We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Ranked #4 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 1, 2013

The owners Pierre and Fatima go well out of their way to make you feel at home. The staff is also very considerate, but can only speak French. Both owners speak passable. Of course if you speak French you will be right at home.

I was hear for New Year 2013, and was invited to their party thrown by Pierre and Fatima, and I felt like I was at home.

This is a really colorful folks place where I am sure you will enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: While Fatima and Pierre run a really nice place, their credit card machine does not always work. Be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zip98221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 278 reviews

Reviewed December 25, 2012

Riad is in the nice location, close to the entrance of the medina. Rooms are big, clean and comfortable. Fatima, the owner of the Riad is amazingly helpful. She gave us a lot of information, showed us great restaurants, and even took us to taxi when we were leaving. The breakfast is excellent, served on the scenic roof top terrace (when the weather is nice). It's definitely a place to be in Meknes!

Room Tip: The roof top room is a great choice in sunny days.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bozilak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 24, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in the beautiful house of Fatima. It is a bit hard to find first time, but we were guided there fine from the car park at Lalla Aouda. Also you can call and someone comes to pick you up.

We got to choose between all available rooms, which are all very different but all very nice.
Breakfast is served in the salon and is very good, with several types of bread, pancakes, tea or coffee, milk, jams, honey, orange juice.

The riad provides a good map of the medina and pinpoints the sights on it.
Also very positive is that there was always someone available to help you with anything.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JiminyNL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Amazing experience in this Riad, thanks to the Riad owners and staff!!!!
They are so nice and friendly. We enjoyed a lot talking with them. They made our stay in Meknes very comfortable and we really felt like at home. If we go back to Meknes one day, we'd surely like to stay again in this Riad!!

It's definitely the best riad you can experience in Morocco, trust my word and you won't regret your choice! :)

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyHengYu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

A very beautiful Riad, lovingly restored by its owner, Fatima. The rooms are all spacious, clean and nicely furnished. Fatima is very available for her guests, she gave us information and advice on what to do, where to go, where to eat. She even made us tea one night although she was in a hurry to leave (and the tea was always served with delicious pastry).
There's a nice view from the Riad's roof, a perfect scenery to have breakfast. The poor waiter had to go up and down the stairs at least 10 times, since the breakfast was so copious (the best one we had during two weeks in Morocco).
We wil definitely stay there again on our next trip to Meknes.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ines R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

Really good hotel: breakfast consisted of several breads, excellent tea and jus. The location is in the medina on walking distance of the main sights. The hotel staff are really friendly and gave us a very handy map of the medina.

Meknes is a very friendly town in Morocco: we only stayed one night, but would recommend staying longer.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Servaas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

We had a very nice stay in this Riad in the heart of the Meknes medina. We were welcomed by the owner (Fatima), drinking a cup of tea (&typical meknes sweets) together and showing us around and telling us about Meknes. Breakfast was very complete with juice, tea, coffee, milk, different types of bread and pancakes, butter/marmelade etc. You can join Fatima for a cup of tea all day long.
The owner knows all about meknes, is happy to show you around and tell you were to go, what to do and will help with arranging it.
If she has your e-mail adress she will send you a map of the medina and explaining how to get there, since it's quite a labyrinth, although not as bad as Fez.
Room was nice, comfortable bed, enough light, shower was hot. The area is quite at night, off course except for the Mosque, but you will find that anywhere.
You can have dinner in the riad but Fatima will also walk you to the hidden good restaurants if asked for. She will tell you what to buy where for what prices etc.
Rooftop terrace is lovely with storks flying over it every morning and evening.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luuk188616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
392 reviews
0.3 mi away
Riad Anne de Meknes
Riad Anne de Meknes
#3 of 19 in Meknes
34 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#8 of 43 in Meknes
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad El Ma
Riad El Ma
#1 of 43 in Meknes
384 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Felloussia
Riad Felloussia
#16 of 43 in Meknes
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Amazigh Meknes? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Amazigh Meknes

Address: 32 Derb Moulay Ahmed Chebli, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range: $49 - $72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Amazigh is an authentic guest house in the Medina of Meknes.It's a nice house built in 1880, in the heart of the old Medina, close to the main historic monuments.You will be welcome to this house, and you will discover Berber hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Riad Amazigh Meknes reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Amazigh Hotel Meknes

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing