We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place”
Review of Hotel Akouas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Akouas
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Very clean place . our room was comfortable and with nice decoration .
the atmosphere was also nice , we had the chance to meet other guests and talk with them .
i think it is a nice plac to visit in meknes.

Room Tip: hight floor have less noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mandy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (81)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

22 - 28 of 81 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here has part of a tourgroup.
On arrival I found the hotel staff were very friendly and accomodating.
My room had two king single beds and they were extremely comfortable.
I like that the decor in the room reflected Morocco and it was very tastful.
My room was very large and had enough room for two extra chairs and a small table.
Also the windows were double glazed but you could also slide them open to get some fresh air or have a look out the window.
The air con was one of the better ones I had in morocco and I liked that you could set it to swing mode.
There was a huge wardrobe for anyone who was staying a bit longer.
My one complaint is that the walls were very thin and you could hear people in the next room or out in the corridor very clearly.
All in all...a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that is away from the nightclub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2012

Even knowing that is less expensive than the others, i can assure you that it could be your worst experience in Morocco. The Arab Music is too loud until 04.00h so you cannot sleep. The employers are non polite and restaurant food, is horrible.
Please, do not stay at this hotel if you want to rest or sleep.
.

Room Tip: No choose!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LuisCasablanca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Arrived by train on 21st March 2012. Turn left out of the station and walk about 200 yards and its on the left at the end of the road.
Walked in and booked a double en suite room (607) for 420 Dh including breakfast.
The room is on the 6th floor and has a small balcony. The bedroom was very clean with a TV and air con. The sheets and towels were clean and fresh and the shower worked with plenty of hot water. Not that we chose it for it the hotel has a swimming pool but it was empty of water on the day we visited. It does have a bar but we didn't use it so can't comment further.
The breakfasts were good. coffee, bread, croisants, omelette, jams, juice ect all included.
There was no noise despite being fairly close to the train station and main road.
Tel; (212) 05 35 51 59 67
email: hotelakouas@yahoo.fr
www.hotelakouas.com

Room Tip: Useful location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bart1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed here for about a month in the summer and it's a decent hotel. The rooms were clean although the beds were pretty small. The staff was very welcoming and gracious and spoke English with no problems. They really helped me in getting my bearings for the city. I was even able to arrange a trip through them to Volubilis. However, the trip wasn't necessarily the best since the hired guide doesn't guide you but only drives you to the sites and leaves you on your own with a certain time frame to meet back with him.
Breakfast was extremely basic. Croissant, juice or Moroccan mint tea, triangle cheese, hard-boiled eggs. The lunch/dinner menu was pretty good. Their lentil soup is excellent as is their Spaghetti Bolognaise. The two waitresses don't seem to speak English but are nonetheless extremely helpful.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend this place if you need a place to lay your head down. Some people have complained about the trains being nearby but I honestly didn't hear the trains and didn't even know there was a station nearby until I was told by the desk staff when I wanted to make a trip to another city. The only negative for me is the bathroom which has a shower but not curtain which can and does leave a mess on the floor. The cleaning women seem to take it in stride and they're also very nice as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top, from what I hear, the music from the club downstairs can interrupt your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

stayed here for one night and would not do so again.
Stayed in a decent sized twin room which was clean. The beds were comfy, but the heating didn't work and the bathroom light also didn't work. Told reception who said they would fix it, but still no heating. The towels in the bathroom were also damp and did not seem clean. Our bedroom faced train tracks, and that coupled with barking dogs, did not make for a good night's sleep.
Breakfast was pastries, pancake and bread. Boiled eggs were also offered and you can get more food if you ask. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly.
Wifi worked well.
Hint, if you need water it is very cheap to buy at reception, only 5 dirhams for 1.5L, the cheapest we found anywhere. There is also a good store just down the road if you need snacks, block of nestle chocolate 12 dirhams, pack sweet biscuits 2 dirhams. Even cheaper than shopping at marjane supermarkets.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoMapNoWorries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The hotel has a really colorful and "psychedelic" entrance and a nice breakfast area just above the entrance, with a limited but tasty assortment. The rooms are not too spacious but confortable enough. There is no heating (but blankets are OK) and the bathroom is quite shabby. The hotel is OK for a short stay, although you need a means of transportion to reach the city center.We had no chance to test the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
405 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Swani
Hotel Swani
#4 of 19 in Meknes
42 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Oasis Tafilalet
Hotel Oasis Tafilalet
#18 of 19 in Meknes
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#6 of 19 in Meknes
44 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Tafilalet & Spa
Hotel Tafilalet & Spa
#2 of 19 in Meknes
67 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Plaisance
Hotel Plaisance
#14 of 19 in Meknes
15 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akouas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akouas

Address: 27 Rue Al Amir Abdelkader, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Price Range: $45 - $50 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Akouas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Akouas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akouas Hotel Meknes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing