2 nights November 2011. I would love to say only the best things about this riad as the owners were such lovely people. Four generations of the family live at the riad. The building itself is very pleasant, though other reviews overstate the quality of furnishings and decoration. However, the innkeepers just don't understand service and there were numerous lapses. Two phone numbers were provided so we could call on arrival for directions, but both were mobile and their mobiles don't work in their living quarters, so we couldn't reach them--though they do have a landline. They didn't have a map for us of the town but said we could get it the next day at the tourist info. However, the tourist info was closed the next day as it is every Friday. A restaurant was recommended for dinner but only vague directions were given (and no map) so we wandered in circles. Two lights didn't work in our room, but were fixed. We only had one towel. There was no toilet paper in the common area bathroom. Our room wasn't cleaned one day when we returned from sightseeing. We had no hangers and no drawers. We had to ask 3 times to get milk for coffee at breakfast.

The larger rooms are rather dark, but some of the small rooms on the top level were charming. Breakfast was fine and we didn't eat dinner there as no alcohol is served.

Meknes is an interesting city and the hassle factor was way below Fes and Marrakech.

Room Tip: The small upper rooms are especially charming.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

My wife and I spent two nights at this riad in Meknes in late February of 2012. The location is great and was very quiet. It certainly was cold at night, but they did provide plenty of blankets so at least you were plenty warm in bed. We actually had only brief interactions with our hostess, though she was certainly pleasant. We didn't have a meal there other than breakfast, which was OK. Overall a nice place to come home to at the end of the day, and we did enjoy Meknes.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2012

This was such a friendly riad that it was like being at home. The owners and the staff were welcoming and courteous and we felt like we were amongst our own family. It was February and Meknes is cold at night (we had been warned) but the bedding was more than adequate to keep us warm at night and, when we dined, we were provided with a heater to keep us warm. The food was good home cooking and, as a vegetarian, I can recommend the vegetable couscous as the grains were fluffy and the vegetables crisp. Our room was very comfortable - overlooking the courtyard - with a well designed ensuite with shower. Soft seating throughout meant that there were many places to quietly sit and reflect. Very well located for the medina and the main square.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fatima S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2012

What a great spot in the medina -- close to the Bab Mansour and the Place El-hedim, and the sights of the Imperial City. We stayed for a couple of nights in mid-January, and thoroughly enjoyed it. The host and hostess were very accomodating and gave us great advice on planning our outings. Food was very good, too. The building is very well designed to keep the occupants cool in the heat. In the winter, this means that the public spaces can be a bit cool -- if you like it warm, choose another season to visit.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lee S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews