We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic 3 nights in February 2012”
Review of Riad El Ma

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Riad El Ma
Ranked #1 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I recommend this lovely Riad to all people; it does't matter if you're going there by yourself or with kids, cause the Riad is open for all. It is situated in the heart of old medina, inscribed on UNESCO list; but very easy to find, 5 minutes maximum from the main gate. The rooms are big and spacious, the toillets are clean with a hot water all the time, which is rare in Morocco. Every day you will get a good breakfast, containg of typical morrocain pancakes and cakes, bread, fresh juice; coffee, tea etc.

There is a swimming pool on the terrace; the riad is a good solution if you are searching for a calm holidays; or if you would like to visit all the great touristique places - like Meknes itself, Volubilis, Moulay Idris or even Fes which are not far away from Meknes!

Amina is great and very helpful, if you ask her she will recommend you a good restaurant, good driver to get to Volubilis for example etc.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank agngaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

83 - 89 of 387 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2012

Where to start? We felt in love with this place. The riad is a haven of tranquility in the middle of the Medina. It has been renovated with lots of love and is a great mix of tradition and modernism. We stayed in the "red room" and it was just perfect. It was very clean, the bed was very comfortable and we loved the decoration (and yes, you'll hear the mezzuin but that is part of the trip and you hear it at any Place :-). But what made our stay unforgettable was the service, the incredible kindness of Amina an her team and the fantastic food! We arrived at the Riad late in evening with a reservation for 2nights and during the first dinner we changed our plans and decided to stay 4nights. This was the beginning of a 3weeks road trip in Morocco-we stayed in many different great locations but this one was just the best. This place and this Team will mesmerize you too! Thank you!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stephanie_und_martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2012

I questioned spending a night of our tightly planned trip here, but it was a great decision. The hotel is an excellent value - clean, chic, and with an extremely warm and friendly staff. Meknes is easy to navigate and less hectic than Fez. Food is excellent here as well - best breakfast of our trip and among the stronger dinners. They also arranged a reasonably priced car to Vollubulis and Fez with a nice driver. Thank you so much for a great first night in Morocco.

  • Stayed: December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cph216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2012

Amazingly quiet hotel for our first night in Morocco. We wandered down several small side streets before arriving at the Riad. Our dinner was the one against which we measured all other meals in Morocco - a simple chicken with preserved lemon and olives. The riad has a beautiful courtyard and a small dining area. Very friendly reception.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ConnecticutDad2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 11, 2011

We stayed at Riad El Ma for 10 days in December 2011 and found it be to absolutely wonderful. We couldn't have imagined a more wonderful place to stay in historic and interesting Meknes. We had our five year old and four month-old daughters with us, and the staff was remarkably accomodating to all of our needs and whims. They were helpful in every way. The riad is beautifully refurbished and decorated. Everything in excellent taste and with authentic Moroccan flair. We took all of our breakfasts and dinner at the Riad El Ma, and found the food better than even the higher end restaurants we visited in Fes. Each night we were served a fabulous three-course meal that was absolutely delicious. I have traveled in over 80 different countries and this stay ranks very high in my experience for graciousness of Amina and Amina (who run the riad), beauty and decor, excellent food, and hospitality.

Room Tip: We loved the yellow suite. It is spacious and opens directly on to the spectacular inner courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2011

We stayed at Riad El Ma in October 2011 and had a wonderful time. We had my wife and our 6 month old child as well as my mother and a family friend, so we ran the gamut of ages and the two Moroccan Women (Amina and Amina) that run the Riad were very helpful. They gave us great recommendations for places to eat, although our best meal was definitely in the Riad - they serve great food there. Additionally, there were ready to provide a driver and guide to see some of the sights around Meknes (i.e Volubulis) but there was no pressure to use their services.

The Riad is a bit challenging to find, but little Amina met us outside the Medina in the parking lot and led us right to the Riad. I recommend calling ahead and meeting them the first time you go to the Riad. Actually - she met us another time as well when we got lost wandering around and we called the Riad! Very helpful.

The rooms are nice and well appointed - not fancy but complete with all amenities. Additionally, the Riad has been restored in line with Moroccan architecture and is very beautiful and charming.

We had a great time here and plan on using this Riad again when we return to Meknes.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave_Saunders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2011

A lovely riad in the heart of the medina, run by two charming and helpful ladies on behalf of a french owner. Quiet, clean and beautifully furnished, stayed in the white suite which was spacious and well set up. Small library with TV, free wi fi. Simple but filling breakfast. Nice terrace with plunge pool.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank squeezing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.6 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
598 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#7 of 43 in Meknes
706 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad Ritaj
Riad Ritaj
#4 of 43 in Meknes
159 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#3 of 43 in Meknes
279 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yamcha
Riad Yamcha
#8 of 43 in Meknes
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad El Ma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad El Ma

Address: 4 Derb Sidi Besri | Ancienne Médina, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Phone Number:
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range: $63 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Riad el Ma guest house is located in the heart of the historic city center, a few steps away from the town’s most famous monuments such as the beautiful Bab Mansour gate and the Bouinania Medersa.In the delicious atmosphere created by running water and foutains, you can relax in a fully renovated “Riad”, a traditional moroccan mansion built around an open courtyard. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Riad El Ma reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing