We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Calm and beautiful”

Mausoleum of Mouley Ismail
Book In Advance
More Info
$99.74*
and up
Private Tour: Meknes and Volubilis Day Trip from Fez
Ranked #4 of 24 things to do in Meknes
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Queanbeyan, Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Calm and beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2014

It's worth stopping by the mausoleum when you're in Meknes. Like the rest of Meknes, I found it to be a calm, relaxed place. The mausoleum isn't very big, but it offers a rich display of traditional art - beautiful carved wood ceilings, calligraphy carvings, and of course, lots of zellij tilework.

It used to be a mosque, but is no longer used for prayers since it became a mausoleum, so it offers non-Muslims like me an opportunity to visit.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    124
    41
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
31 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely attraction”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

This is a gorgeous and tranquil spot from the moment you walk in. It doesnt take too much of your time to see and is definately worth it. Photos are no problem at all. Please take some coins to tip as there is no entry cost, we felt awful because we had only big notes on us!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

This should be seen. I asked about the clocks in the tomb area and they told me that the King of France gave them as a gift. I later found out that Mouley Ismail wanted to have one of the princesses in his harem and the king sent the clocks instead! Fun. Do see and do ask questions. It helps if you speak french.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheba205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
86 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Very beautiful, take small change to tip the keeper”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013

This is one of the highlights of . Its a beautiful mausoleum. its worth going as soon as they open because the tour parties kick in not long after and just keep coming. The guides don't wory about where they stand so you then have difficulty getting a picture withour lots of people in them. not many people have change to tip the keeper so try to remember some.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Porgester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto, Portugal
Level Contributor
663 reviews
193 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
“if you´re visiting the city this a "must see"!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was the best attraction I visited on my visit to Meknes. It's a muslim mausoleum, because it´s a mausoleu (tomb) the muslims doesn´t pray in here, so the non-muslim can visit. This is basic rule about religion!

It´s big enough with some fountains for purification (use in the past, not anymore but still have water) and patios, walls paited on a vivid yellow and some colorful tiles outside, inside detailed walls and ceilings.

You can take pictures inside, there´s no restrictions!

This is a must see in the city, and if you have a chance to get a guide to join you willl be better to understand the things and history.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Henrique d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mausoleum of Mouley Ismail also viewed

Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
Meknes, Meknes-Tafilalet Region
 

Been to Mausoleum of Mouley Ismail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing