We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice riad”
Review of Ryad Zahraa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryad Zahraa
Ranked #18 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 2, 2012

The folks at Riad Zahraa were very nice. When we still hadn't checked in hours after we said we would, they called. Our train broke down and we didn't know how much longer we would be. The riad told us to call them when we arrived in Meknes and they would send someone to meet us outside the medina (so that we wouldn't have to navigate our way to the riad after a stressful train ride).

Our room on the top floor was on the small side, but it was very quiet. The riad itself is very large and the common areas are spacious.

The staff was very helpful and assisted us in arranging a taxi to Volubilis and Moulay Idriss.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JustinaL370
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (141)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 141 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2012

The Riad Zahraa is nicely presented although the rooms are small and I found my four night stay to be very noisy (from next door neighbours). Communication with staff is limited unless you speak French and it is difficult to get advice. The breakfast is standard Moroccon/French fare. Overall I feel it was definitely not worth the 40 Euros a night I paid...I found clean, comfortable and quiet riads throughout Morocco for half that price. One consolation is the small restaurant Konouz Al Madina next door which does serve top quality traditional Moroccon food in a quiet and
comfortable environment (just remember to bring your own wine).
Will, Australia... 20/09/12

Room Tip: If you must go there opt for a room well inside the riad away from outside walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Will4004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2012

We stayed at this Riad for one night on our recent two week trip with Real Morocco Tours. The riad is located in the heart of the medina, just a few minutes walk from the central plaza.

The riad is close to the markets and restaurants, and its location down the maze of laneways gives you a true appreciation of what it is like tyo stay/live in an ancient Moroccan city.

The riad itself is authentic - much better than staying in a hotel - and the service is very very friendly and welcoming. The food (breakfast) is also a great way to start the day. The rooms are quiet, and face out to the central (indoor) courtyard. You can also walk to the terrace to see a great 360 degree view of the Meknes skyline.

Room Tip: Get one of the local porters to take your bags down the laneways, they're very efficient and wil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TimTownPlanner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2012

We spent one night in a room on the top floor. It was ok for one night. It didn't feel too clean though. Everything else was good. The breakfast and dinner were great! The common area were nice, and the staff are really friendly and hospitable!

Stayed: March 2012
Thank Becky0222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2012

We very much liked our stay in RIad Zahraa. It wasn't difficult to find with the help of the friendly locals. They still try to sell you things, but do so with a much less aggressive tactic than in other Moroccan cities. They will show you the Riad and ask you to come visit them afterwards.
The Riad is well located in the nice and relatively easy medina of Meknes. When you enter you will be astonished by the beauty of this place. There are decorations everywhere. You will be welcomed by the hospitable staff and tea will of course be served. They have a beautiful terrace with a magnificent view over all of the medina, which you're in the middle of.
Our room was nice and quiet, we could choose between different ones. The bathroom was clean, spacious and there was hot running water. The only comment we have is that the holder for the showerhead wouldn't keep it in the same place, which made it less comfortable to take a shower.
The breakfast was very good: everything you would expect if you've been in Morocco for a few days, but here there's home-baked cake every morning. And it is delicious.
And a minor detail: the creditcard machine appeared to be nonfunctional so we had to pay in cash.

All in all: would go here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kaysan88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2012

We found the place on tripadvisor but didn't book it in advance because we were planning to follow our LonelyPlanet guide concerning accommodation in Morocco. Fortunately we noted the adress of this Riad in our book as a backup.
We only had one night to spend in Meknes otherwise we surely would have extended our stay in this Riad. We were welcomed by very friendly staff!! The rooms and the roof terrace were amazing and the breakfast was excellent! All of our questions were answered with a lot of patience and usefull tips to make our stay in Meknes even more pleasant.
Riad Zahraa is a well kept secret in Meknes Medina you certainly must pay a visit!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nele V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Welcome was correct and friendly but not as warm as in other ryads. Our blue room on the top floor was big but basic. We noticed a huge wet and moldy spot on the wall behind the third bed and some pillows. Matresses were very, very hard - my wife didnt't sleep well... Breakfast was very good. We also had dinner the first evening which was basic but good.

It was cold and not very cosy in the central area (white light, no candles, heater not on, tv on some arabic program).

Summarized : definitely acceptable but not the best we've had at this price.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim_Jorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.7 mi away
Ibis Meknes Hotel
Ibis Meknes Hotel
#1 of 19 in Meknes
392 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Felloussia
Riad Felloussia
#16 of 43 in Meknes
161 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Idrissi
Riad Idrissi
#25 of 43 in Meknes
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Riad d'Or
Riad d'Or
#8 of 43 in Meknes
698 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
588 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#36 of 43 in Meknes
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Zahraa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Zahraa

Address: 5 Derb Abdellah El Kasri, Touta, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range: $29 - $53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Zahraa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Zahraa is an andalusian guest house situated in the heart of the medina in Meknes, Morocco. Its proximity to hammams, souks, mosques... makes it an ideal place for cultural enlightenment. It is composed of two suites and four rooms, a pacio and a splendid terrace with a view on all the medina. Most of its furniture and decoration are deliberately intended to allow tourists discover real Moroccan arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Ryad Zahraa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing