We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Unforgettable stay, a must when in Marrakesh.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Riad Armelle

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Riad Armelle
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   23 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #390 of 1,170 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Atlanta
1 review
“Unforgettable stay, a must when in Marrakesh.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2011

We stayed in the Bab Sahara, the lowest offer, and I only have good things to say. The two French owners were extremely nice and greatly invested their time to make sure we had everything we needed. The food was out of this world (yet very local!), and the service was impeccable.

The Riad is placed perfectly for those looking for a full Marrakesh experience. It's directly next to Bab Doukkala and you are surrounded by the beauty of the Medina.

It was in every way worth the stay and I recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Room Tip: Cheapest is Bab Sahara Best quality are Marjana and the Sultan However all the rooms are bea...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    34
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
120
5
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2011

A 15 minute walk from the souks, this beautiful Riad is located in the heart of the Old City. Down an ally (as all Riads are), behind a beautiful door.... heaven awaits. We were swept back in time as we walked from the taxi, down a street of food markets and mopeds thru the hustle and bustle of the Morrocon people and their true daily life. A two minute walk to catch a taxi if you wanted.... or in a location to walk the entire city. Sad, the manager, was amazing. At night, we stayed in and had the greatest meal, cooked and served to you by their master chef. ( we ate here 3 nights out of 4). For a TRUE experience of a lifetime, this was the best trip I have ever had! I would recommend Riad Armelle to everyone and cannot wait to go back.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank itsthelatest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Riad Armelle, oh where do you start, an amazing Riad in Marrakech - complete retreat with all the added touches of a Morrocan delight. Slightly away from the hustle and bustle of Jemaa El Fna but close enough (within a short pleasent walk) to get to all the action and sights in Marrakech. This Riad took our experience of holidaying to a new level. The dinner cooked by the French chef was also amazing.....I would love the recipes. We stayed in the Sultan suite and it was defintely a room fit for a king. Peaceful, intricate details and very very clean. Thank you Riad Armelle for a fabulous stay. We will always recommend your Riad to our friends and family visiting Morocco.

Room Tip: If you can its worth paying the little bit extra to stay in Sultan suite. Its amazing! Also make su...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hanna8577
Level Contributor
66 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We couldn't have made a better accomodation choice for our first visit to Marrakech. It's a much needed oasis of calm at the bustling centre of the old town. We pre-booked a taxi from the airport via email (cost €15, which was very much worth it) which worked perfectly. The hotel's a five minute walk from the Bab Doukkala gate, and a 15 minute walk from Jemaa el-Fnaa ("the big square), so it's very conveniently located. The hotel staff is exceedingly friendly and helpful (although only the manager speaks English – shame my French is terrible!). We received a free upgrade and stayed in the spectacular Sultane suite. The breakfast is gorgeous and the two dinners we had at the riad were the best we had during our entire stay (and we went to some of the top rated restaurants around). Us both being vegetarians wasn't an issue at all! The terrace and plunge pool were great. The only improvement I can come to think of would be to have some little visitors' guide that explained the "house rules" – simple things like check-out times, how much the meals are etc as this was not always clear and staff was not always around. These things were never a problem but I think it would've made us feel even more comfortable in treating this as our own home, as we were welcomed to do! Other than this, an absolutely flawless stay. The only reason for not praising riad Armelle would be that we'd like to keep this absolutely magical gem all to ourselves…

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hanna8577
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011

I've visited Marrakesh several times and stayed in different areas of the Medina. This area is less touristy and has a lovely feel. There is a vibrant food market here on your doorstep. The walk to the Jemaa el Fnaa is interesting and felt very safe. It's very close to the gate of Bab Doukkala so you can easily access the new part if you want, which is handy for places like Jardin Majorelle.

The riad has been beautifully restored with a lot of attention to detail and all the rooms are very individual. We were encouraged to make use of the riad and to treat it "like home", which was amazing as we were the only guests. Saad and Samir made us feel very at home here. We only intended to stay one night because it is quite expensive. We were a group of 3 friends and had a fabulous room so sharing the cost made it well worth it for us and we stayed 3 nights.

The meal we ate there was delicious. Reading other reviews here I can see many people have commented on Samir's fine cooking too.

If you're looking for something special -treat yourself. It's calm and tranquil here with a real sense of peace.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank elhals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Granite Bay, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

This quiet and relaxing place is located in the heart of the hussle and bussle of Marrakech yet one would not know it once you step into the Riad. The staff is fabulous. The food is outstanding. The rooms are individually unique, extremely clean and comfortable. Each room is decorated in such a way that you feel you are sleeping in a beautiful boutique. The rooftop patio is a wonderful place for friends to gather after a long day of shopping and sightseeing. I highly recommend the Riad Armelle for even the most picky of travelers.

Room Tip: There are only 5 rooms but I would choose any of the 5. They are all quiet and cozy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sueharter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

My first time to Marrakech and was very happy to have a nice place to stay with great staff running the riad. The rooms were all decorated so nice and they had air conditioning, a big plus for those hot days. The food was great and we felt at home. If you are planning on staying in the heart of Marrakech and want to experience something besides a big, fancy, overpriced hotel, this was a nice change.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MemoreeM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.0 mi away
Riad Ifoulki
Riad Ifoulki
#239 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Moucharabieh
Riad Moucharabieh
#269 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 73 reviews
1.6 mi away
Riad Daria
Riad Daria
#248 of 505 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dar Catalina
Dar Catalina
#140 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 297 reviews
1.0 mi away
Riad Limouna
Riad Limouna
#40 of 1,170 in Marrakech
5.0 of 5 stars 482 reviews
0.0 mi away
Riad Sahara Nour
Riad Sahara Nour
#482 of 1,170 in Marrakech
4.5 of 5 stars 26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Armelle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Armelle

Property: Riad Armelle
Address: 23 Derb l'Hotel | Bab Doukkala, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #390 of 1,170 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Riad Armelle 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located 200 M inside the walls, in a picturesque area of the Medina. Alive with the colors and perfumes of Arabia, you can wander through the "Souikka Bab Doukkala" (small arabic market) which is enjoyed by both Moroccans and visitors alike. The Riad Armelle offers a haven of calm and comfort in the authentic style of the traditional eastern Riad. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Riad Armelle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing