We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and Friendly”
Review of Hotel Akouas

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Akouas
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Reviewed March 29, 2012

Arrived by train on 21st March 2012. Turn left out of the station and walk about 200 yards and its on the left at the end of the road.
Walked in and booked a double en suite room (607) for 420 Dh including breakfast.
The room is on the 6th floor and has a small balcony. The bedroom was very clean with a TV and air con. The sheets and towels were clean and fresh and the shower worked with plenty of hot water. Not that we chose it for it the hotel has a swimming pool but it was empty of water on the day we visited. It does have a bar but we didn't use it so can't comment further.
The breakfasts were good. coffee, bread, croisants, omelette, jams, juice ect all included.
There was no noise despite being fairly close to the train station and main road.
Tel; (212) 05 35 51 59 67
email: hotelakouas@yahoo.fr
www.hotelakouas.com

Room Tip: Useful location
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bart1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

25 - 31 of 80 reviews

Reviewed February 29, 2012

I stayed here for about a month in the summer and it's a decent hotel. The rooms were clean although the beds were pretty small. The staff was very welcoming and gracious and spoke English with no problems. They really helped me in getting my bearings for the city. I was even able to arrange a trip through them to Volubilis. However, the trip wasn't necessarily the best since the hired guide doesn't guide you but only drives you to the sites and leaves you on your own with a certain time frame to meet back with him.
Breakfast was extremely basic. Croissant, juice or Moroccan mint tea, triangle cheese, hard-boiled eggs. The lunch/dinner menu was pretty good. Their lentil soup is excellent as is their Spaghetti Bolognaise. The two waitresses don't seem to speak English but are nonetheless extremely helpful.

Overall, I'd definitely recommend this place if you need a place to lay your head down. Some people have complained about the trains being nearby but I honestly didn't hear the trains and didn't even know there was a station nearby until I was told by the desk staff when I wanted to make a trip to another city. The only negative for me is the bathroom which has a shower but not curtain which can and does leave a mess on the floor. The cleaning women seem to take it in stride and they're also very nice as well.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the top, from what I hear, the music from the club downstairs can interrupt your s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bilal S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

stayed here for one night and would not do so again.
Stayed in a decent sized twin room which was clean. The beds were comfy, but the heating didn't work and the bathroom light also didn't work. Told reception who said they would fix it, but still no heating. The towels in the bathroom were also damp and did not seem clean. Our bedroom faced train tracks, and that coupled with barking dogs, did not make for a good night's sleep.
Breakfast was pastries, pancake and bread. Boiled eggs were also offered and you can get more food if you ask. Staff in the restaurant were very friendly.
Wifi worked well.
Hint, if you need water it is very cheap to buy at reception, only 5 dirhams for 1.5L, the cheapest we found anywhere. There is also a good store just down the road if you need snacks, block of nestle chocolate 12 dirhams, pack sweet biscuits 2 dirhams. Even cheaper than shopping at marjane supermarkets.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoMapNoWorries
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2012

The hotel has a really colorful and "psychedelic" entrance and a nice breakfast area just above the entrance, with a limited but tasty assortment. The rooms are not too spacious but confortable enough. There is no heating (but blankets are OK) and the bathroom is quite shabby. The hotel is OK for a short stay, although you need a means of transportion to reach the city center.We had no chance to test the pool.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roseglobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2011

After traveling a week in Morrocco alone, I joined a tour. All the tyical type hotels I stayed at with the tour were much worse than the any of the Ryads I stayed at, his one included. The room was okay, nothing special and the shower was actually good. But the vibrating music from the night club went on past midnight and I was on the 6th floor. All the riads I stayed at were much nicer with better breakfasts.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank an13743
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 2, 2011

small hotel in meknes, 2 and not worth 3 star hotel, but as they got a bar. the awful thing is the night club. make sur you get a room on the 4 or 5 floor.brekfast some get special one and the others get a simple one. infriendly staff , may be they are badly paid.

Room Tip: get 5 th floor , very noisy .night club.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank taguleft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Made a walk-in reservation at this hotel.

The room was very spacious and had a great view of the city.

Spend 2 nights at the hotel and quite enjoyed our time there. The staff was very friendly and helpful throughout our time there.
Breakfast was not included in our rate, but there is a lovely pastery shop just around the corner, so you are never hungry there :-)

The location was ok.. In the new city, but with easy access to the old part.

All in all, nice value for the money and a place I might consider if I should return to Meknes.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Saekiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
392 reviews
3.7 mi away
Menzeh Dalia
Menzeh Dalia
#16 of 19 in Meknes
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Zaki Hotel
Zaki Hotel
#11 of 19 in Meknes
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Transatlantique
Transatlantique
#7 of 19 in Meknes
143 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Plaisance
Hotel Plaisance
#9 of 19 in Meknes
13 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#8 of 19 in Meknes
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Akouas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Akouas

Address: 27 Rue Al Amir Abdelkader, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Price Range: $45 - $48 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Akouas 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Akouas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akouas Hotel Meknes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing