We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Riad Shaden - A hidden gem away from the hustle and bustle”
Review of Riad Shaden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riad Shaden
Ranked #179 of 1,146 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Anstruther, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Riad Shaden - A hidden gem away from the hustle and bustle”
Reviewed November 26, 2012

This is my second trip to Marrakesh and also my second time staying at Riad Shaden. This is a beautiful Riad with five star accomodations situated in the district of Bab Aylen. The rooms are all beautifully decorated in a very typical Moroccan style. My room this time around was the `Quarda Suite` which is an extremely spacious room with a very stylish shower room complete with brass sink. The Riad is run by a very efficient staff of five who go over and above to make sure your stay is a memorable one. Youssef ( manager) and Siad both greet you with a lovely smile to start your day and help you with anything you wish to organize, whether it be a trip to the Atlas mountains, Sahara Desert or relaxing in a Hamam. If staying in the Riad for an evening meal I can highly recommend the `lamb and prune tagine`, delicious! I believe you can also arrange to have a cookery lesson so you can prepare a tagine when you return home.
I had a fabulous time in Marrakesh, I took a trip to the Sahara which was a great experience, rode on a camel and slept in a `hyma` tent.
I do hope to go back again in a couple of years and most probably it will be to stay again at Riad Shaden.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    38
    6
    1
    0
See reviews for
35
79
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Our two grown up daughters and my husband and I had a wonderful 4 days at Riad Shaden - the 5 charming staff looked after us quite beautifully and one night when one daughter was too under the weather to go out for supper - attractively presented poached eggs arrived within minutes of requesting something. Really an oasis in midst of residential old town Marrakech. lovely carved ceiling in our beautiful double room and bath too. Also not at all expensive.

They booked restaurants, arranged excellent trip to the Atlas mountians, organised cooking lesson and all in all fabulous. Would return if going back to Marrakech .

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms slightly larger I think but downstairs one had very good shower ....
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank annm0nk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I have visited Marrakech three times and stayed twice at the Riad Shaden. Owned by a Scot and managed by the extremely efficient English speaking Youssef and his great team. Nothing is too much trouble for them. The riad is situated in the Medine (old town) of Marrakech in a warren of streets but a member of staff will be pleased to meet you at the taxi drop off point at Bab Aylen, just a few minutes' walk away. Once inside you are in an oasis of peace and beauty and calm. The furniture is traditional, as is the riad which is on 3 floors with a sun terrace where you can relax on comfortable loungers or take mint tea under cover. All the bedrooms are en suite. Dinner can be booked in advance if you don't want to go out. The food there was the best we ate the whole holiday. You can even book a Moroccan cooking lesson with one of the team, and eat the result! Youssef can arrange trips with a very knowledgeable English speaking guide to the Atlas Mountains or camel riding with an overnight stay in a Bedouin tent which we did this year. Amazing experience! It takes 2 days to drive to the Sahara but the scenery is breathtaking and so changeable. But I cannot praise the staff of Riad Shaden enough. They went the extra mile and made our holiday so memorable. To see pictures of Riad Shaden you should Google it.

Room Tip: I would prefer a room on the first floor but that's just a personal choice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ceanalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Marrakech was hot and slightly manic as we arrived in the bus station, arranged a taxi and made our way to Riad Schaden. We were met by a member of staff (Said) at Bab Aylen and escorted and helped with bags to the Riad. First impressions were great as the Riad is in a local Morrocan neighbourhood away from the hussle and bussle of the main square. Once in the Riad it was beautiful. The photos above don't quite do it justice.

The raid is over three floors with ground floor having communal sitting and dining with two rooms. Frist floor has four rooms and a suntrap roof terrace with shaded seating area. I was in a room on the second floor which was beautifully decorate and as with all the rooms was en suite. The shower was hot and the bed was soft (not standard throughout Morroco.)

The staff were freindly and very helpful. both Said and Yousseff spoke good English and were always on hand to make sure the trip was going as expected.

Even though the Riad is away from the business of the main square (which is brilliant to get some peace in the evening after exploring Marrakech) it's a very straightforeward 15 (20 if the streets are budy) walk to the main square.

I would happy recommend anyone to stay at Riad Schaden

Room Tip: Each of the rooms are en suite. rooms on second floor likely to be quieter as ground floor shared di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northumberland National Park, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed October 8, 2012

Just like being in your own home, was what they told us when we arrived, and how true that was. Except in my own home I don't have the wonderful smiling 24 hour service that we received at Riad Shaden.
Rooms were comfortable and spotlessly clean.
Food was excellent, fresh and home made. Dinner is ordered in the morning and served up at whatever time you want it.
The terrace is a lovely place to relax and enjoy the sun.
Youssef and Said are excellent hosts, speaking fluent English as well as several other languages.
This lovely Riad really made our holiday, thanks to all.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cockothenorth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Marrakech is an amazing place with great weather and lovely people. I personally have stayed in lots of hotels in lots of places and our stay here was definitely up among the best.
Staff cannot do enough for you, our room (can't remember the name) was well appointed, food was excellent.
Marrakech itself is a full on place but great fun if you can take it all in your stride. Bargains galore to be had in the souks if you are prepared to haggle, cheap eats all over the medina, and enough palaces and museums for the culture lovers.
We spoke to people who were staying in big hotels outside the medina and we were glad we had decided to book a riad for the authentic Marrakech experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KC543
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the first minute we arrived from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech the riad was lovely, clean and most welcoming.
Over the period of our stay we got to know all the staff and can't thank them enough for their hospitality and friendship.
You cannot surpass the breakfasts and evening meals were out of this world.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Marrakech as a holiday destination and in particular Riad Shaden.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CHart55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
1.2 mi away
Riad Porte Royale
Riad Porte Royale
#249 of 499 in Marrakech
65 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Linda
Riad Linda
#115 of 1,146 in Marrakech
254 reviews
1.2 mi away
Riad Chameleon
Riad Chameleon
#122 of 1,146 in Marrakech
85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
Riad Les 5 Soeurs
#358 of 1,146 in Marrakech
173 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#312 of 1,146 in Marrakech
178 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Hannah City Hotel
Riad Hannah City Hotel
#925 of 1,146 in Marrakech
432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shaden

Property: Riad Shaden
Address: 222 Derb El Kadi, Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #179 of 1,146 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shaden 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a traditional area in the east of the medina, yet only a 15 minute walk from Djemaa al Fna, Riad Shaden is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The property has a total of 6 bedrooms (2 suites and 4 standard double/twin rooms). All rooms are ensuite, with reversible air conditioning, flat screen TVs, complementary toiletries and safes. There is a spacious central courtyard, a cosy living room and a sunny and secluded roof terrace with sunbeds and parasols. Breakfast is included in the room rate, with additional meals available on request. Cookery lessons are available, which include a shopping trip to the local market. Riad Shaden's staff speak English, French and Spanish and are available 24 hours a day. They are happy to assist with booking day trips, golf, restaurants and hammams, as well as providing general advice about what to see and do in Marrakech. Riad Shaden's English speaking driver is available for airport transfers, as well as day trips and longer excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Prestigia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Riad Shaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shaden Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing