We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely okay but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Ryad Zahraa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Ryad Zahraa
Ranked #17 of 43 Meknes B&B and Inns
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Definitely okay but...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2012

Welcome was correct and friendly but not as warm as in other ryads. Our blue room on the top floor was big but basic. We noticed a huge wet and moldy spot on the wall behind the third bed and some pillows. Matresses were very, very hard - my wife didnt't sleep well... Breakfast was very good. We also had dinner the first evening which was basic but good.

It was cold and not very cosy in the central area (white light, no candles, heater not on, tv on some arabic program).

Summarized : definitely acceptable but not the best we've had at this price.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim_Jorgen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    39
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
20
59
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2011

i thought that the service in this Riad was a real highlight. The owners were very friendly. The facilities were also very good for the price range

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adamhayeswilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2011

We found this place by chance, walking around Meknes and decided to stop for the night. The place is beautiful, with big rooms and hot water but the best part of it is the staff! Junes, the guy managing the place is so nice and friendly, he gave us tips and really went out of his way to help. In the end we decided to use the riad as a platform for day trips to Fes, Volubilis and Moulay Idriss and it felt great the get back to the riad after a hectic day in Fes. We also had dinner in the riad and it was really good!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ray004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2010

After spending a night in the Meknes new town, we decided to find ourselves somewhere in the Medina (the new town's pretty scungy and not too interesting). We found Riad Zahraa on the internet, and trusting people's reviews, we booked in for two nights. On arrival we instantly booked in for a third.
We found the riad without too much hassle. After walking to the main square from the new town we sat down for lunch at a cafe, where we asked our waiter for directions. From the direction he pointed us in we soon found the Riad's signs and followed them to the door.
The decor of the Riad is gorgeous without being over the top. All the common areas are well furnished, comfortable and home-y. The staff there are too good to be true! It's a family-run riad, and you really do feel like part of the family. I only wish my French or Spanish was better so we could have conversed better!
Our room, although a double, was technically a triple, giving us enough room for our enourmous packs. We had our own bathroom with a shower which gave great hot water. Our bed was the most comfortable we've slept on for ages, quite firm, just how we like it. Everything was very clean. If you want dinner, you just have to ask staff during the day. It might sound a bit expensive (about 130dhm per person) but it was some of the best food we had in Morocco, a real home-cooked three course meal.
The riad is also really quiet, and somehow gives a great buffer from the hustle and bustle of the meknes medina outside.
All in all, an excellent riad, worth every dirham!!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caitlyn086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roosendaal, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2010

The host Jonas and his staff made our stay very pleasant. Riad Zahraa is nicely situated in the medina. The way to the riad is indicated by signs, so we could find it ourselves. The rooms are small but comfortable. As we hired three rooms we had a separate part of the riad to our own and lots of privacy. The food was fresh and very good. Our daughter was ill, but due to the care of Jonas and his medicinal tea she was quick back on her feet. Our thanks to the very nice staff who made our stay in Meknes very pleasant. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McTenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2010

I stayed in Riad Zahraa with my boyfriend only for 1 night in March, but i am sure we are going back as soon as possible.
We arrived there very exhausted, tired and the first person who we met in the riad was the manager who showed us extreme hospitality. He was the friendliest person i have ever met in tourism. The Riad itself is beautiful, lively, clean. The breakfast was also cool.
In one word: everything is above the expectations.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brigi N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

Much nicer decor than suggested in the pictures. Rooms were very comfortable. Common area was peaceful, tastefully decorated and staff were friendly and helpful. Would certainly go back.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank looking4unusual
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Meknes hotels
0.1 mi away
Riad Idrissi
Riad Idrissi
#22 of 43 in Meknes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.2 mi away
Riad Yacout
Riad Yacout
#2 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Hiba Meknes
Riad Hiba Meknes
#9 of 43 in Meknes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Riad Meknes
Riad Meknes
#35 of 43 in Meknes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.1 mi away
Riad Amazigh Meknes
Riad Amazigh Meknes
#4 of 43 in Meknes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
0.9 mi away
Ryad Bab Berdaine
Ryad Bab Berdaine
#12 of 43 in Meknes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ryad Zahraa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ryad Zahraa

Property: Ryad Zahraa
Address: 5 Derb Abdellah El Kasri, Touta, Meknes 50000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Meknes-Tafilalet Region > Meknes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 43 B&Bs / Inns in Meknes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ryad Zahraa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riad Zahraa is an andalusian guest house situated in the heart of the medina in Meknes, Morocco. Its proximity to hammams, souks, mosques... makes it an ideal place for cultural enlightenment. It is composed of two suites and four rooms, a pacio and a splendid terrace with a view on all the medina. Most of its furniture and decoration are deliberately intended to allow tourists discover real Moroccan arts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ryad Zahraa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing