We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A brilliant stay at Riad Shaden”
Review of Riad Shaden

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Riad Shaden
Ranked #178 of 1,160 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 4, 2012

From the first minute we arrived from the hustle and bustle of Marrakech the riad was lovely, clean and most welcoming.
Over the period of our stay we got to know all the staff and can't thank them enough for their hospitality and friendship.
You cannot surpass the breakfasts and evening meals were out of this world.
We would have no hesitation in recommending Marrakech as a holiday destination and in particular Riad Shaden.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CHart55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (199)
There are newer reviews for Riad Shaden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 199 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2012

Just got back from a weeks stay at the riad shaden, We have never stayed at a riad before and thought that we would take a chance. We booked directly and the owner had agreed to include transfers from the airport. We were taken to he riad where we were met by very friendly staff and had the pleasure of meeting the owner.

We were never rushed and did not have to wake up early for breakfast, breakfast was simple, freashly made and filling. The staff were always on hand to help out and the owner was kind enough to meet us at the square to walk back with us. On another occassion Saeed came out shopping with us to help buy some gifts.

The owner arranged our excursions and made sure that we had a stress free break. It was fantastc staying at the riad, not only did it feel like a 5 star hotel it was in the heart of the community, walking in the streets made us feel apart of what the Morrocan culture was about. The local kids were FAB.

Thank you for looking after us.

Room Tip: We had booked a suite and a twin,
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mohjav786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

Tucked away at the end of a narrow derb you will find this beautiful Riad, where friendly and happy staff will take care of your every need. In a traditional Moroccan 1001 nights setting, we enjoyed 5 star service, delicious home cooking and excellent company. 10 out of 10.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LondonJoannaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2012

If you want the real Marrakech experience you have to stay in a riad, and Riad Shaden certainly ticked all the boxes for us. We booked directly with them so we were able to ask Shona (owner) lots of questions and get lots of tips and advice before we arrived.
Airport transfers, arranged in advance, are worth paying for, to avoid the airport taxi hassle, and the uncertainty of negotiating the narrow streets of the medina on your own that first time. Once we got settled in, and got our bearings, we found the walk from the riad up to the square was very direct, and we never got lost once. We were given a map and very good directions by Youssef, the manager, and his phone number in case we needed it (we didn’t, but it was still reassuring to have it).
Youssef and Said were excellent hosts, both full of local knowledge and advice on what to see and do during our stay. We followed their recommendations when deciding where to eat, as well as when booking a massage at the local hammam.
We had some good meals in the restaurants around the square, where you get a good view of all the activity going on, but the best meals we had were definitely in the riad, lovely food and excellent value at about £13 each for 3 courses.
Riad Shaden was a peaceful haven to return to after a hard day’s shopping and sightseeing, the roof terrace is a wonderful place to relax and the rooms were comfortable and well-appointed. Breakfast time is completely flexible, so no problem with either an early start or a lie-in, and every day we had something different, and all home made – pancakes, bread, cakes etc.
Marrakech itself is an experience not to be missed, very full on, but you have to accept that everyone wants to sell you something, and just take it in your stride - we didn’t find it a problem.
Would we go back? Yes, maybe one day (so many other places to go), but in the meantime we will be recommending Riad Shaden to our friends, and hope they all love it as much as we did.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2012

We stayed in the Riad Shaden for 4 nights, before moving on (Pre planned!) to a different Riad to meet with some friends. Got a great deal on one of the suites from Lastminute (Not sure which one it was - but would definitely book the same again if we revisited)

It was a lovely little haven from what many people generously call the 'hustle and bustle' of Marrakech.

The room was great - spacious and well air conditioned, decorated in what I thought was a nice mix of modern and traditional Moroccan. There was a modern flat screen TV (That never got turned on by us, but was nice to have just in case we got bored!) and the intricate tiling and plasterwork was beautiful.

Our time in the Riad was, as many other reviewers have said, made special by the great service we received from everyone while we were there.

Said was the person who we saw the most, and he very much lived up to his name in that he was unfailingly cheerful, attentive and polite to us for the whole duration of our stay. He was living on the premises too while we were staying, so was always available to help us with (Almost - more later!) anything that we needed. Youssef, the manager, also made an appearance from time to time, and he also was really very helpful and welcoming. The rest of the team comprised a couple of ladies who, although the did not seem to have the same degree of English as the boys, were very friendly, and kept the place immaculate while we were there (And also turned out some hearty and tasty food as well! Breakfast was tasty, filling and nicely presented - slightly different each day too, and the dinner that we ate was very generously portioned, and good to eat too. No food hygiene issues here!)

The team at this Riad are outstanding - from the minute that we arrived at the airport, to the day we moved on, they were there for us - and the overall level of service would be very hard to beat, wherever you were in the world I think (Especially considering we were staying towards the end of the season and for all bar one of our nights there were the only guests!)

There were one or two things that I did not enjoy as much about the stay though. I don't think either of them can really be helped, and are not failings on the part of the Riad or its staff, but it is important, I think, to mention them if the review is to be complete for other travellers - especially first timers in the city.

Firstly, the location. As many other reviewers have mentioned, it is some distance away from the main square, majority of souks and restaurants. There is a 20 minute walk required (With a map helpfully provided by Said) through some of what I imagine must be the poorest parts of the old city. Clearly a matter of taste here as to whether you enjoy the journey - many other reviewers, and my girlfriend also, seem to have loved the walk - the chance to see the 'real' Marrakech.

I, sadly for me, very quickly got tired of the traffic, the heat, the dust and exhaust fumes, dying neglected donkeys, and near constant offers of 'help' (For money, obviously - everything is for money in Marrakech) from young men with nothing better to do than try and take you on a circuitous misdirected route to the square (Or the Tanneries, regardless of whether you want to go there or not) It was bad enough having to put up with this in the centre of town all day long - I could easily have done without it just to simply get there. As I said though, not the Riad's fault that it is located where it is - and more of a reflection on certain elements of Marrakech than it is of the Riad. As the owner of the Riad has pointed out in response to another former guest's comment, there is a shorter walk to the Bab Aylen gate out of the city, where taxis are readily available - but as we found, this does add significantly to the cost of the stay overall.

Secondly, booze! First off, I know that alcohol is Haraam and that Said and Youssef are both Muslims, so I completely understand why there is no alcohol for sale in this particular Riad (The attitude varies throughout Marrakech though - the second Riad that we stayed in did sell it, and we were served it by another Muslim gentleman, also called Said. There are also a good number of better restaurants that will happily serve it to you at roughly double the cost you would pay as a local!) but I just felt that it was a bit of a pity. I was looking forward to trying the Moroccan beers and wines that are available in Marrakech, but there is nowhere within the walls of the old city that we could find, that sold it apart from the aforementioned restaurants. In order to get some 'take away' one would have to journey out of town by taxi to the supermarket. We would have eaten in the Riad more if this had been possible. Having said that, for future travellers reference, Said did not have a problem with us bringing our own beer or wine to have with dinner, but was just unable to provide or serve it for us, so if this is something that you want to be able to do, stock up at the duty free on the way is my advice.

Overall, then - an enjoyable stay, made special by the team that work in the Riad Shaden - and any complaints are more to do with uncontrollable factors than they are controllable ones.

Room Tip: All air conditioned I think, but get a suite for a few extra pounds it's worth it for the extra...
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sonofcod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad S, Owner at Riad Shaden, responded to this reviewResponded May 28, 2012

Thank you for your review of Riad Shaden, we are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and were well looked after by Said and Youssef.
The only point I would like to reply to is your comment regarding alcohol.
Like all riads in the medina (regardless of what other riads may tell you) we do not have a licence to sell alcohol, and we are in fact not allowed to keep stocks of alcohol on the premises. If we are found to be doing so we will be fined heavily (and they do check). However, there is no problem with guests consuming their own alcohol in the riad, and either Youssef or Said are happy to assist guests with purchasing this.
We note that you booked through Last Minute - while booking agents do undoubtedly offer good deals, we are always happy to offer a more competitive price if booked directly through our own website.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2012

This was by far the most expensive Riad we stayed in throughout our 3 weeks in Morocco. Although it was nice , and everything very new , i don't think it was worth what we paid for it. It is very far from the Djemaa and all the sights, shopping etc.
Our room was very nicely furnished , but small , and the bathroom so small you had to sit sideways on the toilet! We were on the ground floor , so noisy and no privacy if there were other guests there.

Room Tip: Not ground floor!
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RobCCapeTown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Riad S, Owner at Riad Shaden, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2012

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed that you chose only to make negative comments but would like to respond to them.
Riad Shaden has a range of rooms and suites at different prices. Your main concern on booking was the price, and you were therefore allocated our smallest (and least expensive) room.
Yes, you were on the ground floor, and as with any riad the ground floor rooms can be more noisy if the riad is full, hence the lower price. However we generally find that our other guests will respect the fact that people are in these rooms and keep the noise to a minimum if they are up early in the morning.
As we have recently re-modelled all our ensuite bathrooms, I am afraid I cannot believe your comment about the toilet. The bathroom in that room is small but perfectly adequate in size, and it is actually physically impossible to sit sideways on the toilet!
Our location is a very straightforward 15 minute walk to Djemaa al Fna, and most of our guests enjoy the walk, appreciating the chance to see a bit of the local area rather than just the touristy main square. We have taxis available just 2 minutes walk from the riad for the times when guests prefer not to walk.
Riad Shaden management and staff will always take on board any constructive criticism from guests, however on this occasion we are happy to say that we don't think we could have done any more to improve the experience of these guests.

Owner
Riad Shaden

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Absolutely love love loved staying at Riad Shaden- one of the best holidays I have ever been on!! My sister and I booked for 4 nights and we were blown away by the vibrant location, wonderful staff and the value of the accommodation.
Youseff and Said were so very helpful, booking hammams, restaurant reservations, escorting us to pick and drop off points and providing info on excursions (Said even prepared breakfast for us at 05.30am as we were going on an early excursion!). We also met the owners Shona and Ronnie who were a pleasure to speak to and had a vast knowledge of Marrakech and a genuine interest in the local culture. Shona was so helpful prior to our stay as I bombarded her with emails about sightseeing and taxi transfers etc! Breakfast was spot on and filled us up nicely for our busy days ahead. Rooms were cosy, clean and tastefully decorated- there were a number of rooms for guests to chill out in aside from the bedrooms which was lovely. We loved the 15 minute walk to the main square from the Riad as it gave purpose to our days and ensured we saw more of Marrakech than just the centre of the Medina. Marrakech itself was fabulous, burstling with energy and we found the locals to be very friendly. Riad Shaden is a little gem, I cannot recommend it enough. Both my sister and I felt quite emotional when saying goodbye to everyone and we will certainly be planning a further stay in the future, hopefully with all our friends next time!

Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
Thank kelly y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.7 mi away
Riad Zinoun
Riad Zinoun
#275 of 502 in Marrakech
230 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Linda
Riad Linda
#121 of 1,160 in Marrakech
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riad Marrakiss
Riad Marrakiss
#286 of 1,160 in Marrakech
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Le Marocain
Riad Le Marocain
#376 of 1,160 in Marrakech
110 reviews
0.8 mi away
Riad Hannah City Hotel
Riad Hannah City Hotel
#955 of 1,160 in Marrakech
435 reviews
0.7 mi away
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
Al Ksar Riad & Spa
#261 of 1,160 in Marrakech
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Shaden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Shaden

Address: 222 Derb El Kadi, Bab Ailen, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #178 of 1,160 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range: $45 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Shaden 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in a traditional area in the east of the medina, yet only a 15 minute walk from Djemaa al Fna, Riad Shaden is the perfect place to relax and unwind. The property has a total of 6 bedrooms (2 suites and 4 standard double/twin rooms). All rooms are ensuite, with reversible air conditioning, flat screen TVs, complementary toiletries and safes. There is a spacious central courtyard, a cosy living room and a sunny and secluded roof terrace with sunbeds and parasols. Breakfast is included in the room rate, with additional meals available on request. Cookery lessons are available, which include a shopping trip to the local market. Riad Shaden's staff speak English and French and are available 24 hours a day. They are happy to assist with booking day trips, golf, restaurants and hammams, as well as providing general advice about what to see and do in Marrakech. Riad Shaden's English speaking driver is available for airport transfers, as well as day trips and longer excursions. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Evoline ltd so you can book your Riad Shaden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Shaden Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing