We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stroll around”
Review of Meknes Medina

Meknes Medina
Book In Advance
More Info
$40.00*
and up
Small Group Full-Day Meknes and Volubilis Tour from Fez
Ranked #3 of 26 things to do in Meknes
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Grobbendonk, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Great place to stroll around”
Reviewed December 3, 2012

Look for the different sections of the medina and you will be surprised by the variety of craftsmen who show their skills. Medina less crowded and cleaner than Marrakech. Few touts, far less than Marrakech. Local people will show you the way without the demand for money.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank BelgiumAndre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    247
    298
    93
    11
    5
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Willemstad, Curacao
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“nice place to walk around”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Not as commercial as Fes or Marrakech. Great city walls and nice main square. Very friendly people in Meknes.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Servaas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, GA
Level 6 Contributor
277 reviews
162 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Nice size Medina”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

This is easier to navigate than the Fez or Marrakech Medina. We didn't feel like we were being hustled as much. I still like the Fez Medina the best.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JoanMarietta_GA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Smaller and easier to navigate than Fes and Marrakech Medinas”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Meknes Medina is a great way to experience a Moroccan medina without having to dive into the labyrinth that is Fes or the chaos of Marrakech. It's got a lot of variety, and a choice selection of fresh fruits and sweets in particular.

I bought some traditional tea glasses from a quiet shop therein, and thanks to a friend who spoke both Arabic and French, probably came away with a better deal than we would have gotten elsewhere.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank nschneble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Buying a carpet in Meknes”
Reviewed October 2, 2012

Two weeks ago we bought a carpet (Kilim) in Meknes at a shop named L'Art des Villes Imperiales.
After a presentation of 2 hours and a 1 hour negotiation, we decided to buy a carpet (3x4m).
As it was not the first time in Morocco, we had some experience with the buying / selling technics and negotiation skills of this guys. Or you like it or not, if you want to take a nice and original carpet home, you have to go through this game. Did we pay the right amount for what we got ? We will never know but we are happy with it and also at home it looks really beatiful. The shop took care of the delivery (1 week to Belgium).
I promised to write a review, without mentioning the extraordinary price we got :-), if we were satisfied with our purchase; hereby I fulfilled my promise with pleasure
Address: L'Art des Villes Imperiales, 2 Derb Hammam, between place Lalla Aouda and rue Palais (tel. 0535/553740), below Restaurant Salma

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Dirk-uit-Antwerpen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Meknes Medina also viewed

Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 

Been to Meknes Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing