We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely surroundings for a celebration meal” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Foundouk

Le Foundouk
Ranked #56 of 759 Restaurants in Marrakech
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $22 - $44
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Romantic, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wine and Beer
Description: Since 2002 Located in the médina near the souks.Historical district. Lunch - tea time - Apéritifs - Diner - Cocktails Morocon & International foods Open from tuesday to sunday from 12 am to 12 pm Roof terrasse with panoramic view on the Marrakech Médina Air conditioned You come with taxis ask "Place du Mokef", walking ask for "Le Musée de Marakech". To "young" guides in the médina you can offer 20 dirhams maximum.
Dumfries
Level Contributor
75 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Lovely surroundings for a celebration meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013 via mobile

Twelve of us went here for a birthday celebration. The ambiance was superb - we had a table upstairs. The waiters were very attentive and the dual menu of both French and local cuisine gave a wide choice. We were lucky to get a table as this restaurant is booked up far in advance which I think speaks volumes as to the standard of the food.

Book well in advance if you wish to dine here

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank simmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    904
    892
    317
    132
    51
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Corby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Food and Wine”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We had dinner at this restaurant on several occasions due it being nearly next door to our Riad, The food was very good and staff were helpful and fine. You might want to book on Saturday night as they were nearly full, other nights were not a problem.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Masterp77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent stylish restaurant with nice terrace”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We had a romantic dinner for two on the rooftop terrace. The evening was a bit chilly, but the gas warmers made us feel very comfortable. Excellent morrocan cuisine, very friendly staff. Great wine list. Expect 150€ for two.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Francis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Up-Market Restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I visited this restaurant after it was recommended by another guest at our Riad and it was wonderful!

In Marrakech many places are hard to find due to the many alleyways and streets however this was very easy to find due to it being well signposted & lit up outside.

Once inside it was fantastically decorated and the staff showed us to a table on the 1st floor. The music was great and we found the staff to be polite and very prompt in serving us. Reading previous reviews on trip advisor suggesting that staff were unhelpful and arrogant made us wonder if this place was a little pretenious but we didnt find that at all on our visit.

The food was fantastic but slightly on the expensive side compared to some other restaurants however they do have a large alcohol selection which is rare in Marrakech to get any alcohol at all.

Overall lovely restaurant : )

Helpful?
Thank BroganJ
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Just lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Great food, great ambience and great cocktails and/or wine. I would recommend it. We were told that the balcony was the place to dine but unfortuantely it had been raining in the morning so it was closed.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank blondie099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Foundouk also viewed

Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
Marrakech, Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region
 

Been to Le Foundouk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing