We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Marrakech
MACMA Musee d'Art et de Culture de Marrakech
Open today: 10:00 AM - 7:00 PM
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on Tripadvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Google
Recommended experiences in and around Marrakech
from $30.90
More Info
from $27.03
More Info
from $29.43
More Info
from $117.71
More Info
Reviews (135)
Filter reviews
135 results
Traveler rating
89
31
8
5
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
89
31
8
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews on display gueliz paintings exhibition bookshop century multilingual maroccan visitors
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 135 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2020

We bought the combined ticket for MACMA & The Orientalist Museum. The MACMA largely consists of photos many dated around 1890. Many attractions in Marrakech are described as museums but in fact differ greatly in character, content and the time needed to appreciate them. There is a lot of competition so I can see why many others have been quite critical of MACMA. Even walking through at a snail's pace we were done within 30 mins or so. Still, there were many interesting items. A case of old guns, another of jewelry and headwear; silverware and glassware; ornately carved wooden doors and panels; some mid 20th-century living room items. The photo and (limited) details of Mohammed 5 were very educational but so much more could be said. I suppose it is expecting too much to have multi-lingual audio guides but visitors would get much more out of their visit if there were more details of what is on display otherwise we simply cannot fully appreciate what we are looking at. We simply look, move on and forget. I must admit I had to look at my holiday photos to remind me of what I had seen & already forgotten -within 2 weeks! Please tell us what we are looking at or something about the context or what it tells us about the past. Teach us about the Morrocan culture and history because honestly, I had no idea and then you will deliver much greater value and provide a more rewarding cultural experience.

Date of experience: December 2019
1  Thank FrankMoffatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe S, Directeur général at MACMA Musee d'Art et de Culture de Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded January 2, 2020

Dear Sir, we really appreciate your advice which underlines some aspeccts of our museum. First, we intent to immerse the visitor in a sensorial feeling of what the reality of Morocco culture is. That's why we confront the pictures with real objects of approximatively the same period and regions. Secondly it is in our plans to improve the information about the photos and artpieces we rare exposing, but as a totally private museum we need more time to share enough budget to invest in tools as audio-guides.We also plan to organise guide tours on requests. At the opposite of Europe, Marocco is not so evoluated in itscultural politic, and many of the museums you see are the will of private auctionners.
We also try to develop the panels for more explanations, but it takes a wide place on the wall and not all visitors appreciate to read more thant to see.
Reading your comment, we are happy to discover you have such a great interest in Moroccan culture and History and that it motivates your visit in our two museums. Hope you will come again to see how we improve every day the purpose of our museums. We whish you a very nice new year and a pleasant stay in Morocco.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2019 via mobile

Overpriced, little museum. Good photos but not appealing enough for 70 dhs.

This is the third Moroccan museum with really iritating feature: the (supposedly) old stuff in showcases have no explanation of whatsoever. Every place with pictures, art, photos, i.e. stuff hanging from the wall have descriptions, but weapons, ceramics, jewelry etc. in the showcases...nothing.

Date of experience: November 2019
Thank KariL449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christophe S, Directeur général at MACMA Musee d'Art et de Culture de Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2019

"Yet anaother diappointing museum"? It seems that you had some illusions about the promises of your trip. We surely regret your appreciation of our museum and its information, even we do have wide panels exlplaining the context and theme of each room. May be you did not read them. Our artpieces are presented in regard (or confrontation) with the pictures to create a specific atmosphere and to let the visitor feeling its own perception of the past realities of Morocco. Our intent is to offer you an impressive experience. But of course, it does not work with anybody. We stay open to any suggestions from you to improve our purpose. Hope you will find some other satisfactions in the ocher city. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2019 via mobile

The MACMA is just a small museum with old Photographs about Maroccan Life in the 1870 to 1950s. Nice but overpriced in my opinion (70 DH).
Most of the reviews which refer to Eurpean painters and other art could be the Orienalist Museum in the Medinah. You can buy a combined ticket at both places which saves you around 20 DH. That museum is actually very nice but is a completely different building and exhibition.

Date of experience: May 2019
Thank Salvador7519
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
486christophe, Directeur général at MACMA Musee d'Art et de Culture de Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded May 4, 2019

Dear Salvador,
Thank you for your visit in our museums. But we are quite surprised by your opinion on reviews. As far as we know, you seem to post regularly comments on Trip Advisor, and we can ensure you that we stay careful at any advice on us. The comment you read are completely spontaneous and independent on us even you find them to positive in your views. As you can give us any suggestion to ameliorate our purpose and presentations, we would be pleased to get in contact with you by message (through Trip, our facebook or google pages). Waiting for your news and good ideas.
Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2018 via mobile

This is a very small museum. It has one floor with few paintings and one changing exhibition.
It is overpriced- 50 DHS.
I would pass.

Date of experience: November 2018
Thank Rachel_F_Sydney_Aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
486christophe, Directeur général at MACMA Musee d'Art et de Culture de Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded November 10, 2018

Dear Rachel, of course we do regret your appreciation of our museum. Art is a question of emotion, but as far as we feel, the "cost" (less than 5 euros) seems to have reduced any part of yours. I hope you did compared our prices with the ones of some other private museums or attractions in Marrakesh. Hopefully for us, our "few paintings" and 11 roms interested a lot of people and among them the actor Will Smith, the designer John Galliano or the President of Spanish Parliament. Anyway, we wish you a pleasant low cost stay in our ocher city.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 6, 2018

The museum offers a view of the paintings of modern artists, presented in an old town house with historic features.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Steen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
486christophe, Directeur général at MACMA Musee d'Art et de Culture de Marrakech, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2018

Thank you Steen. Really the historical "french area" of Marrakech The Gueliz is also an interesting patrimoine. We try to defend and protect him. Your comment can help.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews