We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Just amazing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Armelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Armelle
Ranked #375 of 1,177 Marrakech B&B and Inns
West Midlands
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just amazing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2012

Hello

Great stay here are the details as to why:

Location: -

You can get a bus from airport (very cheap) which stops outside the old wall to save on taxi fares (buses and taxis cannot come in to the old wall) - then you have to walk straight down cobbled street which is a market area, looks very dirty and full of locals (BUT REMEBER THIS IS A NORMAL PATH TO ANY RIAD). If you get lost ask someone they will help you as they are really nice and it would be nice to tip them a little. You then walk in to a large door with a handle and a lady opens the large door then it is WOW - 10 minute walk to main centre

Staff
So friendly - will help you with any queries you may have - My mother, sister and I loved Baoji (I think her name was the maid) she is was soo lovely and so were the two managers Samir and Mohammed.

The Riad

So beautiful and unique and clean. Only a few other poeple as only 5 rooms I think. High walls block anybody looking in. So secluded once you are inside.

Food

First night ate at Samirs food, a bit pricey and very tiny portions, and food was not to our taste, for dessert we got fruit that looked pretty, but not nice. For starters it was a salad, the main a small piece of chicken with prunes, and fruit fpor desert. It was all presented nicely but I think it was minimum £25 per head - not worth it at all and a big let down. We were soo hungary and then we went to the main square and got a mc donalds
Don't eat from the stall in the main square we had food poisioning, we stuck to macdonalds and kfc.

Excursions

Definitely go to the Atlas mountaing booked through Mohammed which was great - the people in the mountains are really nice and the tagine there is actually really nice and fresh

Went to the YSL gardens ok

Shopping - haggle with the market people in the main square

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Riya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    35
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
122
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madrid
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

I was so surprise about everything in this Riad. Somethin crasy it s old and new. The service was excellent and everythin was clean and well done

Room Tip: All the room are nice but with different style is up to everyone
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Malissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

Totally awesome, beautifully renovated and tastefully decorated.
The location is ideal. you are in an oasis of calm
The staff are the most fun we have ever seen, highly recommended!

Room Tip: Each room has its charm
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Martens D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed in the Bab Sahara, the lowest offer, and I only have good things to say. The two French owners were extremely nice and greatly invested their time to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was out of this world (yet very local!), and the service was impeccable.

The Riad is placed perfectly for those looking for a full Marrakesh experience. It's directly next to Bab Doukkala and you are surrounded by the beauty of the Medina.

It was in every way worth the stay and I recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: Cheapest is Bab Sahara Best quality are Marjana and the Sultan However all the rooms are bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

A 15 minute walk from the souks, this beautiful Riad is located in the heart of the Old City. Down an ally (as all Riads are), behind a beautiful door.... heaven awaits. We were swept back in time as we walked from the taxi, down a street of food markets and mopeds thru the hustle and bustle of the Morrocon people and their true daily life. A two minute walk to catch a taxi if you wanted.... or in a location to walk the entire city. Sad, the manager, was amazing. At night, we stayed in and had the greatest meal, cooked and served to you by their master chef. ( we ate here 3 nights out of 4). For a TRUE experience of a lifetime, this was the best trip I have ever had! I would recommend Riad Armelle to everyone and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsthelatest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Riad Armelle, oh where do you start, an amazing Riad in Marrakech - complete retreat with all the added touches of a Morrocan delight. Slightly away from the hustle and bustle of Jemaa El Fna but close enough (within a short pleasent walk) to get to all the action and sights in Marrakech. This Riad took our experience of holidaying to a new level. The dinner cooked by the French chef was also amazing.....I would love the recipes. We stayed in the Sultan suite and it was defintely a room fit for a king. Peaceful, intricate details and very very clean. Thank you Riad Armelle for a fabulous stay. We will always recommend your Riad to our friends and family visiting Morocco.

Room Tip: If you can its worth paying the little bit extra to stay in Sultan suite. Its amazing! Also make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanna8577
Level Contributor
72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We couldn't have made a better accomodation choice for our first visit to Marrakech. It's a much needed oasis of calm at the bustling centre of the old town. We pre-booked a taxi from the airport via email (cost €15, which was very much worth it) which worked perfectly. The hotel's a five minute walk from the Bab Doukkala gate, and a 15 minute walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa ("the big square), so it's very conveniently located. The hotel staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful (although only the manager speaks English – shame my French is terrible!). We received a free upgrade and stayed in the spectacular Sultane suite. The breakfast is gorgeous and the two dinners we had at the riad were the best we had during our entire stay (and we went to some of the top rated restaurants around). Us both being vegetarians wasn't an issue at all! The terrace and plunge pool were great. The only improvement I can come to think of would be to have some little visitors' guide that explained the "house rules" – simple things like check-out times, how much the meals are etc as this was not always clear and staff was not always around. These things were never a problem but I think it would've made us feel even more comfortable in treating this as our own home, as we were welcomed to do! Other than this, an absolutely flawless stay. The only reason for not praising riad Armelle would be that we'd like to keep this absolutely magical gem all to ourselves…

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanna8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.0 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#269 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad 58 Blu
Riad 58 Blu
#38 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 657 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Ifoulki
Riad Ifoulki
#221 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#53 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 1,127 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad L'Orchidee
Riad L'Orchidee
#152 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Azoulay
Riad Azoulay
#24 of 505 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Armelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Armelle

Property: Riad Armelle
Address: 23 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #375 of 1,177 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Armelle 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 M inside the walls, in a picturesque area of the Medina. Alive with the colors and perfumes of Arabia, you can wander through the "Souikka Bab Doukkala" (small arabic market) which is enjoyed by both Moroccans and visitors alike. The Riad Armelle offers a haven of calm and comfort in the authentic style of the traditional eastern Riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Armelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing