We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really nice hotel, near to train station”
Review of Hotel Majestic

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Meknes
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Reviewed April 6, 2012

Lovely deco and staff, very attentive and our driver Janati Abdelhay was wonderful for the day trip we took to the middle atlas area. The manager Maid spoke perfect English and was a huge help with everything we needed for our visit.Meknes is a wonderful place to visit.
The rooms are very clean and the water hot.

Room Tip: Get a room in the courtyard side
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Graham5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Majestic
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 159 reviews

Reviewed February 28, 2012

The Place
An Art Deco gem in one of the main streets of Mèknes' Ville Nouvelle. Architecture lovers will die with the stairs, corridors and rooms in all-original conditions that give to the hotel that special feeling of atemporal elegance. The kind of place that once was clearly the best hotel in town, lost its position but still remained with its charm, you know? All in a very kept, clean and well maintained structure (that doesn't go without a considerable cost of maintenance and amount of effort, as I got to know talking with the staff).

Location
Literally... meters away from the El-Amir Abdelkader Train Station, in one of the main avenues of the Ville Nouvelle. Once in Morocco, every tourist eventually will face the dilemma "Should I stay in the Medina? Should I stay in the Ville Nouvelle?". For Mèknes, in my "on-a-tight-budget-but-not-that-desperate" budget, my personal advise? Ville Nouvelle. For this price category, a comfortable and decent room in the Ville Nouvelle goes for the same price than a "Better not try to guess when those sheets were last washed" depressive room in the Medina. This in a city where a petit taxi trip costs only around 8DH (with taximeter invariably turned on - trying to bargain the price for the trip is not an issue in Mèknes) to link the historical places to the Ville Nouvelle and the bus system does the same fairly well if you fiercely feel like saving some Dirhams. This plus the Ville Nouvelle of Mèknes being an interesting place full of Art Deco buildings, amazingly cheap-and-good restaurants and old style cafés that make a stay that really interesting to check how the Moroccan middle class lives and looks like.

Service
Do you know when people are obviously doing something they have talent at? That's the feeling I get from the staff of this hotel. Sympathetic, nice, welcoming, ready to do their best to provide you all the conditions for you to have a comfortable stay in their hotel. Everything kept carefully clean by the ladies that work the whole day to make the place shining as new. The concierges were one of the most sympathetic and funny people I met in my entire time in Morocco, and really helpful when I felt like taking the easy way and getting a taxi to visit Volubilis and Moulay Idriss. The kind of place you leave because you really have to catch a plane, otherwise you would stay one extra night just for the great way you felt in a place managed by this kind of people.

Price
270Dh for a double room. Fair price for a big city like Mèknes, specially considering that the breakfast was included.

Rooms
Deliciously retro would be the best word to describe them. Beds were comfortable, blankets were warm enough to handle the Mèknassi winter nights pretty well and the concierges keenly provided a electric heater since the central heating system was turned off during the low season for economy reasons. The bathroom was clean and acceptable, and the shower was ok (hot water being quite complicated to get sometimes, but again... it is like that all around Morocco and would be unfair to expect any different from this hotel in specific). Yes, there is no TV neither carpeted floor... but being in a truly retro hotel bedroom, do you really care? :D

Final Words
My words when I left this hotel were "Gotta an impression that even if I get rich, this will be the hotel I will always come back in Mèknes.". About hotels, in the end it's all about doing things in the right way, with a sincere happy smile and really enjoying what you are doing. No matter all the other frills - this is what makes people feel welcome. And that will drive them back as soon as they can.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Fernando P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

I loved this hotel and regret that I did not spend more time in Meknes so that I could have stayed here longer. It is a minute from the train station and very affordable. I prefer vintage hotels with old craftsmanship and character. The Majestic takes you back to the 1930s and feels like an old movie. There is no TV, a plus to me. There is a quiet courtyard for reading and a terrace for sun. Breakfast was 'bready' but filled me up for most of the day. The young staff members are sweet and helpful. They work very hard to keep the hotel sparkling clean. I saw them dusting the ceilings and corners daily. On my next trip to Morocco, I am going straight to Meknes and will stay at this hotel before it gets bought by a chain and ruined.

Room Tip: The rooms facing the courtyard are quieter.
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamiejet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2011

we spent there one night, in our first room the toilet was broken, smell was .awfull. The second room was not better.. Bed doesnt look like clean, there was a shower but the pressure of water was so poor that we werent able to use it. and in the morning smell from the shower was so disguisting that we didnt even wanted to open the doors. breakfast was also poor. the only good thing is maybe the location and central patio where you can find some fresh air. for this price you can find something better.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smelka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2011

Well-preserved deco architecture. Friendly staff & they can arrange local tours. Breakfast is filling - the breakfast room has lot of traditional architecture elements. The best thing that i liked about it was the proximity to train station. Just walk to your room! Some of the rooms can be noisy due to street traffic.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kumaresh_sekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2011

The hotel is quite near one of the train stations of Meknes, so it is really convenient to get there from the train station. There are signs to make it easier for you to find the hotel which is also a great help, particularly if you arrive at night. The staff is helpful - they easily speak French or Spanish, and give you nice tips to visit some key places in Meknes. I was advised a guide for a tour of the city (which I accepted, something that I rarely do) and the tour was absolutely worthwhile. The breakfast staff was really friendly and always making sure that you could have more coffee or food if needed. The rooms are more than adequate for a low budget hotel, clean enough and quite superior to many budget hotels that can be found in Europe. At night, the hotel neighbors tend to be noisy which is a bit annoying but nothing that prevents one from sleep if tired. I recommend this hotel as a good place to stay in Meknes, if you do not mind staying in a budget hotel relatively far from the old city (you need to walk around 25 minutes to get there; not a big deal for me).

Pumbainjapan
http://pumbainjapan.blogspot.com/

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pumbainjapan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2011

Quite nice hotel, very close to the train station, so if you arrive to Meknes by train you don't have to walk far with your rucksack. Comfortable beds, clean bathrooms with shower is all you need when travelling across Morocco. Breakfast is included in price but don't expect more than 3 slices of bread, butter and some jam. To get to the historical sites you have to walk 2-3 km.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank snooka76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
389 reviews
0.9 mi away
Transatlantique
Transatlantique
#5 of 19 in Meknes
138 reviews
1.5 mi away
Riad Anne de Meknes
Riad Anne de Meknes
#2 of 19 in Meknes
34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Hotel Belle Vue
Hotel Belle Vue
#8 of 19 in Meknes
39 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hotel Plaisance
Hotel Plaisance
#9 of 19 in Meknes
13 reviews
3.7 mi away
Menzeh Dalia
Menzeh Dalia
#15 of 19 in Meknes
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 19, AV Mohamed V, Meknes, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Meknes
Number of rooms: 176
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Meknes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing