We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An amazing relaxing”
Review of Riad Ta'achchaqa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Riad Ta'achchaqa
Ranked #478 of 1,139 Marrakech B&B and Inns
Kochi
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“An amazing relaxing”
Reviewed February 7, 2010

We had a lovely time. The location was excellent, only 6 mins walk to main square, 1 min to the souqs, and yet the Riad was a peaceful cool oasis from the bustle of the souqs. The Riad itself was very attractive, service was excellent, breakfast delicious, as was the one evening meal we had there (good value for money). It was not as hard to find as we expected after reading other reviews if you follow the detailed directions word for word. We would highly recommend the Riad Ta'achchaqa to others.

  • Liked — All
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank AAvinash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    33
    7
    10
    3
See reviews for
13
79
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2009

Riad Ta'achchaqa is a beautiful and tranquil riad in the centre of the medina of Marrakech, in easy reach of the souks and Jemaa el Fna. Frederic and Michelle, the French owners, are incredibly helpful and will provide you with all the information you need to explore the city, as well as making restaurant reservations and organising taxis. I strongly recommend emailing Frederic to organise a taxi from the airport as the riad is very difficult to find if you have not been before. Breakfast was fantastic on the terrace, and the service throughout our stay was genuine, attentive and warm. Highly recommended, we will definately return.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank at2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2009

The owner arranged a taxi from the airport and the driver took us to the riad, otherwise I don't think we'd have found it. The riad itself was stunning; from the decor, to the room, to the service. The owner is very knowledgeable and more than happy to advise you on anything from sightseeing to where to eat. We had a wonderful few days.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank teacher19858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2009

Honestly, having stayed here for 5 nights, I can say that this is one of the nicest hotels/b&bs I've stayed at for the price. Whoever NJ Sherlock is, is talking absolute rubbish...

Yes, it's hard to find, but so is anything in the middle of the Medina in Marrakech. Make sure you either know where you're going, or arrange a cab through the riad itself when you book the room: the driver will lead you through the backstreets to the front door of the riad. If you don't like something different and interesting, then go to Eurodisney.

Our hosts were friendly and welcoming, the night porter was a lovely gentle man who always welcomed us in and made us the odd mint tea when we needed it, and even the riad's cat was a complete darling.

The riad is beautiful, and the rooms are lovely - it felt like we were in another world. We were as happy just hanging out at the riad as we were cruising through Marrakech. It was, tranquil, light, spacious and airy. And it was a treat to be staying in the middle of the Medina, walking distance away from everything.

And the breakfasts were just right - morrocan pancakey things, French pastries, spreads, and nice coffee.

Negatives? The hot water supply wasn't always great - sometimes it bordered on lukewarm. Oh, and it helps if you speak a bit of French (of the hosts, the husband speaks English, but the wife doesn't speak much). But that's about it.

I sort of regret saying it (because I want to keep it to myself) but you should stay here if you visit Marrakech. It's lovely.

  • Liked — Location and decor
  • Disliked — Hot water was a little dodgy from time to time
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank MatAmsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan
Level Contributor
189 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2008

We stayed there for 2 days and we really enjoyed it. The rooms are well furnished and spotless. The staff was kind and helpful.
We also had dinner there one night and it was really really good.
The owners arranged also hammam just for two of us and were always ready to give us suggestions.
There is also a nice terrace where you can have breakfast in the morning.
Don't let you negatively be impressed by the location. The Riad is at the end of some narrow streets, but however it is not far from the main square (10/15 minutes walking) and going around is safe also during the night.

  • Liked — Staff's kindness, room, location
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Vally81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2008

Avoid this disgraceful 'hotel'. It will take you hours to find even with the manager's own directions, but this is far from the worst of it. On arriving we were given a warm reception, but this is where our pleasant experience ended. The Riad is largely unstaffed and we only saw management in the hotel on 1 occasion over a 2 day stay. We were unable to get any drinks, even water, during the evening or day due to the absence of staff.

The worst point came at the end of our stay. On the night before my departure I arrived back at the hotel in the evening, and a night porter demanded to use my phone (costing me £1.50 a minute) so that he could call the manager and add up my bill. Reluctantly I allowed this, and he spent almost 5 minutes trying to calculate my bill. When I asked to pay by Mastercard he again called the manager on my phone (another 5 minutes), before handing me over to the manager who verbally abused me and accused me of being a thief because I was not carrying cash. He demanded that I go to the cash machine (a 45 minute walk away, at 11pm), because he did not want his porter to use the card machine and he couldn't be bothered to come to the Riad himself. He was rude, threatening and confrontational, and I would strongly recommend against staying in this Riad.

The room was an acceptable quality, but it was far too dark and there was no hot water. Staff are only rarely present, particularly in the evening, so do not expect to be able to get drinks or snacks.

This Riad is billed as a 5* luxury hotel, but don't believe a word of it. The hotel itself is, at best, adequate, and the customer service is appauling. If you do not want to be neglected, threatened or abused, then go elsewhere. There are hundreds of great Riads in Marrakesh, so pay a bit extra and don't settle for this rubbish.

  • Liked — Nothing that stands out
  • Disliked — Threats, insults and abuse from management - Absence of staff
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank NJSherlock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2008

The riad is positively beautiful and luxurious! The decor is amazing and very romantic, and the beds are very comfortable. Our ensuite bathroom was very convenient (of course) and the shower was plenty hot! There was no A/C, however. The rooftop is very nice, though not particularly large. There are a couple of benches about, and a nice area to sit (covered to protect one from the harsh Moroccan sun).

The location, however, leaves something to be desired. A lot of something. It is extremely difficult to find, even using the owners' directions. It's down a lot of winding pathways with uneven footing, so one must be careful even in the day time (especially with all of those motor bikes that are so prevalent in Marrakech). At night, it is dangerous walking home to the riad- not because of theft, but because of the uneven footing potentially causing a broken ankle. There is no lighting in the entire derb, so we had to literally feel our way home during sunset by holding onto walls. I even started to walk into someone's home because it's impossible to see the door numbers. If you bring a flashlight, you'll be fine as long as you're pretty sure-footed.

Also, we read somewhere that this riad is two minutes from the Jemaa el Fna. That is entirely inaccurate. Even motorbikes can't make it in two minutes. It's definitely 2 minutes from the Souks area, but probably more like a 15-minute walk to the main square.

Overall, this is a very nice riad. I think we'd recommend it most for people who are on a honeymoon and like staying in a romantic room :) . As long as you're sure-footed, remember a flash light, and don't mind a winding walk to the Jemaa, it's a nice place. The owners are also very nice.

  • Liked — cleanliness; rooms
  • Disliked — location, location, location!
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank celia929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Marrakech hotels
0.4 mi away
Riad El Sagaya
Riad El Sagaya
#234 of 500 in Marrakech
185 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Mamounia Marrakech
La Mamounia Marrakech
#80 of 500 in Marrakech
1,940 reviews
11.8 mi away
LABRANDA Aqua Fun Club marrakech
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Riad Dar Anika
Riad Dar Anika
#9 of 500 in Marrakech
1,210 reviews
0.9 mi away
Riad Suliman
Riad Suliman
#101 of 500 in Marrakech
389 reviews
0.4 mi away
Riad Karmela
Riad Karmela
#46 of 500 in Marrakech
1,219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riad Ta'achchaqa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riad Ta'achchaqa

Property: Riad Ta'achchaqa
Address: 19 derb Ouayhah, Sidi Abdelaziz, Marrakech 40000, Morocco
Location: Morocco > Marrakech-Tensift-El Haouz Region > Marrakech
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #478 of 1,139 B&Bs / Inns in Marrakech
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Riad Ta'achchaqa 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Riad Ta'achchaqa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riad Ta`Achchaqa Hotel Marrakech

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing