We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
$405
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Dar Rhizlane(Marrakech)
$172
$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of $233/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$158
$153
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Riad Karmela(Marrakech)
$89
$75
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of $94/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$543
$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $526/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$349
$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 22% below average rates

The price you found is 22% lower than this hotel's average rate of $280/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$251
$244
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$440
$413
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of $476/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$258
$249
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$1,048
$1,016
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 46% below average rates

The price you found is 46% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,891/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
181
42
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
42
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamir suitecookery lessonthe main squareday trippancakesroof terraceatlas mountainscovered seating areaperfect guidestalls sellingan oasisold citymint teathe hustle and bustlefresh orange juiceday bedarrange trips
Filter
Updating list...
135 - 140 of 230 reviews
Reviewed December 30, 2012

We only stayed one night before starting our tour. The Riad was a bit too far from the main square for us to find our way on the first night. But it was an interesting local neighbourhood that we would have explored more if we had stayed longer.
We had an evening meal in the Riad which was fresh and tasty, and we could drink the wine that we had brought with us.
The room was beatifully decorated, but it was small and the bathroom was particularly cramped. Unfortunately we could hear when the person upstairs flushed the loo as it sounded as if the waste pipe was in the corner of the room. It was noisy in the morning when people started coming down for breakfast.

Room Tip: AVOID the first room on the left on the ground floor!
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CheshireCat_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is my second trip to Marrakesh and also my second time staying at Riad Shaden. This is a beautiful Riad with five star accomodations situated in the district of Bab Aylen. The rooms are all beautifully decorated in a very typical Moroccan style. My room this time around was the `Quarda Suite` which is an extremely spacious room with a very stylish shower room complete with brass sink. The Riad is run by a very efficient staff of five who go over and above to make sure your stay is a memorable one. Youssef ( manager) and Siad both greet you with a lovely smile to start your day and help you with anything you wish to organize, whether it be a trip to the Atlas mountains, Sahara Desert or relaxing in a Hamam. If staying in the Riad for an evening meal I can highly recommend the `lamb and prune tagine`, delicious! I believe you can also arrange to have a cookery lesson so you can prepare a tagine when you return home.
I had a fabulous time in Marrakesh, I took a trip to the Sahara which was a great experience, rode on a camel and slept in a `hyma` tent.
I do hope to go back again in a couple of years and most probably it will be to stay again at Riad Shaden.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our two grown up daughters and my husband and I had a wonderful 4 days at Riad Shaden - the 5 charming staff looked after us quite beautifully and one night when one daughter was too under the weather to go out for supper - attractively presented poached eggs arrived within minutes of requesting something. Really an oasis in midst of residential old town Marrakech. lovely carved ceiling in our beautiful double room and bath too. Also not at all expensive.

They booked restaurants, arranged excellent trip to the Atlas mountians, organised cooking lesson and all in all fabulous. Would return if going back to Marrakech .

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms slightly larger I think but downstairs one had very good shower ....
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annm0nk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have visited Marrakech three times and stayed twice at the Riad Shaden. Owned by a Scot and managed by the extremely efficient English speaking Youssef and his great team. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The riad is situated in the Medine (old town) of Marrakech in a warren of streets but a member of staff will be pleased to meet you at the taxi drop off point at Bab Aylen, just a few minutes' walk away. Once inside you are in an oasis of peace and beauty and calm. The furniture is traditional, as is the riad which is on 3 floors with a sun terrace where you can relax on comfortable loungers or take mint tea under cover. All the bedrooms are en suite. Dinner can be booked in advance if you don't want to go out. The food there was the best we ate the whole holiday. You can even book a Moroccan cooking lesson with one of the team, and eat the result! Youssef can arrange trips with a very knowledgeable English speaking guide to the Atlas Mountains or camel riding with an overnight stay in a Bedouin tent which we did this year. Amazing experience! It takes 2 days to drive to the Sahara but the scenery is breathtaking and so changeable. But I cannot praise the staff of Riad Shaden enough. They went the extra mile and made our holiday so memorable. To see pictures of Riad Shaden you should Google it.

Room Tip: I would prefer a room on the first floor but that's just a personal choice.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ceanalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Marrakech was hot and slightly manic as we arrived in the bus station, arranged a taxi and made our way to Riad Schaden. We were met by a member of staff (Said) at Bab Aylen and escorted and helped with bags to the Riad. First impressions were great as the Riad is in a local Morrocan neighbourhood away from the hussle and bussle of the main square. Once in the Riad it was beautiful. The photos above don't quite do it justice.

The raid is over three floors with ground floor having communal sitting and dining with two rooms. Frist floor has four rooms and a suntrap roof terrace with shaded seating area. I was in a room on the second floor which was beautifully decorate and as with all the rooms was en suite. The shower was hot and the bed was soft (not standard throughout Morroco.)

The staff were freindly and very helpful. both Said and Yousseff spoke good English and were always on hand to make sure the trip was going as expected.

Even though the Riad is away from the business of the main square (which is brilliant to get some peace in the evening after exploring Marrakech) it's a very straightforeward 15 (20 if the streets are budy) walk to the main square.

I would happy recommend anyone to stay at Riad Schaden

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are en suite. rooms on second floor likely to be quieter as ground floor shared dining space
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews