We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Dar Rhizlane(Marrakech)
$172
$154
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 39% below average rates

The price you found is 39% lower than this hotel's average rate of $252/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$198
$158
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 10% below average rates

The price you found is 10% lower than this hotel's average rate of $176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Riad Karmela(Marrakech)
$75
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$385
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Riad Kniza(Marrakech)
$349
$185
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of $219/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$429
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 18% below average rates

The price you found is 18% lower than this hotel's average rate of $526/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

La Maison Arabe(Marrakech)
$258
$250
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of $300/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

$251
$208
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$591
$556
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$1,018
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of $1,366/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveler rating
181
42
6
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
42
6
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsamir suitecookery lessonthe main squareday trippancakesroof terraceatlas mountainscovered seating areaperfect guidestalls sellingan oasisold citymint teathe hustle and bustlefresh orange juiceday bedarrange trips
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 230 reviews
Reviewed March 12, 2012

We hired the whole Riad for my sisters 50th birthday and stayed for 3 nights (not long enough)!! We where a group of 15 middle aged females and enjoyed every minute from start to end.... The locals were very welcoming, the food was "different" the atmosphere, cultutre and hospitality second to none. We found our way to and from the Riad with no problems. One of our cases appeared to have been tampered with by airport staff and we were unable to unlock it, Yuseff managed to break the lock for us and replaced it with a new one, the CD player decided to pack up on us and he replaced that within hours!! now that's what I call service.

I'm certain I speak for every single person in our group when I say THANK YOU to Yusseff, Said and the ladies for making our stay at Riad Shaden one to remember and for making us feel sooo welcome. I would love to go back to Morocco and when I do I'll most definately be staying here.

When changing money, don't change too much at the airport Yusseff will take you to the square and show you where to get the best rate.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sukie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2012

az they say dnt judge a book by its cover! the outside looks decieven but wen u go in side its a diffrent story! guesthouse is bright and airy very clean and tidy, clean linen and towels! food is realy good too! the staff is very friendly and helpful, wil take u anywhere u need2 go!

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank yaz786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2012

AND THAT WAS JUST THE WALK TO THE SQUARE,
I dint know about you but if your in Rome try to just do as the Romans for if its just sun your after there are plenty of other places to go that are not so rustic.
Many reviews harp on about the walk to the main square it is about 20 mins two straight alleys and a sharp left turn in the middle, down the as we named “the 80 mtr road of a thousand potholes and chickens”
It is this walk because you are not located in the tourist areas where you get the real Moroccan experience,,,,there is poverty,hard to take but it seems happy people, colour, noise, hustle bustle, donkeys, mopeds, carts, scooters, it is mad as.
The locals do not bother you but when you get to the square and you are fair game with every conceivable seller trying to offer the “best price” and “plenty cheap” buy if you wish, haggle if that’s your game, to me its tiresome but don’t be surprised if when you get home you could have saved some money on EBAY.
Perhaps first wander back to the Riad after the excellent “Said” the assistant manager takes you to the square for the first time is maybe a little intimidating, just remembering left from right but then it clicks into place and you’re back and forth with no issue happy and safe.
Mentioning “SAID” people make places and this guy is a gem, nothing is too much trouble he is very welcoming and good at his job, he speaks English as well as French and resides at the Riad, you will feel very secure in his presence and at lights out he does his tour locking the doors and roof gate.
They [Riad staff] put on a birthday cake balloons and a decorated bed for my wife’s birthday a truly wonderful gesture, and Yousaif the manager who was on holiday during our stay took time out of his holls to come in and great us all and especially my wife.
Like I said people make places and the Shaden team are without fault.
OK the RIAD comfortable, clean and quiet, a real respite from the hustle outside, rooms are compact the suites larger and the blue tiled room is in my opinion the best appointed but has a bath not a shower, so up to you.
We dined in on the first night about £15 per head very nice and well enjoyed and the going rate for the city, no problems down below [no details required] the following nights we dined in the night market again no problems for mentioned, and since we are eating at stalls without a sink in sight perhaps we got out of jail, our friends told us to eat the chilly sauce [free accompaniment] it is as hot as hell and kills anything in your stomach LOL, the night stalls are something to be enjoyed or endured depending on your perspective, you will not get a chance to leisurely browse, you are cajoled bumped grabbed and engaged in very amusing colourful banter to get you to sit at the best, finest, freshest and cheapest stall or sit where Jamie Oliver did [he made a programme about this very area] If you don’t want this then follow the tourist police around the stalls then you can tease the guys back.
The Riad is owned by SHONA in Scotland, she is a great source of info and is very helpful and professional you feel in very safe hands all through the process.
So there you go we had a great time it is not polished 4 or 5 star it is the real Morocco and we would gladly visit again.
Oh the hanman massage as recommended by "Said" is wonderfull costs about £18 you can enjoy as a couple and your partner can keep her bottoms on, soz but can be stripped naked in some places ladies.......

Room Tip: I put excellent for location beacause we wanted something "non touristy" My suite overlooked the alley cats were a problem on two of the three nights hell of a racket, but didnt effect other guests but I am a very lite sleeper, beds were very comfy. I would try to get rooms [4] on the first floor,note one of these overlooks the cat alley, those at courtyard level [2]could be noisey if the Riad is full you want a lay in and guests want an early breakfast.
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKGAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2012

After many visits to Marrakech we found the ideal Riad but were then disappointed to find out it was up for sale, when we discovered that the owner had bought a larger establishment called Riad Shaden we had no hesitation in giving it a try as the previous Riad had been excellent. Although further from the square [10 – 15 minutes walk] we always enjoyed the walk as it gave a chance to see local life as it happened. During our stay the ongoing programme of installation of drinking water pipes meant some roads were in the process of being dug up, as with the other areas where this has happened I am sure that the road surfaces will be restored soon.

We were impressed by the size of the rooms at Shaden as riad rooms tend to be on the small side, the whole riad was tastefully decorated and comfortable in the evening we had dinner in the lounge and we would recommend that anyone staying should try at least one meal as the standard of cooking is fantastic and we also found it to be competitively priced.

The owner has retained most of her original staff and we found that Youssef and Said spoke excellent English and one or other was always on hand to help us, we were particularly pleased they were there to help when we ran into a few problems due to rain during our camping trips and feel they went beyond the call of duty and always made us feel nothing was too much trouble.

The ladies kept the whole riad immaculately clean and would provide welcome drinks whenever asked.

To sum up having stayed in many riads in Marrakech over the last 10 years we find that the whole package on offer at Riad Shaden will compel us to return again and again.

Thanks to all the staff.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SOLOS2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2011

We are an aged couple; we booked our holiday throw an agency (wich is not great, better to do it directly with the hotel). We booked transfer with different agency, when we arrived at the airport we did not find the name of the agency, but the manager of Riad shaden who called “Youssef” sent us his own driver and brought us until the riad (wich I really like and special thanks to youssef). He welcomed us with mint tea and great smile wich means everything for us. He gave us helpful maps and directions wich everyone need in an other country (especially our age). We booked too different excursions, which we really liked and recommend to everyone: Berber village&Kassbaa. Abdul was our driver, very careful and informative.
The meals in the Riad is wonderful and the staff can give you what ever you like. You are not obliged to select the whole menu (as in most of hotels) we order one thing everyday and the staff was really attentive to our needs.
Marrakech is good place to visit; Riad Shaden is the best place to stay.

Room Tip: We stayed in the orange room, very calm and relaxing, the bathroom was not good but they promised to change them all in January
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jo S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews